Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-10-17, 01:50 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
Galvanic Corrosion

I've been thinking about adding a reservoir to my Fractal Celsius S24, which is made out of plexiglas and copper. People would probably scream galvanic corrosion at me if I posted this on Reddit, but considering the cold plate on the Asetek units already is copper and the radiator is aluminium, is there really anything to worry about?

I do have cooling fluids from both EK and Alphacool with corrosion inhibitors, and I just like to hear if adding this reservoir is a really stupid idea, or I should go for it? I guess adding fittings made out of brass is perhaps a bad idea, so if I bought a couple of alu fittings from EK, what could go wrong?

The reason I want to do this is because my unit is located at the bottom of my case (Corsair Carbide 600Q something I think). It's an inverted case, and if I mount the AIO in the front with the tubes at the bottom, the pump starts to whine. I just want the air to stay above the pump housing.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-10-17, 02:43 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,994
As long as youve got decent coolant and the alu and copper dont actually touch you should be fine
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-10-17, 02:47 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
As long as youve got decent coolant and the alu and copper dont actually touch you should be fine
Ok that might be a problem, as the fittings are alu and will touch the copper base of the reservoir. Might have to take this in another direction then, as I don't believe anyone sells copper fittings.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-10-17, 04:57 PM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolagarf View Post
Ok that might be a problem, as the fittings are alu and will touch the copper base of the reservoir. Might have to take this in another direction then, as I don't believe anyone sells copper fittings.
Just buy regular fittings for the res then. I think they are mostly made of brass.
There will be corrosion there also will, just change the liquid regularly, and maybe dismantle the system and clean it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-10-17, 07:27 PM
Eddie long's Avatar
Eddie long Eddie long is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 466
ek sell some odd aluminium fittings now to go with there fluid gaming kits , depends if they fit . opps didn't see you had already mentioned
__________________
Life isn't always a bowl of cherry's.
Sometimes it's HARD WORK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-17, 11:39 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
As long as youve got decent coolant and the alu and copper dont actually touch you should be fine
This. I use XSPC EC6 and it is compatible with everything. I have tried to fit copper where I can but Dianoga uses blocks that were less than £10 each. I researched them and the metal was "other than" lol. I could not even nail down what they were made out of, but I concluded it was some sort of copper coloured alu.

Anyhoo, had EC6 in that rig since I built it and haven't had to flush/change or anything. And I built Dianoga (the rig it is in) over a year ago.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-17, 01:06 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,994
Most fittings are brass tbh
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-17, 01:48 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
Hehe.. This got way more complicated than it needs to be, but thanks for all the suggestions

I think it would just be easier to buy a new case where the AIO can be top mounted, it's near that time anyway to try something new. Can't very well use the same case too long, feels like wearing old pants
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.