Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-06-15, 10:04 AM
Ulijin Ulijin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 94
2011 Haswell-E upgrade advice

Hi Guys,

I'm planning on upgrading my rig to 2011 Haswell-E. I'm doing video rendering and photo stuff a lot more than I used to.

Anyway I've been out of the game for a while so my component knowledge is pretty rusty and I need your expert help please!

I plan on buying the following:

This one I'm most unsure on!
Ram: Corsair Vengeance® LPX 32GB [4x8GB] DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz C15 Memory Kit - Black (CMK32GX4M4A2666C15)
x2 as I want 64GB total

These I'm almost set on...
CPU: 5930K
Mobo: Sabertooth X99
SSD: Samsung SM951 512GB

If anyone has any advice / corrections / suggestions please share!

The rest of my rig is 2 original Geforce Titans and a Corsair AX860 PSU

Thanks!
Ulijin.

__________________
Watercooled - i7 3770k @ 4.5 - 2x SLI EVGA TITAN SC'd - MSI Z77 MPOWER - 16GB CORSAIR VENGANCE LP - CORSAIR AX850 PSU - CORSAIR FORCE GT SSD - Switch 810 - LG BLUERAY CUP HOLDER...

Rig Gallery:
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=55766
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-06-15, 04:22 AM
PCgamingnoob PCgamingnoob is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 37
You know the 5820K and 5930K are identical save for a difference of 12 PCIE lanes right?

You definitely don't sound like you need the higher tier chip. Save yourself the $250 for something else like a better SSD.

Which motherboards are you looking at?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-06-15, 06:28 AM
Asperatis's Avatar
Asperatis Asperatis is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Belgium
Posts: 370
Corsair also has a 64GB DDR4 kit:
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=8&subcat=1390

It's 2400MHz instead of 2666MHz though, but I reckon a single kit outweighs this
__________________
~Nyssa~
900D - Rampage V Extreme - 5930K - 32GB Corsair 2666 DDR4 - Titan X SLI - Xonar Phoebus - AX860i - Samsung 950 Pro 512GB - Samsung 850 PRO 256GB - 1x 2TB WD Red - Custom Acrylic Loop
Build Log
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-06-15, 06:37 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asperatis View Post
Corsair also has a 64GB DDR4 kit:
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=8&subcat=1390

It's 2400MHz instead of 2666MHz though, but I reckon a single kit outweighs this
Can't you manually change the speed of it in the BIOS though?...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-06-15, 06:50 AM
Ulijin Ulijin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asperatis View Post
Corsair also has a 64GB DDR4 kit:
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=8&subcat=1390

It's 2400MHz instead of 2666MHz though, but I reckon a single kit outweighs this
Hi Asperatis,

Thanks for the response. I spotted that kit. I'm only aiming for 64GB but you'd be right if I thought I would want to go to 128GB in the future before replacing this build.

I tend not to buy single kits anymore, always 2 identical kits and I'll explain why.

It could be just me but I've had 1 dimm (out of however many) go bad in my last 3 builds. Not straight away, but over time this seems to happen to me.

Corsair have a great RMA policy with one exception, whenever I've wanted to replace the 1 bad dimm they've insisted on me sending back the whole kit I purchased. This is fine if you've got extra RAM lying around which I sometimes do, but it's much easier to just remove half your ram and still have a working PC.

Why I always seem to have RAM issues I've no idea... I buy decent Mobos and PSUs. I don't vacuum my PC or introduce static. I've had my last 3 builds in 3 different locations hooked up to different sockets in my place. It remains a mystery, but I've learned to attempt to cater for this curse

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCgamingnoob View Post
You know the 5820K and 5930K are identical save for a difference of 12 PCIE lanes right?

You definitely don't sound like you need the higher tier chip. Save yourself the $250 for something else like a better SSD.

Which motherboards are you looking at?
Hi PCgamingnoob,

The SSD is around the fastest on the market at the moment and will be using PCIE lanes along with SLI cards. Hence stumping for the 5930K. I'm not particularily price sensitive, but thanks for the advice.

Motherboard was in my original post X99 Sabertooth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Hey Ulijin, a tip for you... I recommend you use the multiquote () instead of double posting, or you'll have angry mods after you



If only everyone could be like you
Thanks for the good advice! I'd forgotten that...


Cheers,
Ulijin.
__________________
Watercooled - i7 3770k @ 4.5 - 2x SLI EVGA TITAN SC'd - MSI Z77 MPOWER - 16GB CORSAIR VENGANCE LP - CORSAIR AX850 PSU - CORSAIR FORCE GT SSD - Switch 810 - LG BLUERAY CUP HOLDER...

Rig Gallery:
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=55766
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-06-15, 06:58 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 5,276
Hey Ulijin, a tip for you... I recommend you use the multiquote () instead of double posting, or you'll have angry mods after you

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulijin View Post
I'm not particularily price sensitive, but thanks for the advice.
If only everyone could be like you
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-06-15, 07:47 AM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,341
Have you checked the Crucial BallistiX DDR4 modules? They have that military look to match the sabertooth
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-06-15, 02:23 PM
Ulijin Ulijin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
Have you checked the Crucial BallistiX DDR4 modules? They have that military look to match the sabertooth
They do look good! I'm quite partial to the Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 kit also having looked a bit more...

decisions decisions ;-)
__________________
Watercooled - i7 3770k @ 4.5 - 2x SLI EVGA TITAN SC'd - MSI Z77 MPOWER - 16GB CORSAIR VENGANCE LP - CORSAIR AX850 PSU - CORSAIR FORCE GT SSD - Switch 810 - LG BLUERAY CUP HOLDER...

Rig Gallery:
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=55766
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.