OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Screens and Displays (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   3070 + lg gx oled + cable hdmi 2.1 (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=96851)

FTLN 23-05-21 08:13 AM

3070 + lg gx oled + cable hdmi 2.1
 
Morning All, been a busy few months for me moving apartment.

Anyway, all settled in now and to treat myself I bought myself a 65" LG GX OLED which is MEGA !!

I got a couple of 10m HDMI 2.1 cable but no matter what I play I get audio cut outs whilst playing on the LG OLED and even though 3840x2160x120hz appears in the display settings of windows and NVidia control panel whenever I select it it falls back to 3840x2160x60hz, Gsync is enabled in the NVidia control panel (tried disabling Gysnc but still same issue).



Has anybody got any experience with playing 4K high refresh rate with Gsync (VRR) ?

Maybe somebody can advise me on a HDMI 2.1 cable to buy that is 100% guaranteed to work with my Nvidia 3070?

Have a nice Sunday :)

scubasteve 23-05-21 08:40 AM

nice tv that just got my LG oled as well and trying to sort out the settings its also getting me a bit baffed, but from what i understand is that 3840x2160x120hz automatically pops up when you go in game mode and drops back to 60hz when you viewing tv/movies
well that is what i have observed so far im pretty sure i having got the settings all figured out only got it a couple days ago



also on my second monitor the tasks bar is not right the tabs are soooo long lol - 4 tabs open takes up the whole task bar :wacko:

NeverBackDown 23-05-21 09:01 AM

Is your input on the TV using a PC input? Pretty sure they require that for PC to work properly. Consoles just need game mode I believe.

KingNosser 23-05-21 09:27 AM

I've experienced this issue with audio on TV's your picture will be fine but your audio will constantly drop out, the reason is the PC audio is a different type to a tv audio and it's a higher freaquency or bandwidth so the hdmi cable cant handle the signal.

Invest in a Firestick 4k and install steam link onto it or buy a steamlink and that way when it passes through the software it will send the correct signal to the TV and if your TV is arc then it will go into the surround sound correctly, it's the only work around i've found for the issue unless you output the sound directly to an audio set up and just send the picture to the TV, the steamlink is a very handy solution to that issue and you can use it across all launchers as steam link just displays and sends audio it's not limited to steam alone.

As for the gsync issue or resolution i'm less sure it depends on the TV but the steam link would solve that as well, the firestick works really well and far better if though your router, if wifi 5ghz is best.

WYP 23-05-21 09:48 AM

Long HDMI cables can be very temperamental, and sadly HDMI cable listing love to lie about things.

I had similar problems with HDMI 2.0 a few years back with some long cables. Does 4K 120Hz work with shorter cables?

scubasteve 23-05-21 09:56 AM

no problem with audio my end if you have that try swapping out hdmi for another just for a test is does not even have to be a 4k one, even the hdmi port on the tv only just to be able to tick them of the list since it would take 2 min



pull the system closer obviously and try that see what happens

FTLN 23-05-21 09:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scubasteve (Post 1033616)
nice tv that just got my LG oled as well and trying to sort out the settings its also getting me a bit baffed, but from what i understand is that 3840x2160x120hz automatically pops up when you go in game mode and drops back to 60hz when you viewing tv/movies
well that is what i have observed so far im pretty sure i having got the settings all figured out only got it a couple days ago



also on my second monitor the tasks bar is not right the tabs are soooo long lol - 4 tabs open takes up the whole task bar :wacko:

Saw your post, hoping you would chime in :) Let me know your findings as you settle in with it..

Quote:

Originally Posted by KingNosser (Post 1033618)
IAs for the gsync issue or resolution i'm less sure it depends on the TV but the steam link would solve that as well, the firestick works really well and far better if though your router, if wifi 5ghz is best.

Sucks to buy a Steam Link, I already got the latest Nvidia Shield and game streaming sucks, to much lag. Shouldnt HDMI 2.1 have enough bandwidth ? Is there maybe a way to send correct audio format ?

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeverBackDown (Post 1033617)
Is your input on the TV using a PC input? Pretty sure they require that for PC to work properly. Consoles just need game mode I believe.

No PC input on these models, You can change the name of the source to PC but thats just esthetic. Game mode on the tv comes on when I start a game, so games are getting detected and play great, just the god damb sound cutting in and out all the time which is horrid :(

scubasteve 23-05-21 10:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WYP (Post 1033619)
Long HDMI cables can be very temperamental, and sadly HDMI cable listing love to lie about things.


this is the exact reason instead of getting mine online even tho i do have 2-3 extra different ones at home, i went to local shop made sure to as if they were true 4-8k and advertised on the box just so i can return them quick and easy if they didn't do what they said

NeverBackDown 23-05-21 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTLN (Post 1033621)
No PC input on these models, You can change the name of the source to PC but thats just esthetic. Game mode on the tv comes on when I start a game, so games are getting detected and play great, just the god damb sound cutting in and out all the time which is horrid :(

Like most modern TVs and including all LG OLED ones, PC input allows proper 4:4:4 chroma subsampling and lower input lag. For this tv in particular you need it labeled as PC in order to get proper 4:4:4 at 4k 120hz and any resolution at 60hz when connected to a PC.

You just likely need to reapply settings as it changes back to defaults in PC mode. It is not just an aesthetic change.

The GX is basically a CX. They offer only different screen sizes afaik. Everything else is equal. So any information for the CX can be applied to the GX if you can't find something for GX. CX is just more popular so usually easier to find information for that.

FTLN 23-05-21 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeverBackDown (Post 1033626)
Like most modern TVs and including all LG OLED ones, PC input allows proper 4:4:4 chroma subsampling and lower input lag. For this tv in particular you need it labeled as PC in order to get proper 4:4:4 at 4k 120hz and any resolution at 60hz when connected to a PC.

You just likely need to reapply settings as it changes back to defaults in PC mode. It is not just an aesthetic change.

The GX is basically a CX. They offer only different screen sizes afaik. Everything else is equal. So any information for the CX can be applied to the GX if you can't find something for GX. CX is just more popular so usually easier to find information for that.

Don't understand why you say I need to rename it the HDMI input to "PC" , this is definitely just for convenience purposes and has no impact on how the handshake occurs between devices, unless you have a link with some evidence to back this up? I also just tried this and it makes no difference.

One thing I noticed is that all the supported resolutions are there in the nvidia control panel, its just when I select the 4K 120hz I get black screen for a few seconds and then it falls back to 4k 60hz.

Also, when the OLED detects the PC I get a popup asking to enable HDMI ultra bandwidth on the input where PC is connected, whenever I enable this I just get black screen, have to restart PC and OLED.

Requested a return to amazon for both cables and have ordered another https://www.cablematters.com/pc-1329...mi-cable.aspx# this one seems to be active with usb connecter for additional powerand the Cable Matters website seems to have to pretty good explications about HDMI 2.1 and how to use with RTX cards.

Quote:

Originally Posted by scubasteve (Post 1033622)
this is the exact reason instead of getting mine online even tho i do have 2-3 extra different ones at home, i went to local shop made sure to as if they were true 4-8k and advertised on the box just so i can return then quick and easy if they didn't do what they said

If the third cable from Amazon fails, then I will go to the AV shop where I got the TV and buy one of their cables, but they want 450 euros for a 8 meter length and it isn't even certified.

NeverBackDown 24-05-21 02:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTLN (Post 1033632)
Don't understand why you say I need to rename it the HDMI input to "PC" , this is definitely just for convenience purposes and has no impact on how the handshake occurs between devices, unless you have a link with some evidence to back this up? I also just tried this and it makes no difference.

One thing I noticed is that all the supported resolutions are there in the nvidia control panel, its just when I select the 4K 120hz I get black screen for a few seconds and then it falls back to 4k 60hz.

Also, when the OLED detects the PC I get a popup asking to enable HDMI ultra bandwidth on the input where PC is connected, whenever I enable this I just get black screen, have to restart PC and OLED.

Requested a return to amazon for both cables and have ordered another https://www.cablematters.com/pc-1329...mi-cable.aspx# this one seems to be active with usb connecter for additional powerand the Cable Matters website seems to have to pretty good explications about HDMI 2.1 and how to use with RTX cards.



If the third cable from Amazon fails, then I will go to the AV shop where I got the TV and buy one of their cables, but they want 450 euros for a 8 meter length and it isn't even certified.

Evidence to back it up? It's been a thing for tvs for years. You can just read reviews and it'll say it. Go to Rtings.com and find it if it's such an unbelievable thing. It's even in the manual, changing to a PC input optimizes the experience and it affects resolution and refresh rate. If you think it's only for convenience then fine. The TV handles PC different than regular non PC because of windows and how it renders things. I've had to do this on multiple LG, Samsung, and Sony TVs. Only way it would be different for you is if they have Regional differences in software. No idea why they would.

You're asking for help and I'm just giving the most basic troubleshooting as a starting point. It's troubleshooting for a reason. It could be something else but why jump to conclusions when not ruling out basic first steps? Keeps things on a logical path of troubleshooting so you aren't jumping all over the place.

I'm not sure what other tips to give as this should at least fix some issues related to your situation. Maybe a recent Nvidia GPU drivers messed things up. There was a problem before. I'd try updating your LG firmware to the latest version. If that doesn't help could be driver or hardware related. That's about all I got.

scubasteve 24-05-21 06:31 AM

ok wait before you actually buy more hdmi's and have a draw full of them go into settings- system- displays - scroll down go to advanced display settings and change it to 120 hz ....


after when you go into the nvida control panel you will have the option to scroll under pc not ultra hd click apply and it will stay at 120hz even tho its not what i prefer since it makes the screen go darker than i like



so if you dont change it in the system settings it wont stick in the nvida control panel

is this what was the problem or did i misunderstand ?:huh: -- which i do very often:D


https://i.imgur.com/O2jcrIy.png

scubasteve 24-05-21 06:54 AM

All i think NBD is saying is just edit out the hdmi ports on the tv, like me i have mine set up as so



https://i.imgur.com/OVB7g71.jpg


and you can rename them pretty much anything, also theres a list already in the tv



https://i.imgur.com/UHBztW8.jpg

Warchild 24-05-21 07:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTLN (Post 1033615)
Morning All, been a busy few months for me moving apartment.

Anyway, all settled in now and to treat myself I bought myself a 65" LG GX OLED which is MEGA !!

I got a couple of 10m HDMI 2.1 cable but no matter what I play I get audio cut outs whilst playing on the LG OLED and even though 3840x2160x120hz appears in the display settings of windows and NVidia control panel whenever I select it it falls back to 3840x2160x60hz, Gsync is enabled in the NVidia control panel (tried disabling Gysnc but still same issue).



Has anybody got any experience with playing 4K high refresh rate with Gsync (VRR) ?

Maybe somebody can advise me on a HDMI 2.1 cable to buy that is 100% guaranteed to work with my Nvidia 3070?

Have a nice Sunday :)

I had that because the cable was too long.

russler 24-05-21 10:02 AM

I use this cable with my oled (bx) and 3080 ive had no problems whatso ever

https://smile.amazon.co.uk/gp/produc...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

havnt renamed the hdmi to pc or what ever. not using the hdmi for audio tho as it has a sound bar plugged. hope you sort it man.

ive got the 3m one which is probably gunna be way too short but i can say for sure if works might be worth snagging one as a tester cable

FTLN 24-05-21 05:36 PM

I think issue is definitely the cables I am using and the fact that I need a 8 meter cable from PC through the wall conduit and up to the TV on the other side of the living room.

New one should be here before end of week, lots of good reviews on forums for this 8m length: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.cablematters.com/images/...29_1_black.jpg

looz 24-05-21 10:49 PM

The signal integrity requirements on modern display cables are pretty hefty, to a point that next step could be optical cables for high end purposes...


Same physics apply as with CAT cabling, so in situations where it cuts out occasionally, but you can initially set the full quality, make sure that you're not running the cable near AC power cables. I can't remember the spec off the top of my head, but with unshielded cat cabling the required distance for runs was in the ballpark of 15-30cm.

FTLN 27-05-21 07:56 PM

Hi all,

7.6 meter HDMI cable came through today: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...0?ie=UTF8&th=1

Plugged it in and without doing anything else on PC or on TV I'm getting 120hz on my TV.

No drops on the sound and perfect image with Gsync enabled.

I also set in Nvidia control panel:

https://i.imgur.com/j8EcBs9.png

WYP 27-05-21 08:14 PM

I'm glad that you got things working.

scubasteve 27-05-21 09:49 PM

ahh brilliant is the reason i cannot get the RBG and full output dynamic range cos i need a 20 and above series card ? cos i cannot even see the G-sync tab in my nvidia control panel ... :huh:

FTLN 28-05-21 07:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scubasteve (Post 1033729)
ahh brilliant is the reason i cannot get the RBG and full output dynamic range cos i need a 20 and above series card ? cos i cannot even see the G-sync tab in my nvidia control panel ... :huh:

GeForce RTX or GeForce GTX 16-Series GPU according to Nvidia: https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce...available-now/

scubasteve 28-05-21 05:42 PM

the tv is spanking its their flagship model the G1 it has that already and its activated



https://i.imgur.com/zwV1WAk.png


it just not in the nvidia control panel where its ment to be , latest drivers -fresh installs and all



https://i.imgur.com/qjdBwtc.png


ohh yer its a 1070ti - which when i looked up says that it i see the g-sync tab in the control panel but not mine :eek:


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.