Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-05-17, 02:01 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,303
Microsoft has dropped official support for Windows 10's original release

Microsoft has now dropped official support for Windows 10's original release, ceasing all security updates for those that do not upgrade to the Anniversary or Creators updates.



Read more on Microsoft dropping official support for Windows 10's original version.

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-17, 02:07 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,571
Wow, again forcing people to upgrade... I don't like using ISO files for installing Windows. I've always used disks, so to me, this isn't nice at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-17, 03:42 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,594
might as well delete the old iso files i got, download fresh ones, oh cmon microsoft, stop being so horribly aggressive with pushing windows 10.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-17, 04:10 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Wow, again forcing people to upgrade... I don't like using ISO files for installing Windows. I've always used disks, so to me, this isn't nice at all.
You can't upgrade those versions of Windows. It doesn't work like that, sadly. You have to basically completely reinstall Windows using a later version.

I have had to do this twice now. Microsoft broke the two versions I was using and there was no other way.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-17, 06:41 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
You can't upgrade those versions of Windows. It doesn't work like that, sadly. You have to basically completely reinstall Windows using a later version.

I have had to do this twice now. Microsoft broke the two versions I was using and there was no other way.
Yet another point to my previous post then...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-17, 06:59 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Wow, again forcing people to upgrade... I don't like using ISO files for installing Windows. I've always used disks, so to me, this isn't nice at all.
You should be on the latest version of the OS anyway. You don't need ISO files to upgrade.
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-17, 07:56 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 13,018
Considering it's just the latest update is this REALLY that big of a deal ?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-17, 07:58 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Considering it's just the latest update is this REALLY that big of a deal ?
Nope. You're already on W10, why not get the latest?
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-17, 06:44 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Considering it's just the latest update is this REALLY that big of a deal ?
Is it as simple as just installing the Windows update? Or do you need to completely reinstall your Windows?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-05-17, 06:46 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 13,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Is it as simple as just installing the Windows update? Or do you need to completely reinstall your Windows?
If you are already on Windows 10 then it's just an update, Kind of like a service pack.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.