OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Mainboard & CPU (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Deep Trouble Dead i7???? Please Help!!! (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=22950)

SwaleSmith 12-01-09 11:01 PM

Deep Trouble Dead i7???? Please Help!!!
 
Seems I am in the $hit. was doing some tweaking trying to see if I could get my cpu stable with sensible...ish volts temps etc was runnign 1.400vcore & 1.35 qpi/dram volts as I was priming say 2mins in the pc just shut off thought it just failed prime....so attempt restart and the pc seems to start working my LCD status light go's blue saying its got signal but when it seems like its about to post the ROG logo I get a white quick flicker in the right hand side of the screen and thats it.

The Blue light stays on but nothing, looking at the tweaker/bug lcd everything seems normalruns through post checks and so on and finds no errors.

I have tried all the obviouse like turning it of resetting cmos everything you can imagine, tried swapping GFX cards but its still the same....have I destroyed my CPU or something wasn't running any volts that were too much nothing amber or yellow...or red of course:D

One more thing I pulled my Heat sink off (heat sink was mounted properly temps were even and good) fired up the pc with no heatsink and the cpu gets hot fast as it should.....would that happen if it were dead...and surely the m/board would do no post checks liek it does when the cpu is removed if it was dead or is it possible that all this could happen.

Is my M/board playing up or is the CPU fried...or is there some other possibilty????

ps. I extremely doubt this is PSU related its about 7 months old with no history of trouble, and have also tried one stick of ram.

sorry for the long post...

Thanks in advance

monkey7 12-01-09 11:17 PM

"looking at the tweaker/bug lcd everything seems normalruns through post checks and so on and finds no errors." Somehow that makes me think the graphics card just isn't giving any image. Could be a fried southbridge (is that even possible? O.o) or a not so happy card. Do you have a card lying around that was not in the board when it gave up?

FarFarAway 12-01-09 11:20 PM

It's more likely to be a problem with the board or memory than the CPU, not often you get a CPU problem. Taking off the heatsink and firing it up was pretty stupid: that's more likely to fry the CPU than anything else.

Return the mobo first, then go from there.

SwaleSmith 12-01-09 11:22 PM

when I say taking heat sink off I literaly fired it up like 1 second just as I felt it get warm......and to be honest I was convinced it was dead.

tried another card that was not in the system and is exactly the same

VonBlade 12-01-09 11:24 PM

The Intel approved limit is 1.375v so maybe you just got really unlucky and had one that bombs where they said it does, rather than what everyone else tries.

http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLBCH

SwaleSmith 12-01-09 11:43 PM

yeah maybe....would be my luck :(

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
The Intel approved limit is 1.375v so maybe you just got really unlucky and had one that bombs where they said it does, rather than what everyone else tries.

http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLBCH


rrjwilson 13-01-09 02:22 AM

I think you should do a parts check with normal PC. Check RAM, GPU and all HDDs on DDR3 board then get weiner GPU on to the i7 board and check the CPU and mobo.

If the CPU was fired then it could not do the BIOS (like if there was no CPU) so it must be at least partially functional. If the LCD does go through the usual stuff fine but the display goes out then try switching headers.

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 09:50 AM

After having a sleep over it...

I have come up with the fact that I feel it's CPU due to the following...

1, The board posts and goes through all post checks as normal and dispays the following on my tweakit display, usbfinali, cpucheck, vgabios and so on.

2, The board will enter setup when I press delete and will respond to my commands, for example I press delete ''setupeng'' desplays on tweakit display (as it should) if i press f10 and enter wich would be save changes and exit of course it will restart itself, and if i press the cmos clear button on the rear the pc would normaly stop and request you press f1 to enter bios dispaying the error code ''cmoserror'' when you press f1 it goes to setupeng if i press f5 then enter then f10 than enter it restarts and removes the error all exactly as it should do.

3, It all happened while priming, with now what I know to be too much volts all be it not buy many over but maybe there tempremental or my chip was a little softy.

The m/board doesn't fail on cpu check, but surely this cannot rule out the cpu is knackered maybe it burnt soemthing else on the chip as we knwo the cores are notthe opnly things on the i7.

Gonna go about sorting the problem today will post back my results on the solution tomorrow, I am utterly convinced it's the chip.

SO MY ADVICE TO ANYONE OVERCLOCKING....THE i7 CHIPS CAN AND WILL BE BURNED OUT...BE CAREFULL!!!!!!

HazzyP 13-01-09 10:48 AM

sorry to hear that mate. I know its not the same but wont chips be somewhat similar to car engines? What I mean by that is, when chipping, overboosting (ie overclocking!) cars your best off doing it when the parts are "run in" with a fair few miles on the clock. I know your I7 is obviously only a few weeks old so im thinking maybe it wasnt "run in" enough so responded badly to overclocking?

Just a thought.

JN 13-01-09 01:02 PM

Swale, I have to say I'd be really surprised if it was the CPU. On any system I've ever used if the CPU is faulty (or missing) the system will spin up the fans and nothing more. When I had a faulty CPU on an ASUS board with the LCD thingy it got stuck on CPU_INIT.

No display, yet a semi-successful POST to me would sound like graphics card or maybe even power delivery to the pci-e slots via the motherboard.

If you've not already done so, try a different GPU in a different PCI-E slot. Even try a PCI graphics card if you can get hold of one.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.