Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-03-20, 10:39 AM
RobCharles1981 RobCharles1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Swansea
Posts: 170
Graphics Card Problem

Hello all,


I have a problem with my Graphics Card at the moment which I have the XFX R9 390 which I've had for a good few years.


I use the latest graphics drivers but on various occasions I've been getting a BSOD with the stop code "Video TDR Failure" What failed: atikmpag.sys


Any ideas what is going on?


Thanks
Rob

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 2600. MSI B450 Gaming Motherboard Corsair H60, Corsair Vengenance LPX 16gig DDR3

Corsair TX 750m PSU, AMD R9 390: Creative Soundblaster Z: Fractal R5 Case
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-03-20, 11:19 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,890
Are you doing anything specific when it crashes?

Have you tried using a program like DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller) to uninstall your driver and install them again?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-03-20, 11:38 AM
RobCharles1981 RobCharles1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Swansea
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
Are you doing anything specific when it crashes?

Have you tried using a program like DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller) to uninstall your driver and install them again?



Hi I'm doing nothing of the ordinary, loading up firefox for example, then the screen flickers so many times.


Yep I've used that program too to clean install the drivers as well.


Here is a screen dump error from event viewer:




Faulting application name: Radeonsoftware.exe, version: 10.1.2.1788, time stamp: 0x5e59a285
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 10.0.18362.719, time stamp: 0x64d10ee0
Exception code: 0xc0000374
Fault offset: 0x00000000000f92a9
Faulting process id: 0x3158
Faulting application start time: 0x01d5fdd6b2f88d0c
Faulting application path: D:\Program files\CNext\CNext\Radeonsoftware.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 23d50d60-03de-4bfd-89cf-e7bfd0ed519c
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 2600. MSI B450 Gaming Motherboard Corsair H60, Corsair Vengenance LPX 16gig DDR3

Corsair TX 750m PSU, AMD R9 390: Creative Soundblaster Z: Fractal R5 Case
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-03-20, 01:02 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobCharles1981 View Post
Hi I'm doing nothing of the ordinary, loading up firefox for example, then the screen flickers so many times.


Yep I've used that program too to clean install the drivers as well.


Here is a screen dump error from event viewer:




Faulting application name: Radeonsoftware.exe, version: 10.1.2.1788, time stamp: 0x5e59a285
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 10.0.18362.719, time stamp: 0x64d10ee0
Exception code: 0xc0000374
Fault offset: 0x00000000000f92a9
Faulting process id: 0x3158
Faulting application start time: 0x01d5fdd6b2f88d0c
Faulting application path: D:\Program files\CNext\CNext\Radeonsoftware.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 23d50d60-03de-4bfd-89cf-e7bfd0ed519c
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID
Not sure. It might be best to regress to an older driver for now.

Report your issue to AMD and they will hopefully fix it with their next driver release, though someone else here may know what's wrong.

https://www.amd.com/report

Update -

AMD has a new driver today. Maybe it will fix your issue.

https://www.overclock3d.net/news/sof...lyx_and_more/1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-05-20, 07:53 AM
RobCharles1981 RobCharles1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Swansea
Posts: 170
Its now still doing it.
I don't think it's a driver problem it's more related to a hardware problem!
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 2600. MSI B450 Gaming Motherboard Corsair H60, Corsair Vengenance LPX 16gig DDR3

Corsair TX 750m PSU, AMD R9 390: Creative Soundblaster Z: Fractal R5 Case
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-05-20, 11:41 AM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,674
Looking around on the net, it seems quite a few people are suffering with this type of issue.


Some have resolved it by disabling hardware acceleration in browsers, others have had to reduce Vram clockspeed and even try undervolting there cards.


It might be worth trying those to see if it resolves it.
__________________
Gaming PC: AMD 5950X, 32GB Corsiar DDR4, EVGA 3080Ti, Samsung 980 Pro 1TB NVME

Server PC: 2700x, 16GB Corsair DDR4, MSI GTX 1660Ti, Gigabyte 120Gb M.2, Crucial 240Gb SSD, WD Blue 500Gb SSD, 2x Seagate 6Tb HDD's

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-20, 03:29 AM
Undertoker's Avatar
Undertoker Undertoker is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Uk
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobCharles1981 View Post
Hello all,


I have a problem with my Graphics Card at the moment which I have the XFX R9 390 which I've had for a good few years.


I use the latest graphics drivers but on various occasions I've been getting a BSOD with the stop code "Video TDR Failure" What failed: atikmpag.sys


Any ideas what is going on?


Thanks
Rob
In honesty rob this is a years old 100 quid card - I’d bin it and consider the well overdue upgrade dude
__________________
Merry Christmas everyone
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-20, 10:44 AM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,122
TDR issues can be related to power supplies as well, what is your psu and how old is it?


Video cards can be very sensitive to power supplies being old or not really capable of keeping 12v stable and cause a crash on the driver level.
__________________
Rig: Cpu: AMD R7 3700X. Mobo: Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 wifi. Ram: Gskill Royal Silver 3200mhz cl16: Gpu: Msi RTX2070 Armor. Asus Xonar STX II.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-20, 12:59 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,751
its quite an old thread guys.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-20, 02:02 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,122
Ehhh yeah i didnt notice the lil necro, its not that old but still.
__________________
Rig: Cpu: AMD R7 3700X. Mobo: Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 wifi. Ram: Gskill Royal Silver 3200mhz cl16: Gpu: Msi RTX2070 Armor. Asus Xonar STX II.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.