OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Liquid Cooling (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   New x99 rig, EK Supremacy Evo bad temps at stock (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=69807)

Unframed 04-03-15 12:00 PM

New x99 rig, EK Supremacy Evo bad temps at stock
 
Hey Guys

So i just finished my new rig last week and have been using it at stock speeds for the last couple of days.
Info about rig/WC setup.
I7 5930k
MSI X99S Gaming 9 Ack
2x Asus Strix 980

CPU Block: EK Supremacy Evo Nickel
GPU Block: EK-FC980 GTX Strix - Acetal+Nickel
Rads: 1x Alphacool XT45 360mm 2x Alphacool UT60 240mm


With the info out of the way, lets get to the problem.
So last night I wanted to start overclocking my system.
Before I began I wanted to do some benchmarks to compare stock vs OC.

I ran Cinebench and immediately got worried since the temps on the CPU started hitting 69-71C and this is at stock speeds with a voltage of 1.025-1.035.

I saw this guy on Youtube getting his CPU to around 45C at stock with a Corsair H100i doing the same test, and I would think my WC setup should at least be able to match that.

I stopped testing the CPU and went for the GPU's instead.
I ran FurMark for about an hour or so and both cards hit a max temp of 43C which I'm pretty happy about.
So with that in mind I'm thinking it has something to do with the CPU block and not my loop.

I'm thinking I might need to remount the CPU block. I am using Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra on both the CPU and GPU's and it was also the TIM I used on my last rig, with great results.
Could it be the layer between the CPU and the block is to thin? I was using the last drop of the Liquid Ultra on the CPU but I got the whole surface covered.
If I do the remount should I try with the TIM that came with the Block or just try the Ultra again?
Also when i mounted the block I did it in the Goofy position so 90 CCW, but from what I have read that should only make a couple of degrees difference, and not 20-30C(compared to the H100i).

Hope you guys are able to help me with my problem and feel free to come with other suggestions than what is on my mind. Also if there is any info missing please tell me and Ill post it. Thanks in advance

-Unframed

Warchild 04-03-15 12:04 PM

Is the voltage set to auto?

Could be the reason why the temp ramps up high. I know you state 1.025 V but is that what you are seeing at idle? or is that what you set it to?

Other thing could be that your CPU block is not seated correctly. I have a problem with my EVO at the moment that there is virtually 1mm clearance from the 3 capacitors on the left side of the socket. I had to carefully bend them away to allow the EVO block to sit correctly ontop of the CPU.

as for Cool lab paste. I use it and you only need a tiny drop to spread it completely.

edit* did you flush your rads before installing them? Shine a light into your EVO block and check the jet plate. It might be clogged. Bad/low flow= high temps

mine at stock with the 4790K went up to 60C with WC but that is because volts were on auto and jumped to 1.35V when at full load.

tinytomlogan 04-03-15 12:21 PM

45c wouldnt have been full load on the H100i mate.

Even with water youll probably see 60c on load.

You can check our heatsink and CPU reviews to check reliable temps

Unframed 04-03-15 12:27 PM

Yes the voltage is set to auto, but is between 1.025-1.035 during the Cinebench, according to CPU-Z.

Not really anything around the socket that should curse a problem for it to sit correctly on top of the CPU.

The rads I'm using is from my last build and I did do a good flushing before using them then and as well now before using them in my new build.
It's a bit hard to look inside the block since I got the Original CSQ model with a frosted look to it. But from what I can see it doesn't look clogged. But shouldn't this also effect the GPU temps if there was bad flow through the system?

Warchild 04-03-15 12:28 PM

if its auto then your volts will rocket at full load. There is your reason.

Unframed 04-03-15 12:40 PM

During his Cinebench run his CPU hit a max of 45C. I know its a short test but when i do it mine it reaches 70C, both being the 5930k. He is saying he is using the H100I in the video but you are not seeing it at any point, so I guess I have to take his word on him using that. Also he is using auto voltage.

Ill try and do a run with my voltage set to manual and see what happens.

Warchild 04-03-15 12:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unframed (Post 829168)
During his Cinebench run his CPU hit a max of 45C. I know its a short test but when i do it mine it reaches 70C, both being the 5930k. He is saying he is using the H100I in the video but you are not seeing it at any point, so I guess I have to take his word on him using that. Also he is using auto voltage.

Ill try and do a run with my voltage set to manual and see what happens.

I very very very much doubt his is auto. My pc is is cooled by a ridiculous amount of fans and as I said, even at stock speed and auto setting I hit 60C in cinebench.

There is a nice guide on here how to undervolt your CPU. I suggest you give it a go and then try cinebench again. Once you are satisfied and confident you can start playing about with overclocking your CPU.

Unframed 04-03-15 01:04 PM

So setting the Core voltage to 1.035 the cores range from 68-74C during the Cinebench run which is a little higher than on auto, and I guess that's because the voltage goes down to 1.025 during the run on auto.
So I'm guessing it's something else than the voltage.

btw this is the video I'm referring to /watch?v=yePdgt9Tmuw maybe you are able to see/hear something I'm not.
2 min into the video he starts talking about auto voltage and his H100

tinytomlogan 04-03-15 01:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unframed (Post 829178)
So setting the Core voltage to 1.035 the cores range from 68-74C during the Cinebench run which is a little higher than on auto, and I guess that's because the voltage goes down to 1.025 during the run on auto.
So I'm guessing it's something else than the voltage.

btw this is the video I'm referring to /watch?v=yePdgt9Tmuw maybe you are able to see/hear something I'm not.
2 min into the video he starts talking about auto voltage and his H100

Stop comparing to that YouTube video when you have no idea about all of his settings.

Cinebench is also not a program to bother running for CPU stress testing.

Follow the guide below and then post back with screen shots and lists of settings dude - try and help us to help you

http://www.overclock3d.net/articles/...ur_cpu_vcore/1

Kushiro 04-03-15 01:21 PM

OP download OCCT and use that instead, its free and quite good too. Nonetheless you should probably check your block seating as others have said, as you shouldn't be getting those kind of temps with the amount of rad space and fans you say you have.

Also next time just use a simply TIM like MX-4 or something, it wont make a massive difference.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.