Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 02-10-20, 06:27 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
Quick RGB test. The block is 12v 4 pin also, so that can be ran with these. Not sure on the distro yet, but the mobo has controllers for both thank god.



It's nice being able to use up spare parts I have just had lying around for ages and ages and get some use out of the money spent tbh.

__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-10-20, 02:49 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
Pump top and cooler got. Not terribly impressed with the top, tbh. It only gives you one option of top feed. Which has made me have to move the res somewhere else. You won't see it, but TBH? I kinda like that. Will give it a more stealthy look.



It's nothing terribly exciting but it gets the job done (that's what she said)



I should stop teasing with board pics. As it stands I didn't fit the CPU until about 3am. I hate doing it, it's terrifying tbh.



It should become law that every motherboard comes with these !



I also fitted a couple more tubes. Sadly unless you fit a GPU into this you need to use a U bend, as basically the GPU bridges the distro. I quite like it though, it definitely looks interesting lol.



And a better look at the back.

__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-10-20, 04:48 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
Board in.



Managed to figure out how to change the RGB on the GPU, so that has been done now.



And the state of the 2x3m room I am using LOL. I can't wait for this to be over, then it's a trip to the dump for me.

__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-10-20, 04:55 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 14,951
Looks great !
__________________
= Steam/Origin/Uplay - Dicehunter =
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-10-20, 04:59 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
Danke. Worst part is going to be fitting the pump and res. I think I will need to get the power tools out for that :S

It's going behind that Phanteks "wall" thing. Good thing is the pump sink will be in direct airflow.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-10-20, 05:34 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
I actually used common sense for once

I figured that before I cut the case up and then found out it wouldn't work I should actually try the GPU to be totally sure.



It worked. Let cutting commence.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-10-20, 09:26 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
Another marathon session. It doesn't look like I achieved much, but I did. Basically the big panel with "Phanteks" on it came out. That meant removing a lot of the case again.

I've found a home for the pump. I've also plumbed it in.



The hose just sticking out? ignore that. To do the fitting up properly you need to remove that Phanteks panel. Hence whilst I was in there I decided to run that hose (obs far too long) so I wouldn't have to go back in there just to run that hose.



I need to make a mount bracket now. Shouldn't be too hard.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-10-20, 03:29 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
Had a bit of a result earlier.

The case only comes with one actual 2.5 mount. There are a metric ton of places to put them, but only one comes with it. I needed two more. I went searching and they are £10 each. Then a buddy of mine asked me to look at cases that will fit the board I am giving him and I came across this on B grade for £5.99



Duly ordered. That's me sorted now. That will hold the SSD RAID and the other one can hold the Firecuda.

Oh and I just made the isolated pump stand plate too.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-10-20, 01:36 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
First Corsair SSD I have bought in years after numerous failures. I hope they have sorted that.



Instead of buying tons of cables and messing around.



And of course one for the 12v



Just to make life a little easier.



And then I ordered the wrong coolant.



I had put that one in my wish list, before deciding on black UV. So hopefully they get my web note in time.

Back with it now. I can get on later and fit some more stuff.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-10-20, 03:46 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
That ought to be the loop cleaned and finished.





__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.