Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-08-14, 10:36 PM
BMXScotland BMXScotland is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
HELP with gpus and drivers

Hello All

I am at my wicks end with my setup i have had nothing but problems ever since i made it. problems such as not enough GPU power for Eyefinity setup so i then got a second GPU then the next problem arose didn't get two of the same GPU manufacturers so i then had to overclock the second one to match the first one which was a massive increase from 925/1350 - 1050/1400 so it then began to frame stutter and not be used so i then disables UPLS which then meant one fan on the second card did not get used until up to 50 degrees which made the GPU crash. then i cant find a stable driver for both GPU's to run on i also had to flash the bios of the second card to match the first one another massive pain in the ass 2 days of ing about swapping cards and copying bioses from one to another and to top it off i have gone through 3 power supply's and i still don't know if i have enough power ffs. but the final thing to top the whole lot off is that i cant even play games for the constant crashing in just basic things like loading games and don't even get me started on playing bf4. i have had to backdate from windows 8 to 7 then back to 8 and finally back to 7 which was a pain again. PLEASE SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT I AM DOING WRONG!!!!!!!!!

so the setup is as follows:

motherboard: gigabyte g1.sniper.m3
cpu: i5 3570k (stock)
ram: 8gb of hyperx blu 1600 mhz
gpu1: msi hd 7970 oc (1050/1400)
gpu2: xfx r7970 (1050/1400 overclocked)
gpu: driver: 13.12
psu: evga supernova 850 b2
hdd: seagate 2tb
screens: 3x acer 21.5 inch super HD all using DVI ports

CPU is watercooled with Antec Khuler 1220 and GPU's are running stock fans crossfire bridge is installed correctly on first pins


thanks in advance for any help

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-14, 11:42 PM
RadeonHDx RadeonHDx is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,069
That driver is over 6 months old mate. Download the new ones here. I'd suggest getting the 14.4 frivers before trying the beta to see if they work.
Try underclocking the MSI card to match the XFX one rather than overclocking the XFX to the MSI and then overclock to the needs of the lower clocked card.
Do both card work seperately?
Are you connecting all of your monitor to your first GPU?
__________________
Intel Xeon E5649 x2 | Custom Water Loop
Saphire R9 290 Tri-X Edition | InWin Dragon Rider White
24GB Samsung RAM | SuperMicro X8DTi R2.0
Samsung Evo 250GB | 1TB Hitachi HDD


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-14, 11:47 PM
BMXScotland BMXScotland is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
i have tried all the new drivers and all of them are not stable on multi gpu on eyefinity and yes im using all my monitors from one gpu and i will try the under clocking the now see if that makes a difference
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-14, 11:52 PM
RadeonHDx RadeonHDx is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,069
are you 100% sure that they both work on their own? It sounds quite off that they're not stable with a newer driver version.
__________________
Intel Xeon E5649 x2 | Custom Water Loop
Saphire R9 290 Tri-X Edition | InWin Dragon Rider White
24GB Samsung RAM | SuperMicro X8DTi R2.0
Samsung Evo 250GB | 1TB Hitachi HDD


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-14, 11:55 PM
BMXScotland BMXScotland is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
im sure they work on their own ran both on their own for a month but only ran the pair together overclocked and as well its eyefinity that has being the problem not the gpus
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-14, 11:57 PM
Aaronh713 Aaronh713 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 10
XFX card is probably crashing because their coolers are garbage imo... Should've went ASUS.
__________________
i5 3570k @ 4.0ghz| Corsair H100i
Gigabyte GTX 760 2gb rev 2.0
16gb Corsair Vengeance
ASUS P8Z77-V
Samsung 840 250gb
SeaSonic X650
Fractal Arc Midi
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-14, 11:59 PM
RadeonHDx RadeonHDx is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,069
I'm probably not the best guy to be talking to about this then, the last experience I had with crossfire and eyefinity was with a 7870 and a 270 which didn't work at all so I ended up selling the 270. I think its quite common to have problems with crossfire and eyefinity, especially when it comes to the stuttering problems, although this has been partially fixed in the more recent updates to the drivers.
__________________
Intel Xeon E5649 x2 | Custom Water Loop
Saphire R9 290 Tri-X Edition | InWin Dragon Rider White
24GB Samsung RAM | SuperMicro X8DTi R2.0
Samsung Evo 250GB | 1TB Hitachi HDD


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-14, 12:03 AM
BMXScotland BMXScotland is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
It's not just the stuttering it's the crashing and the computer shutting down but I have just downclocked the gpus and run a 3dmark 11 and it seems to be doing ok it might have just being too far for the second gpu the only problem is I don't know if the second gpu is being used and I got a p score of 12914 dunno if that's any good
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-14, 12:04 AM
Aaronh713 Aaronh713 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 10
~15000 is average I think.
__________________
i5 3570k @ 4.0ghz| Corsair H100i
Gigabyte GTX 760 2gb rev 2.0
16gb Corsair Vengeance
ASUS P8Z77-V
Samsung 840 250gb
SeaSonic X650
Fractal Arc Midi
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-14, 12:07 AM
RadeonHDx RadeonHDx is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMXScotland View Post
It's not just the stuttering it's the crashing and the computer shutting down but I have just downclocked the gpus and run a 3dmark 11 and it seems to be doing ok it might have just being too far for the second gpu the only problem is I don't know if the second gpu is being used and I got a p score of 12914 dunno if that's any good
Thats pretty much damn set on average. If you want to overclock you're going to have to overclock to accommodate for the weaker GPU, in your case, the XFX card.
__________________
Intel Xeon E5649 x2 | Custom Water Loop
Saphire R9 290 Tri-X Edition | InWin Dragon Rider White
24GB Samsung RAM | SuperMicro X8DTi R2.0
Samsung Evo 250GB | 1TB Hitachi HDD


Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
7970 problem, crossfire, help needed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.