Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 06-08-14, 01:27 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by coalminer071 View Post
About the psi calculation there isn't a resistance spec for the GPU blocks
I wouldn't worry about pressure fella, almost 100% sure it's not pressure that's made the acrylic crack/show fatigue

__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-08-14, 01:31 PM
coalminer071 coalminer071 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
The hose wont have cracked because of the pressure.

Also parallel isnt what Id advise. The biggest issue with your loop is the hose from the GPU's down IMHO but that still wouldnt make me want to run anything but a series loop.

Ive been using a twin card system with a single loop for ages - Id much rather my rig be tidy
What are the downsides of running a parallel loop?

------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
The Glycol alcohol in it, might be causing your acrylic to fracture. I've got non uv feser and it hasn't caused any issues in mine, not sure if there is more in the UV stuff?



With regards pressure.. i very, very much doubt that a single pump (as it looks?) will cause enough pressure to make your acrylic fracture. I have 2 in series and it's fine. If there is *any* air in the loop at all (at top of res for example) that will compress much, much easier than anything else in the loop and will take any differences in pressure. I very much doubt that's a problem
I'll ask feser about the alcohol. It is a single pump loop
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-08-14, 03:00 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by coalminer071 View Post
What are the downsides of running a parallel loop?
There aren't any, they are pretty much the same, they just offer more outflow in some/most cases due to GPU blocks being restrictive in some cases (not all)

It all depends entirely on what is tidiest for your loop, in your case, serial looks like it will be best because you can go in from the bottom, and come out the top and go direct to either the CPU or Motherboard block. (or vice versa)

You typically go for parallel when you need to go in one side, go through all the cards, and come out the same end, so for example if you did
CPU > GPU 1, GPU 2, GPU 3 (in parallel) and then came back out the top and into the motherboard block. It would make for a tidy loop but your in-out would then only be at the top.

It totally depends on your radiator/pump layout more than anything else, as it's about keeping it neat


Quote:
Originally Posted by coalminer071 View Post
I'll ask feser about the alcohol. It is a single pump loop
Yeah man pressure won't be a thing, It might just be worth re-doing the bend in whatever piece has got the crack in it.

Could you take a half decent high-res picture of the crack? I'm interested in seeing it tbh.

This is crude, but i'd try this kind of layout personally (if possible, obviously depends on radiator orientation possibilities)

__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-08-14, 03:16 PM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
gpu blocks arent really something that adds a lot of resistance the ones i have seen dont have rediculous channels to force the water through like cpu blocks do.
i would try to avoid long vertical runs though. but if your pump has enough maximum head and your res is filled up pretty high even that shouldnt be an isue because the maximum head would be the equivalent of maximum head + fluid level in the res..

if you really think you have issues with resistance you could go with two pumps with one being used as a return pump pushing fluid back in to the res and the other being more conventional being fed directly from the res. but you would not turn the return pump on untill after you had fully primed your loop so fluid was already returning to the res without the second pump on. and you had gotten rid of the air in the system.

i had a set up like that. and honestly i didnt see any real benifit. also the more pumps you have or the higher the wattage of the pump. you also tend to transfer kinetic energy from the impeller to the water as heat. so you can end up with higher temps.

id imagine the actuall crack would have come from something totally diferent though. a seal would have gone before a pipe cracked if it was due to pressure.

edit

was editing a pic but an above post is close enough to what i was drawing so i wont bother
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-08-14, 03:24 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles1980 View Post
i would try to avoid long vertical runs though. but if your pump has enough maximum head and your res is filled up pretty high even that shouldnt be an isue because the maximum head would be the equivalent of maximum head + fluid level in the res..
A D5's max head is about 13 feet dude..

I have a very similar loop to this one, minus one graphics card and it was flowing fine with a single pump on during filling/bleeding, the second is directly after the first which feeds straight from the res, flow/pressure/head isn't an issue here.

Where is the crack? on a bend or on a straight? can you mark it somehow, need to see it really.
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-08-14, 01:22 AM
coalminer071 coalminer071 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
A D5's max head is about 13 feet dude..

I have a very similar loop to this one, minus one graphics card and it was flowing fine with a single pump on during filling/bleeding, the second is directly after the first which feeds straight from the res, flow/pressure/head isn't an issue here.

Where is the crack? on a bend or on a straight? can you mark it somehow, need to see it really.
i disposed of the acrylic. it was the one that connected from the top of Quad to bottom of dual in the bottom area of the 900d. It was somewhat longer the first time i did a straight bend so halfway i did another 45 degree angle bend. it cracked in later portions of the pipe. btw how did you draw the red lines?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-08-14, 07:27 AM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by coalminer071 View Post
i disposed of the acrylic. it was the one that connected from the top of Quad to bottom of dual in the bottom area of the 900d. It was somewhat longer the first time i did a straight bend so halfway i did another 45 degree angle bend. it cracked in later portions of the pipe. btw how did you draw the red lines?
You can do it in the majestic Paint.
__________________
|i5 4460|16GB RAM|R9 380 4GB|ASUS Z97-I Plus|WD Blue 1TB|Corsair RM650|Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ITX|


Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-08-14, 07:32 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 6,247
I wasn't saying GPU blocks offer restriction. What i was referring to is that the OP was concerned he might be restricted.

http://martinsliquidlab.org/pump-planning-guide/

The table mid way down on this page allows you to calculate roughly what you are using in your loop and comparable to what your pump can do.

GPU blocks vary between 0.1psi and 2psi. Most being around 0.3 which is nothing really.

But anyway...

The basic layout sub has "painted" is how I would run the loop. I always like to have my fluid being pumped "upwards into blocks"



Excuse the crudeness and poor quality pic. I run two loops. And no there is no advantage or improvement over single. I just wanted to try something out since i had parts over from last build.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-08-14, 09:35 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by coalminer071 View Post
i disposed of the acrylic. it was the one that connected from the top of Quad to bottom of dual in the bottom area of the 900d. It was somewhat longer the first time i did a straight bend so halfway i did another 45 degree angle bend. it cracked in later portions of the pipe. btw how did you draw the red lines?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaddenShadow View Post
You can do it in the majestic Paint.
10 second job in Photoshop some vector lines, then i decided it needed arrows so used the brush tool :P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
I wasn't saying GPU blocks offer restriction. What i was referring to is that the OP was concerned he might be restricted.

http://martinsliquidlab.org/pump-planning-guide/

The table mid way down on this page allows you to calculate roughly what you are using in your loop and comparable to what your pump can do.

GPU blocks vary between 0.1psi and 2psi. Most being around 0.3 which is nothing really.

But anyway...

The basic layout sub has "painted" is how I would run the loop. I always like to have my fluid being pumped "upwards into blocks"



Excuse the crudeness and poor quality pic. I run two loops. And no there is no advantage or improvement over single. I just wanted to try something out since i had parts over from last build.
Regardless a D5 will have no issues with the setup he has tbh and it certainly won't crack the acrylic.

I'm more of a gravity follower usually, top down, but i have to admit, my current loop pushes up, i've found it makes for easier bleeding, and since the res is so utterly massive. I didn't actually have a whole lot of choice lol

It's all about neatness these days
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-08-14, 04:13 PM
coalminer071 coalminer071 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
thanks for all the comment guys. However tom did point out how hes not in favor of parallel runs. why is that? does anyone know?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.