Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-05-20, 10:12 PM
steverebo's Avatar
steverebo steverebo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: croydon, south west london
Posts: 1,267
Z490 aorus master pcie layout??

I've just grabbed a z490 aorus master it only has 3 full length PCIE slots the X16, X8 and X4 plus 3 m.2 x4 slots ive populated all 3 M.2 slots with nvme ssd's can i put my sound card in the x4 slot without effecting my gpu or m.2 ssd's????

__________________
BeQuiet Darkbase Pro 900 | i7-7700K OC @ 5.10GHz | Custom water loop | ASUS MAximus Hero IX Z270 | Aurous Xtreme GTX 1080TI @ 2120mhz 12000mhz | 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 3200MHz CL15 | 500GB Samsung 960 Evo, 250GB Samsung EVO 850 | Corsair HX750I PSU | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-05-20, 12:06 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,224
Depends on the board I would imagine.

I know on X570 the PCH has extra lanes for stuff like that, you would need to do some digging.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-05-20, 04:02 AM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,462
You should be fine. Page 32 in the Motherboard manual. The 3-rd slot is from the PCH. Only the first two slots are from CPU operating at 16x/0x or 8x/8x. Only 2080 TI can saturate an 8x PCI-E Gen 3 slot. Any other card is perfectly fine in the 8x slot.

All m.2 drives on Z490 are connected to PCH which has only 4x PCI-E Gen 3 lanes connection to CPU. You are shoving 12x PCI-E lanes of bandwidth through a 4x PCI-E connection. Your m.2 drives will never work to their full potential, but if you are not constantly copying massive files or editing 8K RAW footage you won't notice it.
__________________
Turbos on an engine is God's way of telling you it ain't got enough cylinders.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-05-20, 05:55 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,724
Just to add, using some m.2 slots disables some SATA ports.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 660p 1TB + MX500 2TB - HE-4XX w/ Topping D30+A30
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-05-20, 06:01 AM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
Just to add, using some m.2 slots disables some SATA ports.
That is page 32 from the Motherboard manual.
__________________
Turbos on an engine is God's way of telling you it ain't got enough cylinders.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-05-20, 06:05 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,724
Ah, right My bad
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 660p 1TB + MX500 2TB - HE-4XX w/ Topping D30+A30
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-05-20, 09:33 AM
steverebo's Avatar
steverebo steverebo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: croydon, south west london
Posts: 1,267
Thats really poop, funnily enough im running an rtx 2080ti strix oc on water ��

I don't want my gpu to suffer might ditch one of th M.2 drives as I'm also running 2 Sata drives.

So from reading that my cpu has 16 lanes dedicated to the gpu/pcie slots and my pch has 24 lanes shared between the m.2 slots sata drives lan usb etc.

So if I used the bottom x4 slot for a sound card is that using the pch or cpu lanes?
__________________
BeQuiet Darkbase Pro 900 | i7-7700K OC @ 5.10GHz | Custom water loop | ASUS MAximus Hero IX Z270 | Aurous Xtreme GTX 1080TI @ 2120mhz 12000mhz | 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 3200MHz CL15 | 500GB Samsung 960 Evo, 250GB Samsung EVO 850 | Corsair HX750I PSU | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-05-20, 09:44 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 6,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverebo View Post
Thats really poop, funnily enough im running an rtx 2080ti strix oc on water ��

I don't want my gpu to suffer might ditch one of th M.2 drives as I'm also running 2 Sata drives.

So from reading that my cpu has 16 lanes dedicated to the gpu/pcie slots and my pch has 24 lanes shared between the m.2 slots sata drives lan usb etc.

So if I used the bottom x4 slot for a sound card is that using the pch or cpu lanes?
Your GPU will still run optimal at x8

I have 2 m.2 drives, sound card and GPU as well as Sata ports loaded, 1,2,3,4 disabled. And zero impact on GPU performance or the drives. x4 slot uses PCH if i remember correct.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-05-20, 04:03 PM
steverebo's Avatar
steverebo steverebo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: croydon, south west london
Posts: 1,267
Cheers guys, hmm seriously considering getting the soundblaster X3 instead of the AE7 to avoid the risk. The on-board sound of my z490 aorus master on paper sounds good but I can hear the difference in power and fullness of the audio compared to my old ae5
__________________
BeQuiet Darkbase Pro 900 | i7-7700K OC @ 5.10GHz | Custom water loop | ASUS MAximus Hero IX Z270 | Aurous Xtreme GTX 1080TI @ 2120mhz 12000mhz | 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 3200MHz CL15 | 500GB Samsung 960 Evo, 250GB Samsung EVO 850 | Corsair HX750I PSU | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-05-20, 05:38 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,224
If the drive is nvme it won't use sata ports. It will use lanes. If it's m.2 sata it will use sata ports.

Please don't confuse the two they are totally different.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.