Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 10-04-15, 03:40 PM
remember300 remember300 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dagenham
Posts: 2,292
Id buy something like that for looks like i did with the dom plats.
They do look nice but even with double connectors... im sure sli was a standard with a set number of pins unless they link up and use the tri sli connections in dual i cant see how it would give a performance bump.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-04-15, 04:50 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Hmm, thinking about it I have always wondered why adding another, exactly the same card, never gives a 100% performance improvement over one card. There must be a bottleneck somewhere, could be either hardware or software related.

I very much doubt it's the SLI bridge, but I'd gladly be proven wrong in this case. If not though; EVGA, what are you even doing.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-04-15, 04:57 PM
EasyLover EasyLover is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lahore
Posts: 6
Send a message via Skype™ to EasyLover
There are users who are more into looks and performance. By the way I'm one of them as well. but again, questions remains!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-04-15, 06:49 PM
xnax2802's Avatar
xnax2802 xnax2802 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
Agreed, would be hilarious to see a 'premium performance' sli connector market pop up out of no where lol

"now with twice as many connectors, and twice as thick traces for extra stabilities"
"It's like SLi for your SLi, we're calling these new connectors SSLi bridges"
Gave me a proper laugh

On a serious note; I'm gonna hop on the "they're not gonna do a thing for performance"-wagon, but they do look cool, though, and having a couple of EVGA cards with this bridge on them would look awesome. But I'm sure it ends there.
__________________
"Your grasp of the obvious is inspiring" -Commander Shepard
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-04-15, 03:23 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnax2802 View Post
and having a couple of EVGA cards
Ohhhh boy.... (Feronix will get it )
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-04-15, 04:01 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,688
I only run one 980, but I think this SLI bridge could increase my frames. Maybe it will make my monitor 4k too?
__________________
CaseLabs Mercury S3 | AMD 3900X | ROG CH8 Impact | RTX 2080 Super | 32GB DDR4 | 1TB NVMe
Acer Predator Z35P


Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-04-15, 05:38 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 14,758
Even better SLI performance ?

Not buying it EVGA.


__________________
= Steam/Origin/Uplay - Dicehunter =
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-04-15, 07:25 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnax2802 View Post
and having a couple of EVGA cards
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Even better SLI performance ?

Not buying it EVGA.


Hahaha !
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-04-15, 07:41 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,340
Unless they call 1-2fps an increase in performance.
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-04-15, 02:38 AM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
But Think about it.. a properly made sli bridge could increase performance immeasurably..
Lets give them the benifit of the doubt here.. It could be full of transistors and a Flux capacitor. then it can get the info travel back in time and then pass the info on. travel forward in time to get the next bit of info and repeat..

Although i think this could result in slight sli stutter as the fabric of time and space repairs itself at a rate of a multiple of the operation per clock cycle. And it could end up in a hefty power bill. and of course there aren't that many 1.21 Giggawatt psu's available.. BUT i do hear a rumor that evga are starting a line of 1.22 Gigawatt 90% psu's next month
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.