Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #31  
Old 18-01-09, 08:10 PM
MistaHazeX MistaHazeX is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
anyone have an answer to question above please?

Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 18-01-09, 08:29 PM
MistaHazeX MistaHazeX is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Socket 775 2.40 GHz 8MB Cache 1066MHz FSB Quad Core - GO Stepping

Asus P5Q-E iP45 S 775 PCI-E 2.0 (x16) DDR2 1066/1200/800 MHz SATA II SATA RAID ATX Motherboard

Coolermaster 650W Extreme Power Duo PSU -

XFX 512MB 9600GT PCI-E 2.0 (x16) 1800MHz GDDR3 GPU 670MHz 64 Cores 2xDL DVI-I/ HDTV Graphics Card

Corsair® 4GB DDR2 XMS2-6400C5 (800Mhz) TwinX (2x2G Unbuffered 5-5-5-18

500GB Seagate ST3500320AS Barracuda 7200.11 SATA II 7200 rpm 32MB Cache 8.5 ms NCQ Hard Drive

Samsung SH-S223F 22X Dual Layer DVD±RW Black Sata Retail Box

Lian Li PC-007FB Aluminium Black Case 25cm Fan (No PSU)

ok thats the newest put 2gether i think it might be final aswell unless u all got somethink better? lol total comes to £560-£580 depending were i get things from.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 19-01-09, 11:19 AM
GavX GavX is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 778
Well the thing is the 4mb cache on the 8200 will probably be faster than the 6mb on the 6600, and it runs cooler and more power efficient, I say go for it, the Q6600 I think is old hat now, sure it overclocks well, but I would get a newer quad myself (I saw some test once, very impressive, someone reduced most modern CPUs to 2Ghz, only different beingt FSB and cache, amazing seeing the difference between the E2140 and E8600 when just based on cache and FSB )

For graphics, if you are not gaming just get something like a 4670. Doesn't use alot of power, can keep pace with a 9600GSO and the PowerColor version is very quiet
__________________
Fail Hard, Fail Often!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 19-01-09, 06:48 PM
MistaHazeX MistaHazeX is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
ok cool i would love to get a newer quad but i just cant afford one otherwise id be straight in there lol
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 19-01-09, 06:51 PM
MistaHazeX MistaHazeX is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
i have always preferred nvidia but i have a ati radeon in me laptop and its not to bad so i may change over to save a few pennys as i dont do an awful lot of gaming maybe hardly any but do other things that dont require the strength that games do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:11 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.