Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-01-17, 03:44 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,317
Vega GPU pictured at CES 2017

An AMD Vega GPU has been pictured at CES 2017, confirming that the GPU has two HBM memory stacks and a die size of over 500mm˛



Read more on AMD's Vega 10 GPU.

__________________
I survived 2016.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-17, 06:37 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Actually.. I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 11,067
That thing is huge! Not the actual die, but the interposer.
I am now 100% confident I was right with 16GB Vega GPU as the top end model
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-17, 06:57 PM
Tripp's Avatar
Tripp Tripp is online now
too many shrooms
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: mersyside
Posts: 3,763
I find it really interesting, how both GPU companies are keeping there cards (pun intended) close to there chest. I mean Nvidia haven't spoke about or shown a 1080ti (we all know it's coming), and AMD have been keeping Vega very hush hush too
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-17, 07:17 PM
Xploited Titan Xploited Titan is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brussels
Posts: 77
I'm positively thrilled by this. Might be my first red card ever! ^^

Started with a riva 128zx > geforce 260 gtx > geforce 970 gtx.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-17, 07:52 PM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp View Post
I find it really interesting, how both GPU companies are keeping there cards (pun intended) close to there chest. I mean Nvidia haven't spoke about or shown a 1080ti (we all know it's coming), and AMD have been keeping Vega very hush hush too
Got to wonder if the 1080ti is depending on how good Vega is and Nvidia are waiting to see when it's released what they need to do to have a top GPU
__________________
CASE: Define R5
CPU: INTEL 2500K H100i GTX
MB: ASUS P8P67 DELUXE
RAM: 2x 8GB Mushkin Enhanced BlackLine Frostbyte
GPU: R9 270
OS: OCZ VERTEX4 128GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-17, 07:57 PM
Tripp's Avatar
Tripp Tripp is online now
too many shrooms
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: mersyside
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenback View Post
Got to wonder if the 1080ti is depending on how good Vega is and Nvidia are waiting to see when it's released what they need to do to have a top GPU
That's exactly what I'm thinking to be honest
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-17, 08:03 PM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,583
Got to wonder what happens if Vega did beat the titan how would Nvidia respond could they make a titanxp ti

Ok b4 the people jump on me it's a wild out there idea and there's more chance you walking down the street and finding the winning lottery ticket 3 weeks in a row
__________________
CASE: Define R5
CPU: INTEL 2500K H100i GTX
MB: ASUS P8P67 DELUXE
RAM: 2x 8GB Mushkin Enhanced BlackLine Frostbyte
GPU: R9 270
OS: OCZ VERTEX4 128GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-17, 08:39 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5,045
Huge die, huge cost, huge chance of failure. All = $.

It was the interposer causing all sorts of issues with Fury.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-17, 08:52 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Actually.. I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 11,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Huge die, huge cost, huge chance of failure. All = $.

It was the interposer causing all sorts of issues with Fury.
No it was the cost of HBM.

Say the same thing about Nvidia
"Huge die, huge cost, huge chance of failure. All = $."
And this is smaller than Nvidias top chips.. Just sayin'
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-17, 09:10 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Huge die, huge cost, huge chance of failure. All = $.

It was the interposer causing all sorts of issues with Fury.
1. This die isn't as big as the Fury X
2. There are only two HBM2 dies, which is half of what the fury had, simplifying the design and reducing complex component placements on the interposer.
3. AMD have designed stuff on an interposer before and they can do it again.

AMD is literally the only company who are experienced in this type of design. Things are still early days and their current samples are likely no at their final clock speeds etc.

It is far too early to say how things will go with Vega but it is certainly not something that needs to be written off as a failure from the start.

Personally, I am hopeful about Vega, as it seems AMD are finally moving in the right direction architecture wise, focusing on more performance per GPU core and better resource management rather than throwing more GPU cores at the problem.
__________________
I survived 2016.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 03:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.