Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-10-18, 10:01 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,008
Has your RTX 2080 Ti Died? - Reports of GPU deaths mount

Is the RTX 2080 Ti too big?



Read more about the mounting reports of RTX 2080 Ti GPU deaths.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-10-18, 10:58 PM
robbiec robbiec is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 95
I'd be wondering if the users with multiple failures should perhaps be looking at their wider environment before kicking off on a forum. Flaky MB's or PSU's would spring to mind first and foremost.
Not defending Nvidia as they have more than earned any opprobrium aimed at them but fairs fair.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-10-18, 11:12 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,776
Quote:
One user has reported that they have had two our of three RTX 2080 Ti graphics cards die over a 2-3 week period, with the dead cards presenting artefacts at stock settings while another claimed that his graphics card presented issues after "about 9 hours" of gaming.
What exactly where/are you trying to say here?... That they have had two of three, or two of your GPUs? What? ...

Quote:
o anyone who has experienced RTX 2080 Ti artefacting or failure, out advice is to immediately contact your graphics card's manufacturer or the retailer where you purchased your GPU. They should be able to issue you a replacement graphics card when they are available.
Haha yeah, probably by next year lol.

Honestly though? I don’t feel bad for them at all. If anyone in their right mind seriously spend this amount of money on a consumer GPU, especially when it’s like Alien or NBD which said, it’s a first generation product and is likely to have issues following that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-10-18, 01:01 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,288
It's a typo Dawelio. It's meant to read as: 'One user has reported that they have had two out of three RTX 2080ti'
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-10-18, 09:23 AM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbiec View Post
I'd be wondering if the users with multiple failures should perhaps be looking at their wider environment before kicking off on a forum. Flaky MB's or PSU's would spring to mind first and foremost.
Not defending Nvidia as they have more than earned any opprobrium aimed at them but fairs fair.
That's what I was thinking as well. For one there seems to be an issue with some multi rail PSU, Corsair's specifically I've read that causes artifacts on screen when daisy chaining the PCI-e cable. In general that's just a really bad idea, unless your PSU is single rail or has very high ampere throughput. But I wouldn't be surprised if some people using a cheap bronze 500 watt PSU with a RTX 2080 Ti, because there are unfortunately idiots like that in the world
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-10-18, 09:53 AM
Eddie long's Avatar
Eddie long Eddie long is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolagarf View Post
That's what I was thinking as well. For one there seems to be an issue with some multi rail PSU, Corsair's specifically I've read that causes artifacts on screen when daisy chaining the PCI-e cable. In general that's just a really bad idea, unless your PSU is single rail or has very high ampere throughput. But I wouldn't be surprised if some people using a cheap bronze 500 watt PSU with a RTX 2080 Ti, because there are unfortunately idiots like that in the world
That would make more sense as I'm sure if there was a real issue one of the reviewers would have had issues too, there again they don't use cheap underpowered psu 's
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-10-18, 10:58 AM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,453
It's most likely an issue with manufacturing tolerances. People buying £1200 GPUs will not be using £30 PSU's. The 2080Ti is a ~300W card, there'd be much larger issues with their system under load if they tried to use it with a cheap <500W PSU.

Modern multi-rail PSU's shouldn't have any issues with such a high wattage card, there are technically 5x 75W power inputs to the board, and the PCIe input is likely a last resort, meaning most of the power is being pulled through 4 power pin pairs. It'd be hard to create a PSU that could mess up the distribution for that nowadays(It's generally easier to divy out the power for higher power use cards like this on multi-rail PSUs because there's more power inputs you can assign to each rail without requiring sharing).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-10-18, 11:21 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,498
Some people speculated that there was a bad memory batch.

I seriously doubt something which seems somewhat prevalent is a PSU issue.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-10-18, 11:40 AM
Ourroborros Ourroborros is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
I hope my card doesn't die when pcspecialist actually get around to getting it in stock and building my new pc. Tiny Tom im sure you guys at oc3d will be testing any cards you have??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-10-18, 12:25 PM
Darkdayzzz Darkdayzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
It's most likely an issue with manufacturing tolerances. People buying £1200 GPUs will not be using £30 PSU's. The 2080Ti is a ~300W card, there'd be much larger issues with their system under load if they tried to use it with a cheap <500W PSU.

Modern multi-rail PSU's shouldn't have any issues with such a high wattage card, there are technically 5x 75W power inputs to the board, and the PCIe input is likely a last resort, meaning most of the power is being pulled through 4 power pin pairs. It'd be hard to create a PSU that could mess up the distribution for that nowadays(It's generally easier to divy out the power for higher power use cards like this on multi-rail PSUs because there's more power inputs you can assign to each rail without requiring sharing).
You do realize that most PC builders are smart, however some are not so smart and WILL use a cheap PSU since they often think, incorrectly, that "I have an awesome GPU/CPU I don't have much money left now so I'll just get this 800 watt off brand PSU and it will power everything".

You are not dealing with the brightest bulbs in the shed sometimes!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.