Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Cooling - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #91  
Old 21-10-21, 07:02 PM
KingNosser KingNosser is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Essex UK
Posts: 670
I use a small fan board it has 12v 7v and 5v sockets for the fans set it up done nice and simple

__________________
https://forum.overclock3d.net/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic20429_1.gif
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 21-10-21, 09:25 PM
warmmilk warmmilk is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
These days you can do it with your motherboard, LOL! Well depending on board. These days I don't even bother overthinking fan curves anymore. It's "much ado about nothing" IMO, but I know I can set a different target for the fan curve on my Aorus Master X570, but not on the main CPU fan header, only on the OPT one. That's the trick.
yeah but that can reference your water temp... and it can't drive 3 fans per header... and I like to have my fans completely off during light load use (except 1 intake and 1 exhaust at really low rpm) mostly to keep dust build up slower cause the PC is in a relatively dusty location.

but other than that motherboard fan controls are pretty good these days, I agree
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 22-10-21, 09:35 AM
Warchild Warchild is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by warmmilk View Post
yeah but that can reference your water temp... and it can't drive 3 fans per header... and I like to have my fans completely off during light load use (except 1 intake and 1 exhaust at really low rpm) mostly to keep dust build up slower cause the PC is in a relatively dusty location.

but other than that motherboard fan controls are pretty good these days, I agree
Motherboard fan controllers are fantastic these days. Its the software that is atrocious. I think nothing can compare to Aquasuite right now.

Running multiple fans on one header is also no longer a problem on select boards designed for watercooling. My philosophy behind it all though, is to have as few cables connected to the mobo as possible. It just clutters the case.

Although for me, running 8 fans on 1 header might be an issue on anyboard
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 22-10-21, 11:43 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,962
Some motherboards also have specific fan headers that provide more than 1 amp of power, like Asus provides 3 amps I believe, which is more than enough for multiple fans. Though I wouldn't want to daisy chain all my fans off one header still.

Usually the Pump header also provides more than 1 amp, but in the case of custom loops can also be used for fans. There's many options these days.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.