Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-07-16, 10:50 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,815
The GTX 1060 will reportedly come in 6GB and 3GB variants

The GTX 1060 will reportedly come in 6GB and 3GB variants, with some saying that the lower end 3GB version will not support SLI.



Read more on Nvidia's GTX 1060 GPU.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-16, 11:49 AM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,188
The graph hoho

120W, so maybe they can shove one into a notebook
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-16, 06:18 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushiro View Post
The graph hoho

120W, so maybe they can shove one into a notebook
I know. Nvidia have a huge habit of making there comparison graphs looks absoloutely one sided. It's hardly an increase, but they just make it so long.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-16, 08:29 PM
Damon.Jay Damon.Jay is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 4
VRAM is not exactly a hard limit, once a GPU uses up it's onboard memory it simply allocates resources from system memory. Admittedly, this will have a small impact on performance, but it's hardly a show stopper.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-16, 09:14 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damon.Jay View Post
VRAM is not exactly a hard limit, once a GPU uses up it's onboard memory it simply allocates resources from system memory. Admittedly, this will have a small impact on performance, but it's hardly a show stopper.
Are you sure about that? the last time I ran out of VRAM on a Geforce card it pooled from the paging file on my hard drive.

Savage input lag was the end result. (BF3 max detail on a GTX 470).
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-16, 09:41 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,575
Pretty sure if you run out of any system or Video memory, you page the Ssd/HDD and will always get less performance from that point
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-16, 05:13 AM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,188
The bandwidth would make anyone cry. Nowhere near fast enough for a good gaming experience. Go big or go home
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.