Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat > Serious Discussion
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-10-20, 03:25 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,329
Any one in France?

https://hybridcooling-modding.fr/hom...click-oc.html#

Has any one here ever heard of that company? ever bought from them etc?

Apparently that there is the answer to my prayers, yet I have no idea who they even are.

__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-10-20, 04:24 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,329
All sorted. Bit of detective work found them on Facebook, and I managed to contact the owner. They are in stock so I have ordered one. Should come with DPD next week.

I ordered it in clear (so I can attach RGB ) with the black duraluminum block.



__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-10-20, 10:46 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,709
Very cool looking block!
__________________
Games: Ryzen 5950X on GB Aorus Master X570 / Asus TUF 6900XT / 32GB TridentZ Neo 3600CL16 (16GB x 2) / custom loop
Workstation: Threadripper 2950x on GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / Zotac 2080ti / 32GB TridentZ 3200CL14 (8GB x 4) / custom loop
Home Theatre: Ryzen 3900X on Asus C7H X470 / Radeon VII / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 (8GB x 2)
/ custom loop
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-10-20, 11:09 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,329
Yeah it's very different tbh.

Valdus seems like a very nice guy too. Very quick to respond and answer questions. All I need to do is create an under pan to hold the RGB. I have an EK strip I bought for something else, so I can use that too. I have loads of matt acrylic left over too.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-10-20, 11:39 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,329
I don't believe this. It won't fit.

So basically this is KFA2's fault. Just like Asus, they show two different PCBs for the same effing SKU.

https://www.kfa2.com/kfa2/graphics-c...ex-1click.html

Right. If we look at one pic we see this.



Look closely at the VRM layout. It matches this, which is what I ordered.



Then tonight I peeked in the rig and damn near shat myself.



It's totally not the effing same AT ALL. So I went back to KFA2's website and guess what happens when you select a different image with the LEDs on?



Or rather.



TWO PCBS on the EXACT SAME UFFING MODEL OF GPU. FFS.

Thankfully Valdus has again been amazingly helpful and DOES have the block I need FFS.

Seriously though, this is BS. Had I not spotted that I would have had to return it at my expense to bloody France which would have cost me a fortune. I wouldn't be so narked, but Asus did exactly the same god damn thing with the Evo Plus 14nm++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ too. D heads. Just total D heads.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-10-20, 12:00 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,259
I feel you Alien, but as I feel with everything in life basically - you have to check everything yourself to make sure it's all correct. And that is with exactly everything in life, job, schedules, food etc. It's a pain, time consuming and energy draining to say the least.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-10-20, 12:36 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
I feel you Alien, but as I feel with everything in life basically - you have to check everything yourself to make sure it's all correct. And that is with exactly everything in life, job, schedules, food etc. It's a pain, time consuming and energy draining to say the least.
Life lacks clarity my friend. Badly !

I am truly astounded that they made two models, on one name with totally different PCBs. Asus made three PCBs on one model

I have never seen such a crap shoot in all my life than 2000 series water blocks, and tbh? the 3000 series aren't going to be much better either.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-20, 09:37 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,417
Are they the same SKU model number?

I will never buy a block that cannot confirm the same sku of the gpu I have. Saying it fits a 2070 kfa2 super is not good enough for me, because we get so many "behind the scene" variations.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-20, 03:03 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Are they the same SKU model number?

I will never buy a block that cannot confirm the same sku of the gpu I have. Saying it fits a 2070 kfa2 super is not good enough for me, because we get so many "behind the scene" variations.
Yup same SKU same model number. I've sent pics of my exact card to the owner, as well as a PCB shot.

Or, like Asus, it could just be sloppy advertising. IE provide pics of the card knowing well they are different SKUs on your website because apparently it doesn't matter.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-20, 01:16 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,417
Looks like KFA2 done messed up. Here you can see 2 cards adverstised

https://www.kfa2.com/kfa2/graphics-c...ex-1click.html

https://www.kfa2.com/kfa2/graphics-c...click-414.html

Same card different PCB as you mentioned.

Or rather I see they do it for the non EX too. what has Galax/KFA2 got to say about this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.