Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 28-05-11, 11:42 AM
Awoozl Awoozl is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
Tried restarting from Windows and it crashed again. No BSOD though.

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 28-05-11, 12:08 PM
Grizzly's Avatar
Grizzly Grizzly is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sidmouth, The Shire, UK
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

he cannot do memtest86 cos he cannot get into windows

i think it is your SSD

have you tried changing from IDE to ACPI in BIOS?
There is a memtest .iso, have a copy myself that can run without windows. Worth a try assuming he's using a second PC to post here and not his phone.
__________________
Polar
Intel i5 750 3.6GHz : Asus Maximus III Formula : 8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHz
XSPC Raystorm, EX360, X20 750 : Mayhems Pastel Blue Berry
MSI GTX 580 Lightning : Asus Xonar Xense
NZXT Phantom : Corsair HX850W
115GB Mushkin Callisto Deluxe
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 28-05-11, 04:09 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Awoozl View Post

Both mobo power plugs are plugged in. The upper one has some kinda plastic thingie blocking half of the slot though. Should I try and take it off and plug both connectors in?

I also managed to get a minidump file from the pc. Dunno if it helps but uploaded it here anyways: http://hotfile.com/d...481-01.dmp.html.

Edit: Managed to get the hexadecimals this time: 0x0000000000000000 0xFFFFFA80068AA028 0x00000000B6000000 0x0000000000000115
yes you beed both 4pins plugged in bro take that lil plastic thingy off and plug in both 4pins lol
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 28-05-11, 04:19 PM
Awoozl Awoozl is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
Alright got it to work. Either the onboard sound or lan was making it crash. Disabled both, updated the drivers and it seems to be working fine now. Been running prime95 for an hour and a half now, think it's safe to say it's stable?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 28-05-11, 04:20 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
have ya plugged in the other half of the 8pin power??? if not that might of been causing the sound and lan to crash
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 28-05-11, 04:21 PM
SmoulderingCircuits SmoulderingCircuits is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_I_N View Post

yes you beed both 4pins plugged in bro take that lil plastic thingy off and plug in both 4pins lol
Hmm. Seems we have found the problem
__________________


Subroutine
Lubuntu 12.10 | 2880x1024 | AMD E-350

Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 28-05-11, 04:25 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fodr Kreatr View Post

Hmm. Seems we have found the problem
yeah but more trouble shooting lol Just curious as to if the extra 4pin of the 8pin will assist in keeping the sound and lan working
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 28-05-11, 04:30 PM
Awoozl Awoozl is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
I did plug it in, didn't fix the problem. Thought that was for an SLI setup or something.

But yeah, 2h of Prime now. Me = happy ^^ Thanks for all the help guys!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 28-05-11, 04:40 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
ok cool good to know nope its for mobo power as the newer boards take extra power. Now the lower molex style power connectors are for giving the pci-e slot more power for sli and crossfire setups. I have noticed some boards are now putting 2 sata power connectors next to the sata data ports for this which id very sweet as now you wont have a cable running down the length of ur board will make cable management alot better for those doing extreme e.
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 28-05-11, 04:45 PM
Awoozl Awoozl is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
Was having a real touch time getting the 4pins to plug into the upper slots. I'll try and get a decent pic and post it here once I put the finishing touches in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.