Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-09-13, 01:43 AM
Tex Lomar's Avatar
Tex Lomar Tex Lomar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 13
Gaming Rig

Location: United States

Budget: ~ $2500

I don't need peripherals or Display's. Have a 1080p IPS Monitor and a few TN Film's.

I have Operating Systems and Software.

Primary use will be gaming at 1080p, also Video/Audio Editing and Streaming. I would like it future proof if I decide to run a higher resolution.

I would like to Overclock.

I have been using Notebooks (Clevo/Sager) mainly the past few years due to travel, but its time to build a new Desktop.

What I have come up with so far:

GIGABYTE G1.Sniper 5
Intel Core i7-4770K
SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series 256GB x2 in RAID 0
Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB. Might get two of these for RAID 1.
CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 16GB (2 x 8Gb) 1600, should I bother with higher frequency RAM?
CORSAIR HX1050
Corsair H100i
Corsair Obsidian 650D - Will the G1. Sniper 5 fit? I really like this Chassis, and I don't want a full tower.

Undecided on the GPU. Should I get a GTX 780, or GTX 760 SLI, or something different? Leaning towards the Gigabyte GTX 780 OC.

I haven't picked a capture card yet.

Open to cooling solutions. I would like to water cool at least the CPU.

Thank you for the time and help.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-09-13, 02:18 AM
garih garih is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chester, UK
Posts: 923
psu is overkill, even if you plan on going 780 sli. 850 should be a better match. (i may be wrong, but im sure we are gonna get others saying this also)

better to go for the 780 over the 760sli as ya can always add another 780 later. especially if ya thinking of higher res in the future
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-09-13, 02:22 AM
Tex Lomar's Avatar
Tex Lomar Tex Lomar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 13
Actually.. the one I have on my Newegg wishlist is the: Corsair AX760

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-09-13, 02:31 AM
garih garih is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chester, UK
Posts: 923
fair enough, not sure about sli 780 tho,


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex Lomar View Post
What I have come up with so far:

GIGABYTE G1.Sniper 5

Corsair Obsidian 650D - Will the G1. Sniper M5 fit? I really like this Chassis, and I don't want a full tower.
are you planning on the G1.Sniper 5 or the G1. Sniper M5?

the m5 is a micro atx mobo, prob not the best idea as you will not have many pci-e ports for capture card etc,

but that case is a mid tower, according to the gigabyte website the sniper 5 is E-ATX, and according to corsair website will not fit in the 650d.

a new corsair case is gonna be released in a couple of weeks, may be worth a wait to see if it houses E-ATX boards,
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-09-13, 02:44 AM
Tex Lomar's Avatar
Tex Lomar Tex Lomar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 13
I don't want the M5. I read on some forums that people were able to fit the mobo into that case, I was wondering if anyone here had done it.

Do you have any suggestions for a Chassis similar in design to the 650D that would fit?

650D: Dimensions: 21.5” (L) x 9” (W) x 20.5” (H) 546mm (L) x 229mm (W) x 521mm (H) .MB

Sniper 5: 30.5cm x 26.4cm

Hope they release the 750D soon.

And you can move one of the drive bays and relocate it to the bottom.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-09-13, 04:05 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,778
Only need 1 ssd, get a single larger drive. Save some money on the ram and get something not as expensive just for the looks and at the same time get some higher speed. Will help with video editing.

Corsair Carbide Air 540? Should have plenty of room for watercooling and bays for drives. Also room for e-atx if i'm not mistaken.

And lastly go for a 780. Or wait until AMD announces new cards on Sept 25th. Supposed to be on par with a titan at 780 prices. Also depending on software used for editing AMD may be the better option due to better OpenCL performance(a 7970 smokes a titan in that area for example).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-09-13, 05:16 AM
Tex Lomar's Avatar
Tex Lomar Tex Lomar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 13
This E-ATX is only 2cm difference from ATX. I bet it will fit.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-09-13, 05:19 AM
garih garih is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chester, UK
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex Lomar View Post
E-ATX is only 2mm difference from ATX. I bet it will fit.
are you sure?

the sniper 5 is 2cm (20mm) wider than standard atx
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-09-13, 05:21 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,778
2mm? More like around an inch or more depending on motherboard. I bet it won't.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-09-13, 05:36 AM
garih garih is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chester, UK
Posts: 923



ttl talking about a bigger mobo fitting in this case, so it looks promising for you. approx 8:10 in the vid
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:04 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.