Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-04-20, 03:23 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,681
2080 Ti = DEAD - EK's Fault

So my 2080 Ti died on Monday.

Was playing F1 2019 and my screen went black.

Before starting the game I ramped up my fans to 100% in Ek Loop Connect control panel and then put my headset on and was playing for about an hour before the screen went black.

Took of the headset and noticed fans are spinning slowy and my water loop had risen to easily 80c, the case was really hot to touch.

Then I saw it, a puddle of liquid on top of the backplate of my gpu.

Powered down the system electrically and took the card out, dryed it on a radiator until today and I have just tested to see if it works and it doesnt, no display output.

Connecting with remote desktop to the PC works and I can see the card in the device manager and nvidia control panel.

I'm in contact with EK who are just faffing me about asking the same questions twice and saying nobody else has issues with their software when it is actually not the case when googling around the web.

Anyway, just a heads up to say beware of EK Loop Connect, the software is a disaster at the moment.

: (



In the meantime rocking a P400 lol


__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-20, 03:41 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,294
That really sucks.

This is why I always use Aqua Computer gear. Because once you set it it all stays that way. Did you have a pressure release membrane in your loop?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-20, 03:45 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
That really sucks.

This is why I always use Aqua Computer gear. Because once you set it it all stays that way. Did you have a pressure release membrane in your loop?
No Pressure release, the leak came from where the reservoir screws into the pump. I could have easily made a cup of tea with it, it was really that hot !
__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-20, 04:05 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,588
Damn man, that sucks hard. Stuff like this is why I run my pumps on external power for 24 hours first on a new loop, with the PSU disconnected.
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-20, 04:54 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,294
You really need an analogue way of monitoring the coolant temp. I use a simple device by XSPC. It's the top one.



That way I can constantly glance down to make sure it's not over the recommended temp. I used to have a different loop without one, and it did what yours did. Pressure built up and it leaked badly. Thankfully it wasn't over anything (bay res) so I just found some red residue many months later. I use these now.

https://www.overclockers.co.uk/aqua-...wc-32w-aq.html

Though it too would leak coolant (just stop anything cracking or breaking).

But yeah, the biggest downfall with everything has always been the software. AC do make you pay 8 euro per year, but I don't mind if it pays some guy to improve it (which it does). What I also like about the AC stuff (PA3 and AC 5LT) is that once you set the software it stays in memory on the devices, so the software cannot change it. And it stays like that forever, so I don't even need the software at all now.

But yeah, with water cooling you need to use some old fashioned techniques if you want to be safe. Once my coolant temp hits high 40s (it hasn't, but just talking theoretically) I will stop what I am doing. Plus the LT has an alarm in it too.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-20, 05:27 PM
trawetSluaP's Avatar
trawetSluaP trawetSluaP is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 774
I wouldn't say this is a software failure on EK'sm surely this is hardware failure - the pump leaked.
__________________
Enthoo Elite | i9-7900X | Rampage VI Extreme | Dominator Platinum 32GB | RTX 2080 FE | 960 Pro 512GB, 840 Evo 250GB x 2 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | S2721DGF, MX27AQ | Custom Watercooling Loop + Aquaero 6 XT

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-20, 05:46 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 18,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by trawetSluaP View Post
I wouldn't say this is a software failure on EK'sm surely this is hardware failure - the pump leaked.
I think the allegation is that EK's software caused the pump to leak by lowering fans speeds and forcing the liquid in the loop to boil.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-20, 05:57 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
I think the allegation is that EK's software caused the pump to leak by lowering fans speeds and forcing the liquid in the loop to boil.
Well, not boil but expand massively yes.

Water cooling components can only handle so many bar of pressure before they leak.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-20, 06:48 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,627
I haven't been leaving the EK software running. When I'm folding I go into the software and set everything to 100% then close the software. It will stay at 100% then until I open the software again or restart my computer.
__________________
CaseLabs Mercury S3 | AMD 3900X | ROG CH8 Impact | RTX 2080 Super | 32GB DDR4 | 1TB NVMe
Acer Predator Z35P


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-20, 06:49 PM
trawetSluaP's Avatar
trawetSluaP trawetSluaP is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 774
I run a custom fan curve using an Aquero based on the water temps which is saved to the Aquero unit itself.
__________________
Enthoo Elite | i9-7900X | Rampage VI Extreme | Dominator Platinum 32GB | RTX 2080 FE | 960 Pro 512GB, 840 Evo 250GB x 2 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | S2721DGF, MX27AQ | Custom Watercooling Loop + Aquaero 6 XT

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.