Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 04-02-18, 06:38 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 301
Okay, got some free time, so next post.

As you can see in the first post, I still had one of the GTX 670s installed as I'd already sold one I wanted to test the new cards before draining the loop.

When it came to draining, I was looking around and thought the case could really do with a good clean out, having been used solid for the last 3 years. So I stripped the whole build, and got to work giving the filthy case some elbow grease.
While . was doing this I just couldn't but have thoughts such as 'the front panel USB is dead on this..' 'do I really still need a case so massive?' 'isn't RGB cool..?
It also just so happened to be pay day. Corsair 460X ordered on Amazon for next day delivery.
Turns out, women really do have terrible spacial awareness There was no chance I was going to fit a 360 rad and 200mm res in that. Well that went back, but then the next day, the 460X's bigger brother the 570X as well as another three SP120 RGB fans and some cheap magnetic RGB strips arrived at my door!


My existing 360 rad fits perfectly and I'm loving the purple!

The next step was to get everything reassembled to get the machine up and going again.

I did some test fits..


So I fashioned this less than ideal loop while I set about dealing with the mismatched GPUs and possibly finding water blocks for them.


In the mean time, I added some cheapo RGB lighting to the back of my recently acquired LG 49" 4k TV.


Life's Good

I think it's probably going to be one or two more posts until 'updates' until I get this log up to speed with where it is at time of writing. I'm just doing it like this as I don't want to start with one enormous post.

Stay tuned
~~ Lucy

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-02-18, 06:42 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
Fair point, was it the CPU or the board you got a deal on?



If your NAS is requiring a radiator then I would look at scaling it back

It was both! I'll go in to more detail soon. And of course my NAS doesn't need a radiator..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-02-18, 07:02 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,558
lookin good Lucy
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-02-18, 07:29 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobM View Post
lookin good Lucy
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-02-18, 07:29 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
If your NAS is requiring a radiator then I would look at scaling it back
One does not always water cool because one needs to
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-02-18, 08:00 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
One does not always water cool because one needs to
Exactly my point
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-02-18, 08:14 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Layer Cakes View Post
Do you game on that thing or just use it as a secondary monitor?...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-02-18, 08:17 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
Do you game on that thing or just use it as a secondary monitor?...
I do game on it yeah. I'm not a 'hard core' gamer in any way so the input lag 60hz limit isn't too bad for me
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-02-18, 08:20 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Layer Cakes View Post
I do game on it yeah. I'm not a 'hard core' gamer in any way so the input lag 60hz limit isn't too bad for me
Alright, cool, fair enough Isn't it a bit high though? Don't you get soar in your neck after extended periods?...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-02-18, 08:28 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
Alright, cool, fair enough Isn't it a bit high though? Don't you get soar in your neck after extended periods?...
It works nicely where it is, it's at the foot of my bed
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, build log, corsair 570x, i7 7820x, rgb

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.