Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-07-13, 04:45 AM
Renegade726 Renegade726 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 7
First time build

Hello, I am new to building pc but have a good knowledge of electronics.

Build:
Mb: Rampage IV formula
Mem: Mushkin redline 32gb cl8 1600mhz
cpu: i7-3930k
hdd: WD velocirator 1tb (x4)
ssd: A-Data ASX900S3-512GM-C
grph: asus 780
case: BitFenix Shinobi Window XL (Black)
psu: cosair ax1200i
heatsink: swifttech h220

I am open for any improvements that could be made to the build.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-13, 05:06 AM
Mystery512 Mystery512 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
I would drop the wattage on the PSU. Tom runs his rig with a 3970x and 2 7970s on either an ax760i or 860i. Other than that it looks to be a nice rig you're going to have.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-13, 07:37 AM
remember300 remember300 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dagenham
Posts: 2,292
you might also not need 32 gb, i have 16 which was more than enough for anything i needed Also are you going to raid set up your HDD's?. I agree with mystery, you dont need that kind of power needed. But most of all enjoy the build hope to see lots of pics
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-13, 10:44 AM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Yup agreed,

By the looks of it (mainly looking at the CPU) I'm guessing that you want to use this rig for editing/rendering? If so, I'd go for some faster RAM like 1866 or 2133. As said before you could easily get away with 16GB unless you plan to use RAMDisc.

If the build is not for editing, but purely for gaming, you might want to switch to socket 1150. The games nowadays don't use the extra cores, and even a 3930k or 4770k don't have much of a performance increase over a simple Haswell i5 CPU in gaming. You could save yourself a lot of money there if you don't edit/render.

Lastly, having drives that quick can be useful, but also very hot and loud. What are you using the drives for? If they're just for mass storage (pictures, movies, etc.) you won't need drives that quick and you could easily get away with a WD Caviar Black, Blue or even Green.

Don't forget to post a build log and rig gallery
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-13, 12:21 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,638
Gotta agree with whats been said here and the H100i is better than the swifttech if I'm correct so enjoy your build
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 5950X=MSI Prestige X570 Creation=1TB Samsung 980 Pro=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= MSI RTX 3080 Gaming X Trio=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=Roccat AIMO 122=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Crucial MX500 1TB=Roccat Kone AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=MSI Agility GD60 RGB Mousepad=Chasepower Pure Sinewave UPS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-13, 05:20 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,970
By dropping down to 1150, the psu to 750watts, and 16gb ram(8 would be better) you could get away with a big ssd and custom watercooling and probably break even with what you have now as a budget but a much better rig.

H100i IMO is = to a H220 despite Toms test. Other reviews have had all different results. Only downfall is that it's more expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-13, 05:40 PM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
H100i IMO is = to a H220 despite Toms test. Other reviews have had all different results. Only downfall is that it's more expensive.
and can only be mounted in a pull config or push/pull, never push. the built-in
reservoir needs the fan backspacing to mount correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-13, 06:17 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by airdeano View Post
and can only be mounted in a pull config or push/pull, never push. the built-in
reservoir needs the fan backspacing to mount correctly.
Push or pull doesn't matter much temps wise anyway and in pull the rad would be easier to clean. I don't really see a problem with it
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-13, 07:22 PM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,900
tbh, i'd rather look at a fan blade than the fin array of a radiator (just my take on it)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-07-13, 07:35 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by airdeano View Post
tbh, i'd rather look at a fan blade than the fin array of a radiator (just my take on it)
What do you mean?
'What fan is on the rad matters more than how dense the radiator is'?
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.