Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-04-12, 04:01 PM
(^_^) (^_^) is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 8
I wont be buying it till June and i know the whole technology constantly fluctuates in prices stuff but i was having some difficulty thinking about it. It needs a monitor aswell, 22", cant afford anything more and dont have the space for anything more. The case i've settled on a BitFenix raider because its only £60 on ebuyer and has some nice features. It doesnt need an optical drive (not that any one uses them anyway but in case some one did). No preference for GPUs. It wont be doing anything other than gaming and watching stuff on the internet.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-04-12, 04:26 PM
tlowr4 tlowr4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
My suggestion: Wait till mid May, then start building your rig. Stuff changes so rapidly, it's no use making a build that you get your heart set on, only to find out when you go to order it the graphics card isn't in stock, or you have to get a lower capacity SSD because the bigger one went off sale.

As for the actual rig, you're gonna have fun trying to squeeze all that into 1000 quid. Things you should give us so we can help you:

CPUS: Intel or AMD (which do you prefer).

SSD's (which do you prefer).

Graphics carsd: nVidia or ATI (which do you prefer).

What are you shooting for? What else will you be doing with your rig other than gaming.

And mind you mate, the bitfenix raider is a hell of a case, like I said, you're gonna be seriously wishing apon a star to get all that hardware in with a price bracket like that, unless you go with something crap like a FX6100 or 13 2100 and a cheapo 6770 or 550Ti. Don't expect to be getting massive framerates at high resolutions with ultra textures with hardware like that.

What I'd suggest is dropping the SSD entirely, getting the cheapest Z77 board there is going with an mSATA slot, and getting a microSSD later to cache your hard drive. There's a saving.

Plus, Acer make great monitors at cheaper prices. Another thing to answer: What size monitor? Sure, we can get you a 17" monitor for 50 quid, but it'll be crap. Do you want full HD? Do you want LED, LCD?

Put some more effort into the post and you'll get some response
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-04-12, 04:48 PM
SEBAR's Avatar
SEBAR SEBAR is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 925
This is about the best you can get at the moment.



Next month you will have a better idea of Ivy Bridge pricing and can build a system with newer technology.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-04-12, 05:16 PM
tlowr4 tlowr4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
^^ Well bugger me. Prices are cheap in the UK...now I wanna move more than ever.

That rig would be $1200+ here in AU...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-04-12, 05:17 PM
(^_^) (^_^) is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 8
Thanks. I think 16gb of ram is a bit much and so would the 750w psu, i would drop that down to a 650w
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-04-12, 05:26 PM
SEBAR's Avatar
SEBAR SEBAR is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 925
I chose the TX750M because it is partially modular but the TX650 or similar would work perfectly. 8 GB of ram would also work well.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-04-12, 11:03 PM
tlowr4 tlowr4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Yep. For a pure gaming rig, 8 is fine.

So, bone chewer, thinking of getting around to answering the questions I asked any time soon? Not a lot of help will come your way if you don't provide good info...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-04-12, 11:17 PM
Firat's Avatar
Firat Firat is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK, London
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlowr4 View Post

^^ Well bugger me. Prices are cheap in the UK...now I wanna move more than ever.

That rig would be $1200+ here in AU...
£978.82 = 1530.39 Australian dollars

Its still expensive when you factor in differences in currency
__________________
The brave may not live for long but the cautious never live at all.
-
If it takes you longer to do something than to think it up, then you need to plan again.
-
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-04-12, 12:23 AM
MaXiMiZe MaXiMiZe is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 960
Not a bad set of components for a grand
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-04-12, 04:26 AM
tlowr4 tlowr4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firat View Post

£978.82 = 1530.39 Australian dollars

Its still expensive when you factor in differences in currency
That's it. I'm moving. Tom, look out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.