Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-04-20, 03:12 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,079
ASUS X470-I GAMING BIOS Update

Hello everyone,

So maybe a bit of a newbie question to you all, but I'm currently on BIOS 2703, which the retailer that I purchased the motherboard from updated for me to support my 3700X.

I'm aware that there's an 3004 version now, but I'm a bit afraid to update it in case it might brick the motherboard.

And if anyone is asking, nothing is wrong with my current system, it's working just fine. Although, I know now a days it's a good practice to keep the BIOS up to date for the most recent performance improvements etc.

Can anyone clarify if the BIOS is a CAP file? And if you would choose another file that isn't a CAP in the BIOS to update, will the motherboard tell you that it's a wrong file or will it try to update anyway and potentially break something?

I'm an experienced PC builder, yet when it comes to the BIOS, overclocking etc, I have some experience, but never needed to actually update the BIOS, hence my fear and this thread.

I would update it using a USB flashdrive on a USB port on the back of the motherboard, in case anyone wonders.

Thank you,
Dawelio

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-20, 08:18 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,692
Any other file wont show up in the update list normally, only the cap files show when you select the usb stick in the bios. Just make sure nobody hoovering, or washing machine is not running as you dont want the electric to trip whilst updating.
__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-20, 08:27 AM
trawetSluaP's Avatar
trawetSluaP trawetSluaP is online now
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 859
I have an ASUS board too and when you download the BIOS file it should come with a little tool called "BIOS Renamer" or something similar, you simply click it and it renames the bios for you.

You can then go into the BIOS and use (assuming you mobo has it) EZ Flash, you can then select the drive and the BIOS file. The system will check the fill and if it's not the correct one or a BIOS file it will tell you. IF it is a valid file it will confirm the BIOS version then ask if you wish to apply the update.

I've updated my mobo with every single BIOS update that has been released and never has an issue.

The only cautionary tale I would tell is to have a look around on forums first to see if the BIOS is OK as the last one I updated my Mobo with has several issues.
__________________
Enthoo Elite | i9-7900X | Rampage VI Extreme | Dominator Platinum 32GB | RTX 2080 FE | 960 Pro 512GB, 840 Evo 250GB x 2 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | ViewSonic XG270QG, MX27AQ | Custom Watercooling Loop + Aquaero 6 XT

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-20, 09:11 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,692
Another point is be prepared to lose your bios settings if you had any custom configs in their like XMP etc..
__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.