Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-05-21, 08:13 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
3070 + lg gx oled + cable hdmi 2.1

Morning All, been a busy few months for me moving apartment.

Anyway, all settled in now and to treat myself I bought myself a 65" LG GX OLED which is MEGA !!

I got a couple of 10m HDMI 2.1 cable but no matter what I play I get audio cut outs whilst playing on the LG OLED and even though 3840x2160x120hz appears in the display settings of windows and NVidia control panel whenever I select it it falls back to 3840x2160x60hz, Gsync is enabled in the NVidia control panel (tried disabling Gysnc but still same issue).



Has anybody got any experience with playing 4K high refresh rate with Gsync (VRR) ?

Maybe somebody can advise me on a HDMI 2.1 cable to buy that is 100% guaranteed to work with my Nvidia 3070?

Have a nice Sunday
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-05-21, 08:40 AM
scubasteve scubasteve is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 328
nice tv that just got my LG oled as well and trying to sort out the settings its also getting me a bit baffed, but from what i understand is that 3840x2160x120hz automatically pops up when you go in game mode and drops back to 60hz when you viewing tv/movies
well that is what i have observed so far im pretty sure i having got the settings all figured out only got it a couple days ago



also on my second monitor the tasks bar is not right the tabs are soooo long lol - 4 tabs open takes up the whole task bar
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-05-21, 09:56 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve View Post
nice tv that just got my LG oled as well and trying to sort out the settings its also getting me a bit baffed, but from what i understand is that 3840x2160x120hz automatically pops up when you go in game mode and drops back to 60hz when you viewing tv/movies
well that is what i have observed so far im pretty sure i having got the settings all figured out only got it a couple days ago



also on my second monitor the tasks bar is not right the tabs are soooo long lol - 4 tabs open takes up the whole task bar
Saw your post, hoping you would chime in Let me know your findings as you settle in with it..

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingNosser View Post
IAs for the gsync issue or resolution i'm less sure it depends on the TV but the steam link would solve that as well, the firestick works really well and far better if though your router, if wifi 5ghz is best.
Sucks to buy a Steam Link, I already got the latest Nvidia Shield and game streaming sucks, to much lag. Shouldnt HDMI 2.1 have enough bandwidth ? Is there maybe a way to send correct audio format ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Is your input on the TV using a PC input? Pretty sure they require that for PC to work properly. Consoles just need game mode I believe.
No PC input on these models, You can change the name of the source to PC but thats just esthetic. Game mode on the tv comes on when I start a game, so games are getting detected and play great, just the god damb sound cutting in and out all the time which is horrid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-05-21, 05:26 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
No PC input on these models, You can change the name of the source to PC but thats just esthetic. Game mode on the tv comes on when I start a game, so games are getting detected and play great, just the god damb sound cutting in and out all the time which is horrid
Like most modern TVs and including all LG OLED ones, PC input allows proper 4:4:4 chroma subsampling and lower input lag. For this tv in particular you need it labeled as PC in order to get proper 4:4:4 at 4k 120hz and any resolution at 60hz when connected to a PC.

You just likely need to reapply settings as it changes back to defaults in PC mode. It is not just an aesthetic change.

The GX is basically a CX. They offer only different screen sizes afaik. Everything else is equal. So any information for the CX can be applied to the GX if you can't find something for GX. CX is just more popular so usually easier to find information for that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-05-21, 10:49 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Like most modern TVs and including all LG OLED ones, PC input allows proper 4:4:4 chroma subsampling and lower input lag. For this tv in particular you need it labeled as PC in order to get proper 4:4:4 at 4k 120hz and any resolution at 60hz when connected to a PC.

You just likely need to reapply settings as it changes back to defaults in PC mode. It is not just an aesthetic change.

The GX is basically a CX. They offer only different screen sizes afaik. Everything else is equal. So any information for the CX can be applied to the GX if you can't find something for GX. CX is just more popular so usually easier to find information for that.
Don't understand why you say I need to rename it the HDMI input to "PC" , this is definitely just for convenience purposes and has no impact on how the handshake occurs between devices, unless you have a link with some evidence to back this up? I also just tried this and it makes no difference.

One thing I noticed is that all the supported resolutions are there in the nvidia control panel, its just when I select the 4K 120hz I get black screen for a few seconds and then it falls back to 4k 60hz.

Also, when the OLED detects the PC I get a popup asking to enable HDMI ultra bandwidth on the input where PC is connected, whenever I enable this I just get black screen, have to restart PC and OLED.

Requested a return to amazon for both cables and have ordered another https://www.cablematters.com/pc-1329...mi-cable.aspx# this one seems to be active with usb connecter for additional powerand the Cable Matters website seems to have to pretty good explications about HDMI 2.1 and how to use with RTX cards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve View Post
this is the exact reason instead of getting mine online even tho i do have 2-3 extra different ones at home, i went to local shop made sure to as if they were true 4-8k and advertised on the box just so i can return then quick and easy if they didn't do what they said
If the third cable from Amazon fails, then I will go to the AV shop where I got the TV and buy one of their cables, but they want 450 euros for a 8 meter length and it isn't even certified.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-05-21, 02:59 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Don't understand why you say I need to rename it the HDMI input to "PC" , this is definitely just for convenience purposes and has no impact on how the handshake occurs between devices, unless you have a link with some evidence to back this up? I also just tried this and it makes no difference.

One thing I noticed is that all the supported resolutions are there in the nvidia control panel, its just when I select the 4K 120hz I get black screen for a few seconds and then it falls back to 4k 60hz.

Also, when the OLED detects the PC I get a popup asking to enable HDMI ultra bandwidth on the input where PC is connected, whenever I enable this I just get black screen, have to restart PC and OLED.

Requested a return to amazon for both cables and have ordered another https://www.cablematters.com/pc-1329...mi-cable.aspx# this one seems to be active with usb connecter for additional powerand the Cable Matters website seems to have to pretty good explications about HDMI 2.1 and how to use with RTX cards.



If the third cable from Amazon fails, then I will go to the AV shop where I got the TV and buy one of their cables, but they want 450 euros for a 8 meter length and it isn't even certified.
Evidence to back it up? It's been a thing for tvs for years. You can just read reviews and it'll say it. Go to Rtings.com and find it if it's such an unbelievable thing. It's even in the manual, changing to a PC input optimizes the experience and it affects resolution and refresh rate. If you think it's only for convenience then fine. The TV handles PC different than regular non PC because of windows and how it renders things. I've had to do this on multiple LG, Samsung, and Sony TVs. Only way it would be different for you is if they have Regional differences in software. No idea why they would.

You're asking for help and I'm just giving the most basic troubleshooting as a starting point. It's troubleshooting for a reason. It could be something else but why jump to conclusions when not ruling out basic first steps? Keeps things on a logical path of troubleshooting so you aren't jumping all over the place.

I'm not sure what other tips to give as this should at least fix some issues related to your situation. Maybe a recent Nvidia GPU drivers messed things up. There was a problem before. I'd try updating your LG firmware to the latest version. If that doesn't help could be driver or hardware related. That's about all I got.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-05-21, 09:01 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,971
Is your input on the TV using a PC input? Pretty sure they require that for PC to work properly. Consoles just need game mode I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-05-21, 09:27 AM
KingNosser KingNosser is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Essex UK
Posts: 672
I've experienced this issue with audio on TV's your picture will be fine but your audio will constantly drop out, the reason is the PC audio is a different type to a tv audio and it's a higher freaquency or bandwidth so the hdmi cable cant handle the signal.

Invest in a Firestick 4k and install steam link onto it or buy a steamlink and that way when it passes through the software it will send the correct signal to the TV and if your TV is arc then it will go into the surround sound correctly, it's the only work around i've found for the issue unless you output the sound directly to an audio set up and just send the picture to the TV, the steamlink is a very handy solution to that issue and you can use it across all launchers as steam link just displays and sends audio it's not limited to steam alone.

As for the gsync issue or resolution i'm less sure it depends on the TV but the steam link would solve that as well, the firestick works really well and far better if though your router, if wifi 5ghz is best.
__________________
https://forum.overclock3d.net/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic20429_1.gif
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-05-21, 09:48 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,852
Long HDMI cables can be very temperamental, and sadly HDMI cable listing love to lie about things.

I had similar problems with HDMI 2.0 a few years back with some long cables. Does 4K 120Hz work with shorter cables?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-05-21, 10:07 AM
scubasteve scubasteve is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
Long HDMI cables can be very temperamental, and sadly HDMI cable listing love to lie about things.

this is the exact reason instead of getting mine online even tho i do have 2-3 extra different ones at home, i went to local shop made sure to as if they were true 4-8k and advertised on the box just so i can return them quick and easy if they didn't do what they said
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.