Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Cooling - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 20-02-15, 11:44 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,169
Hang on a sec. I thought this was capable of handling 20fans per channel without a need of any cooling?

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20-02-15, 12:42 PM
DeMoB's Avatar
DeMoB DeMoB is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asperatis View Post
The maximum amount of fans to be hooked up on one unit is 8 isn't it? ... Will it properly handle 8 SP120s simultaneously?
Any fan channel can deliver a current of 1.65A and the maximum combined current of all channels is 5A. Depending on the used heatsink the maximum power dissipation is dynamic limited.

As each SP120 draws 0.18A in use, you'll be safe to run 2per channel for a total of 8.

The limiting factor here won't be amperage, but heat generated by the fan amps when you run the fans slower than full speed. However 2 per channel is a comfortable limit for the Aquaero 5, so you're unlikely to run into problems doing that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asperatis View Post
But how are the LED strips controlled with these? Are the attached to the white 4-pin connector and voltage adjusted like the fans are?
Hopefully JR23 will step in to answer how he's set his up. It'll only work through the Aquaero 5 if it's just a single colour LED strip though, so if you have a RGB coloured LED strip, the recently released Farbwerk will be exactly what you're after.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Hang on a sec. I thought this was capable of handling 20fans per channel without a need of any cooling?
You have to be running the Aquaero 6 with PWM fans to do that (as per the demo vid earlier in the thread).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20-02-15, 12:49 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeMoB View Post

You have to be running the Aquaero 6 with PWM fans to do that (as per the demo vid earlier in the thread).
hmm, I have the aqua aero 6 XT and was hoping to run around 25 fans on it. These were non pwm fans though.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20-02-15, 01:02 PM
DeMoB's Avatar
DeMoB DeMoB is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
hmm, I have the aqua aero 6 XT and was hoping to run around 25 fans on it. These were non pwm fans though.
You might be in luck as the 6 XT does up the analogue wattage limit too, with a maximum current of 2.5A per output, for a total of 30W per channel at 12V.

So if your fans are 0.4A each or less (at 12v), you should be able to run 6 per channel for a total of 24 fans.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20-02-15, 01:10 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeMoB View Post
You might be in luck as the 6 XT does up the analogue wattage limit too, with a maximum current of 2.5A per output, for a total of 30W per channel at 12V.

So if your fans are 0.4A each or less (at 12v), you should be able to run 6 per channel for a total of 24 fans.
Yup, thats at least what I was basing my thoughts on. Because I know that this controller will deactivate the channels if the amp exceeds the maximum. Fans will most likely be on a low settings. My aim was mostly for controlling my pwm pumps.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 21-02-15, 11:13 AM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
If you are interested in controlling LED lights with the Aquaero, you might was to check out the Farbwerk RGB LED controller.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/modding...k-controller/1
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX850-H110i-MSI 1070-Coolermast H500-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 30-12-15, 06:07 AM
Jakusonfire Jakusonfire is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeMoB View Post
Any fan channel can deliver a current of 1.65A and the maximum combined current of all channels is 5A. Depending on the used heatsink the maximum power dissipation is dynamic limited.

As each SP120 draws 0.18A in use, you'll be safe to run 2per channel for a total of 8.

The limiting factor here won't be amperage, but heat generated by the fan amps when you run the fans slower than full speed. However 2 per channel is a comfortable limit for the Aquaero 5, so you're unlikely to run into problems doing that.


Hopefully JR23 will step in to answer how he's set his up. It'll only work through the Aquaero 5 if it's just a single colour LED strip though, so if you have a RGB coloured LED strip, the recently released Farbwerk will be exactly what you're after.


You have to be running the Aquaero 6 with PWM fans to do that (as per the demo vid earlier in the thread).
No those aren't PWM fans they are ordinary DC 3 pin and the Aquaero 6 can power a ton of them with no problem at all. In that video the Aq6 is directly powering and controlling 40 fans and two D5 pumps on its 4 fan channels. The Aq6 works in the opposite way to the Aq5 in that it gets cooler at lower volts rather than hotter.

The Aq5 is also capable of more than many people think. I have run 5 SP120 fans on each of the 4 channels for a total of 20 without any severe issue, high and low volts. That was with the old standard heatsink rather than the new larger one or the water block that can allow lots more to be run.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-01-17, 02:15 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
https://forum.aquacomputer.de/wasser...-ohne-grenzen/

They now are starting to charge a license fee for older hardware. I have mixed feelings about this.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX850-H110i-MSI 1070-Coolermast H500-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-01-17, 02:47 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kong View Post
https://forum.aquacomputer.de/wasser...-ohne-grenzen/

They now are starting to charge a license fee for older hardware. I have mixed feelings about this.
Then I will stop purchasing from them or stop upgrading the software. I get the point they are making but at the end of the day I have purchased their product which entitles me to free software.

I see very little new features with each new iteration anyway. So I can't see why they should. If other companies can continue to support older products much longer than 2 years why can't they. They already charge far more than any other watercooling company.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-01-17, 08:31 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
Just imagine if Nvidia or AMD started charging you for driver updates after two years. The internet would burn down lol.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX850-H110i-MSI 1070-Coolermast H500-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.