Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-06-19, 01:29 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,681
Ryzen 3 128GB Ram

Will this be possible ?
What's are the current cheapest options ?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-06-19, 01:52 PM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,964
A fair few X570 boards have 128GB support listed but it might not be all of them. Don't think any X470 or lower boards supported more than 64GB. But you'd need a pretty expensive 4x32GB set, maybe 2x64GB will be supported but I doubt it'd be cheaper.

Wouldn't be that much more to consider a Threadripper solution with 8x16GB sticks and a 1900X but still abit more.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-06-19, 02:30 PM
cooperman's Avatar
cooperman cooperman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK/west-mids
Posts: 812
Why do you need 128gbs of ram with a lowend processor?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 2600,Patriot Viper 4 16GB 2x 8GB 3200 Ghz,Gigabyte B450M DS3H,Patriot BURST 480GB SSD x2, MSI 5700, Aerocool White Aero One Mini Eclipse, seasonic m12ii 620w,Deepcool gammaxx 400 v2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-06-19, 02:44 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,681
Currently got the 9900k with 64gb 3000mhz (4x16) but my VM's (Cisco Call Manager cluster, Polycom Realpresence cluster, pfsense high availability cluster) are eating away at the ram.. I'm defo gonna upgrade to Ryzen 3 16 core but only if I have a 128gb option. So i'm trying to figure out what is my cheapest option is going to be. I know Ryzen cpu's support server ram but cant find any 32gb with 3000mhz+ speeds.
__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-06-19, 04:14 PM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,964
You'll get twice the bandwidth from a Threadripper setup and it's looking like the X570 motherboards will be in the same price ballpark as current TR boards, while you'd save a couple hundred £'s using 8x16GB vs 4x32GB, definitely worth considering for your use case I'd say. It's just a question of whether there will be 16c Ryzen 3 Threadrippers(Personally I think there will be because it's all of these high IO use cases where the TR platform really shines).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-06-19, 05:17 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,681
I really don't want the high end platform though, and with regards to bandwidth I don't need it, my vm's are not CPU or bandwidth hungry but they do use a lot of memory . I saw these Samsung 32gb sticks less than 200e, may be they will be compatible with x570 https://www.avadirect.com/32GB-M378A...oduct/12763278
__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-06-19, 01:19 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,429
You are confusing peeps I think by saying Ryzen 3 when you're actually wanting a Ryzen 9 16 core maybe change the title to Ryzen 3000
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 3700X=MSI Prestige X570 Creation=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= Sapphire RX5700XT Nitro Plus=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=Roccat AIMO 122=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Roccat Kone AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Razer Firefly RGB CE=Chasepower Pure Sinewave UPS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-06-19, 09:10 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post
You are confusing peeps I think by saying Ryzen 3 when you're actually wanting a Ryzen 9 16 core maybe change the title to Ryzen 3000
Isn't the 16 core a Ryzen 3 part ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-06-19, 09:15 AM
cooperman's Avatar
cooperman cooperman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK/west-mids
Posts: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Isn't the 16 core a Ryzen 3 part ?

Put ryzen 3 in to google you will get apu's show up.

ZEN 3 = 4 core APU
ZEN 5 = 6 core cpu's
ZEN 7 = 8 core cpu's
ZEN 9 = 12/16 core cpu's
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 2600,Patriot Viper 4 16GB 2x 8GB 3200 Ghz,Gigabyte B450M DS3H,Patriot BURST 480GB SSD x2, MSI 5700, Aerocool White Aero One Mini Eclipse, seasonic m12ii 620w,Deepcool gammaxx 400 v2.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-06-19, 09:54 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,681
So 16 core is Ryzen 3rd gen, Asus mentions that the Pro WS X570-ACE is compatible with 128gb Un-buffered. Is this ram Un-buffered : https://www.avadirect.com/32GB-M378A...oduct/12763278

https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Pr...pecifications/
Memory
3rd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Processors
4 x DIMM, Max. 128GB, DDR4 MHz Un-buffered Memory *
2nd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Processors
4 x DIMM, Max. 128GB, DDR4 MHz Un-buffered Memory
2nd and 1st Gen AMD Ryzen™ with Radeon™ Vega Graphics Processors
4 x DIMM, Max. 128GB, DDR4 MHz Un-buffered Memory
Dual Channel Memory Architecture
ECC Memory (ECC mode) support varies by CPU.
* Refer to www.asus.com for the Memory QVL (Qualified Vendors Lists).
* The maximum memory capacity supported vary depending on the CPU you installed.
__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.