Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-01-17, 01:57 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,626
Intel Skylake and Kaby Lake systems are vulnerable to a USB debugging exploit

Researchers at Positive Technologies claim that Intel's Skylake and Kaby Lake processors are vulnerable to a USB debugging bypass which could be used to attack systems.



Read more on Intel's U-series CPU vulnerability.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-17, 11:37 PM
green_arrow green_arrow is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
Best way to prevent this exploit: chewing gum in USB 3.0 port
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-17, 08:55 AM
Kleptobot's Avatar
Kleptobot Kleptobot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 148
gasp, if someone has physical access to your PC they can hack it...
__________________
delided 3570k (watercooled)
hd7970 (watercooled)
8GB Gskill XM
3*140 SR1 Rad
all stuffed in an FD arc midi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-17, 05:06 PM
eazyreis's Avatar
eazyreis eazyreis is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by green_arrow View Post
Best way to prevent this exploit: chewing gum in USB 3.0 port
Cement problably is better !!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-17, 05:58 PM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by green_arrow View Post
Best way to prevent this exploit: chewing gum in USB 3.0 port
Quote:
Originally Posted by eazyreis View Post
Cement problably is better !!
Dynamite even better - blow their stuff up for trying to steal your stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-01-17, 07:00 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Actually.. I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 11,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Dynamite even better - blow their stuff up for trying to steal your stuff
You'd blow up much more than just there stuff......
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-01-17, 08:55 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 2,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Dynamite even better - blow their stuff up for trying to steal your stuff
...
...... Chrazey didn't earn his name without good reason
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-01-17, 01:00 PM
Shingara Shingara is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kleptobot View Post
gasp, if someone has physical access to your PC they can hack it...

This is something i wonder about, with the way tons of stuff is connected to the internet, most ppl dont even change there password and stuff on routers, could this be done to something as a firmware update and i dunno, infect your mouse so they dont even have to be at your pc, and you do it by accident and dont even realise when you plug something in that is infected ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-01-17, 01:03 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shingara View Post
This is something i wonder about, with the way tons of stuff is connected to the internet, most ppl dont even change there password and stuff on routers, could this be done to something as a firmware update and i dunno, infect your mouse so they dont even have to be at your pc, and you do it by accident and dont even realise when you plug something in that is infected ?
Well, if you manage to upgrade mouse firmware, you've already got root access.
__________________
i5 4690k - GTX 970 - 4x4Gb - 512GB 850 EVO

Xeon X5670 - GTX 760 - 2x4GB - 128GB Agility 3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-01-17, 02:33 PM
Shingara Shingara is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
Well, if you manage to upgrade mouse firmware, you've already got root access.

Would it have tobe on firmware and we need to upgrade it, like as an example i have a g600 mouse, the thing takes profiles and stores them on itself, could something like that do it as it is technically connecting via usb.

Edit, sorry if these are stupid questions, nearly all software is black magic vodoo to me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 06:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.