Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Sound Cards & Speakers
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-03-14, 08:42 PM
Edge's Avatar
Edge Edge is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 541
DAC with 2x inputs on a switch?

Hey guys,

I'm looking for a nice external DAC that I can have on my desk with two different audio sources plugged into it (Speakers & Cans). I want to be able to switch between each output without faffing around with cables, and maintain the benefit of a proper DAC.

Any recommendations? In the £50-100 price range is preferred!

__________________
Intel i5 3570 - Sapphire R9 270x Vapor-X - Corsair 8GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-03-14, 08:47 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Are you looking for two inputs or two outputs?

If the latter, I personally have a FiiO E10 to which I have connected my speakers as well as my headphones. There's no realy way to switch between them within Windows (as you can only select the DAC, not which output on the DAC) but if I use my cans I can turn the speakers off with the button that's on my right monitor. If I use the speakers, I simply turn the volume knob of the headphone output to 0.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-03-14, 08:54 PM
Edge's Avatar
Edge Edge is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
Are you looking for two inputs or two outputs?

If the latter, I personally have a FiiO E10 to which I have connected my speakers as well as my headphones. There's no realy way to switch between them within Windows (as you can only select the DAC, not which output on the DAC) but if I use my cans I can turn the speakers off with the button that's on my right monitor. If I use the speakers, I simply turn the volume knob of the headphone output to 0.
Outputs sorry, realise I was a bit unclear.

So PC -> DAC -> Either Speakers or Headphones, and can easily switch between the two. Ah so I can just connect both up and it will send audio to both, and I just switch off the one I don't want? Makes sense I guess! I'll take a look. Any other suggestions?

Would just be nice to have an easy switch to say "Send audio to this output source" =p
__________________
Intel i5 3570 - Sapphire R9 270x Vapor-X - Corsair 8GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-03-14, 09:03 PM
iBeInspire iBeInspire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Dirty North of London
Posts: 1,314
I've also got an E10 in the exact same config.
Fiio via USB, using the front out on fiio to power headphones and the line out on the back into my hifi
__________________
/|i5 4690k @4.6Ghz @1.315v /|\ Asus Z97-AR /|\ 8Gb G.Skill RipjawsX /|\ Asus GTX970 Strix |\
/|TX550m /|\ Samsung 840 Pro |\
/|Asus Essence STU /|\ Hifiman HE-400S /|\ AKG K551|\
[OFFICIAL] OC3D Overclockers Club Member [#025]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-03-14, 11:03 PM
RickPlaysWarr's Avatar
RickPlaysWarr RickPlaysWarr is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: El Cajon, CA -- USA
Posts: 510
Hi

I have one of these, and use both KRK Rokit 6 monitors and KNS8400 Headphones. The sound is great, and also very awesome for price for recording my guitar and mic'ing other instruments.

http://us.focusrite.com/usb-audio-in...s/scarlett-2i2

-Rick--
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.