Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-06-21, 04:22 PM
ScottytooHotty ScottytooHotty is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 97
Downside to getting an AMD cpu?

I have almost exclusively been an Intel cpu user with a brief spell on AMD with with Athlon 2500+ and as you can see from my signature I have a very good PC at the moment but do want to get a 3080ti so have been considering getting a prebuilt with one in but have been looking at a system with a 5900x in itand although I know AMD are killing it at the moment performance wise but just wanted to know if there are any features that AMD don't have over Intel for example Thunderbolt?

__________________
Current Setup: Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Window Edition - i9 10850k - ASUS ROG Strix Z-490-F gaming mother board - 32gb Corsair Vengence pro RGB 3600mhz - Gigabyte Vision OC 3080Ti - 500gb 970 EVO M.2 - 250gb Sandisk M.2 - 250gb 850 EVO - 500gb and 1TB WD blue SSD - 1TB Seagate Barracuda - Corsair RM850x - Iiyama GB3466WQSU Red Eagle ultrawide - Samsung 32" 4k - Glorious Model-O mouse - Corsair K70 RGB Keyboard - 1MORE Quad Driver In-Ear Earphones - Logitech Z-5500 speakers - Blue Snowball mic.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-06-21, 04:42 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 15,046
There are a few upsides to Intel, One of them is Thunderbolt compatibility and some much older software runs better on Intel.

That's really it.
__________________
= Steam/Origin/Uplay - Dicehunter =
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-06-21, 05:20 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,723
Intel has an igpu and quick sync, not really a reason to stick with them though. I like their socket better too, but not enough to not use AMD. I have AMD CPUs in 3 computers at home now.
__________________
CaseLabs Mercury S3 | AMD 3900X | ROG CH8 Impact | RTX 2080 Super | 32GB DDR4 | 1TB NVMe
Acer Predator Z35P


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-06-21, 05:35 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,603
I believe Temps are better than Intel too. Intel have been impressive staying competitive on ancient architecture 14nm but the heat it pumps now is what puts me off.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-06-21, 06:25 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
I believe Temps are better than Intel too. Intel have been impressive staying competitive on ancient architecture 14nm but the heat it pumps now is what puts me off.

The increased power draw that comes with keeping up is another big reason why they get so hot, but as to the original question, yeah no i don't see a major downside to switching to amd unless you need specific intel features, i have been on intel since 1997 but went to ryzen because amd completely made sense for the money, features and double the cores compared to greedy intel at the time.
__________________
Rig: Cpu: AMD R7 3700X. Mobo: Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 wifi. Ram: Gskill Royal Silver 3200mhz cl16: Gpu: Msi RTX2070 Armor. Asus Xonar STX II.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-06-21, 06:26 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,362
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...ON-D-rev-10#kf
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:03 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.