Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-03-15, 01:00 PM
Unframed Unframed is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
New x99 rig, EK Supremacy Evo bad temps at stock

Hey Guys

So i just finished my new rig last week and have been using it at stock speeds for the last couple of days.
Info about rig/WC setup.
I7 5930k
MSI X99S Gaming 9 Ack
2x Asus Strix 980

CPU Block: EK Supremacy Evo Nickel
GPU Block: EK-FC980 GTX Strix - Acetal+Nickel
Rads: 1x Alphacool XT45 360mm 2x Alphacool UT60 240mm


With the info out of the way, lets get to the problem.
So last night I wanted to start overclocking my system.
Before I began I wanted to do some benchmarks to compare stock vs OC.

I ran Cinebench and immediately got worried since the temps on the CPU started hitting 69-71°C and this is at stock speeds with a voltage of 1.025-1.035.

I saw this guy on Youtube getting his CPU to around 45°C at stock with a Corsair H100i doing the same test, and I would think my WC setup should at least be able to match that.

I stopped testing the CPU and went for the GPU's instead.
I ran FurMark for about an hour or so and both cards hit a max temp of 43°C which I'm pretty happy about.
So with that in mind I'm thinking it has something to do with the CPU block and not my loop.

I'm thinking I might need to remount the CPU block. I am using Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra on both the CPU and GPU's and it was also the TIM I used on my last rig, with great results.
Could it be the layer between the CPU and the block is to thin? I was using the last drop of the Liquid Ultra on the CPU but I got the whole surface covered.
If I do the remount should I try with the TIM that came with the Block or just try the Ultra again?
Also when i mounted the block I did it in the Goofy position so 90° CCW, but from what I have read that should only make a couple of degrees difference, and not 20-30°C(compared to the H100i).

Hope you guys are able to help me with my problem and feel free to come with other suggestions than what is on my mind. Also if there is any info missing please tell me and Ill post it. Thanks in advance

-Unframed

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-15, 01:04 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,178
Is the voltage set to auto?

Could be the reason why the temp ramps up high. I know you state 1.025 V but is that what you are seeing at idle? or is that what you set it to?

Other thing could be that your CPU block is not seated correctly. I have a problem with my EVO at the moment that there is virtually 1mm clearance from the 3 capacitors on the left side of the socket. I had to carefully bend them away to allow the EVO block to sit correctly ontop of the CPU.

as for Cool lab paste. I use it and you only need a tiny drop to spread it completely.

edit* did you flush your rads before installing them? Shine a light into your EVO block and check the jet plate. It might be clogged. Bad/low flow= high temps

mine at stock with the 4790K went up to 60C with WC but that is because volts were on auto and jumped to 1.35V when at full load.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-15, 01:21 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 21,111
45c wouldnt have been full load on the H100i mate.

Even with water youll probably see 60c on load.

You can check our heatsink and CPU reviews to check reliable temps
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-15, 01:27 PM
Unframed Unframed is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Yes the voltage is set to auto, but is between 1.025-1.035 during the Cinebench, according to CPU-Z.

Not really anything around the socket that should curse a problem for it to sit correctly on top of the CPU.

The rads I'm using is from my last build and I did do a good flushing before using them then and as well now before using them in my new build.
It's a bit hard to look inside the block since I got the Original CSQ model with a frosted look to it. But from what I can see it doesn't look clogged. But shouldn't this also effect the GPU temps if there was bad flow through the system?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-15, 01:28 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,178
if its auto then your volts will rocket at full load. There is your reason.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-15, 01:40 PM
Unframed Unframed is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
During his Cinebench run his CPU hit a max of 45°C. I know its a short test but when i do it mine it reaches 70°C, both being the 5930k. He is saying he is using the H100I in the video but you are not seeing it at any point, so I guess I have to take his word on him using that. Also he is using auto voltage.

Ill try and do a run with my voltage set to manual and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-15, 01:44 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unframed View Post
During his Cinebench run his CPU hit a max of 45°C. I know its a short test but when i do it mine it reaches 70°C, both being the 5930k. He is saying he is using the H100I in the video but you are not seeing it at any point, so I guess I have to take his word on him using that. Also he is using auto voltage.

Ill try and do a run with my voltage set to manual and see what happens.
I very very very much doubt his is auto. My pc is is cooled by a ridiculous amount of fans and as I said, even at stock speed and auto setting I hit 60C in cinebench.

There is a nice guide on here how to undervolt your CPU. I suggest you give it a go and then try cinebench again. Once you are satisfied and confident you can start playing about with overclocking your CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-15, 02:04 PM
Unframed Unframed is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
So setting the Core voltage to 1.035 the cores range from 68-74°C during the Cinebench run which is a little higher than on auto, and I guess that's because the voltage goes down to 1.025 during the run on auto.
So I'm guessing it's something else than the voltage.

btw this is the video I'm referring to /watch?v=yePdgt9Tmuw maybe you are able to see/hear something I'm not.
2 min into the video he starts talking about auto voltage and his H100
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-15, 02:10 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 21,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unframed View Post
So setting the Core voltage to 1.035 the cores range from 68-74°C during the Cinebench run which is a little higher than on auto, and I guess that's because the voltage goes down to 1.025 during the run on auto.
So I'm guessing it's something else than the voltage.

btw this is the video I'm referring to /watch?v=yePdgt9Tmuw maybe you are able to see/hear something I'm not.
2 min into the video he starts talking about auto voltage and his H100
Stop comparing to that YouTube video when you have no idea about all of his settings.

Cinebench is also not a program to bother running for CPU stress testing.

Follow the guide below and then post back with screen shots and lists of settings dude - try and help us to help you

http://www.overclock3d.net/articles/...ur_cpu_vcore/1
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-15, 02:21 PM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,188
OP download OCCT and use that instead, its free and quite good too. Nonetheless you should probably check your block seating as others have said, as you shouldn't be getting those kind of temps with the amount of rad space and fans you say you have.

Also next time just use a simply TIM like MX-4 or something, it wont make a massive difference.
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5930k, bad, evo, supremacy, temps

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.