Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Cooling - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #81  
Old 23-01-18, 12:21 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie long View Post
Quick question
Is it worth sticking purchasing 2 splitty 9 to go with my aquearo 6xt so I keep the component all the same manufacturer or would anyone surgest another option for a fan splitter hub ie xspc / phanteks ect that will work as well or better
TBH mate Splitty 9 are so cheap it's not really worth looking elsewhere.

__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 07-04-19, 11:37 AM
trawetSluaP's Avatar
trawetSluaP trawetSluaP is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 902
Hi all!

I'm using an Aquaero XT 6.

Currently have it controlling all fans in my case via the software.

I've been informed that saving the settings then unplugging the Aquaero from the motherboard should cause the unit to run independently, however, I tried this and the unit reverted to default settings.

When booting the fans run at 100%, then when my PC has loaded into Windows and the software starts they run at their controlled level, however, if I unplug the Aquaero they just run at full speed.

How do I get the Aquaero to save the settings then run independently of the software?
__________________
5000D | R7-5800X | MSI X570 Tomahawk | Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB | RTX 2080 FE | 960 Pro 512GB & 980 Pro 1TB | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | ViewSonic XG270QG| Custom Watercooling Loop + Aquaero 6 XT

Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 07-04-19, 12:21 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,529
Does it have a battery?
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 07-04-19, 12:28 PM
trawetSluaP's Avatar
trawetSluaP trawetSluaP is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Does it have a battery?
Powered by Molex.
__________________
5000D | R7-5800X | MSI X570 Tomahawk | Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB | RTX 2080 FE | 960 Pro 512GB & 980 Pro 1TB | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | ViewSonic XG270QG| Custom Watercooling Loop + Aquaero 6 XT

Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 07-04-19, 10:35 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,744
Strange. Mine holds the settings, nothing special in software either.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 08-04-19, 12:22 AM
trawetSluaP's Avatar
trawetSluaP trawetSluaP is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Strange. Mine holds the settings, nothing special in software either.
Think it was cos I was using software sensors.

Have a water temp sensor wired into the unit so have changed it round. Should be OK now!
__________________
5000D | R7-5800X | MSI X570 Tomahawk | Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB | RTX 2080 FE | 960 Pro 512GB & 980 Pro 1TB | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | ViewSonic XG270QG| Custom Watercooling Loop + Aquaero 6 XT

Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 21-10-21, 09:10 AM
warmmilk warmmilk is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by trawetSluaP View Post
Think it was cos I was using software sensors.

Have a water temp sensor wired into the unit so have changed it round. Should be OK now!
so did this solve your problem? I'm looking to buy an Aquaero 5 LT and set my fan curves off the water temp sensor, will it run without the software after setup?

and a bit off topic but related, has anyone done any testing on if/how much the software affects gaming or other high load performance? I recently saw a vid that Gamers Nexus did testing a bunch of the motherboard bloatware that controls fans and RGB and they pretty much all degraded performance, some by a lot... and this is why I'm paranoid about it running without the software...
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 21-10-21, 09:24 AM
warmmilk warmmilk is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
I paid less than $20 each for Phobya powered splitters (8 fans each), they work quite well IMO. They seem to respond to PWM properly for me. Aquero is a great option if you want to bind fan curves to liquid temps, but an awfully expensive solution.
isn't it the only option? the next closest I've seen was setting a max temp to max fan rpm and then its just a linear auto mode. But I haven't seen anything else you can set your own fan curve to. Is there a cheaper option that does specifically this part well? Cause all the other features the Aquaero has are lost on me...
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 21-10-21, 03:47 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by warmmilk View Post
isn't it the only option? the next closest I've seen was setting a max temp to max fan rpm and then its just a linear auto mode. But I haven't seen anything else you can set your own fan curve to. Is there a cheaper option that does specifically this part well? Cause all the other features the Aquaero has are lost on me...
These days you can do it with your motherboard, LOL! Well depending on board. These days I don't even bother overthinking fan curves anymore. It's "much ado about nothing" IMO, but I know I can set a different target for the fan curve on my Aorus Master X570, but not on the main CPU fan header, only on the OPT one. That's the trick.
__________________
Games: Ryzen 5950X on GB Aorus Master X570 / Asus TUF 6900XT / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 (16GB x 4) / custom loop
Workstation: Threadripper 2950x on GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / Zotac 2080ti / 32GB TridentZ 3200CL14 (8GB x 4) / custom loop
Home Theatre: Ryzen 3900X on Asus C7H X470 / Radeon VII / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 (8GB x 2)
/ custom loop
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 21-10-21, 06:03 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,744
Not even bothered setting a fan curve with mine. Just a fixed preset of 40% pwm, fire and forget.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.