Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-08-09, 09:42 AM
PeterStoba PeterStoba is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,190
AMD "Cypress" Is Radeon 5850 & 5870

AMD has shown some more details of their upcoming DX11 graphics cards.

Continue Reading

__________________
Silverstone SG05B | i3 530 | Scythe Shuriken | DFI LanParty MI P55-T36 | 4GB Kingston HyperX 1333Mhz | XFX 5450 512MB | Samsung SN-T083C | Intel X25-V 40GB | Samsung F1 1TB

LGW2452TX-PF | Logitech G9 | Logitech G15 | Logitech Z5500

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-08-09, 02:14 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
Quote:
Designed for DirectCompute 5.0 and OpenCL
Any of that to do with AMD cpu specific benefits ?

No physX still, thought they were gonna license it.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-08-09, 02:59 PM
VonBlade's Avatar
VonBlade VonBlade is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Behind a keyboard
Posts: 1,198
I'll just be happy if they have a Nvidia style auto-detect running exe settings style thing as opposed to loading individual profiles in the control panel.

Damn the ATI drivers are good, but the control panel sucks big spherical objects.
__________________
All spit, no polish.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-08-09, 06:22 PM
Brooksie's Avatar
Brooksie Brooksie is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aldershot, England
Posts: 3,712
Interested in a 5870, but i'm gonna wait for some benchmarks against nVidia DX11.
__________________
3770k @ 4.5GHz | MSI Z77-GD65 |16GB Corsair Vengeance LP | MSI GTX670 Power Edition | Corsair AX850
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-08-09, 07:10 PM
Kerotan Kerotan is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 470
Quote:
ATI Eyefinity technology with support for up to three displays
Very, very interested in this. Always been put off by the prohibitive cost of Matrox TripleHead2Go, but this could be perfect for some Triple-Monitor FPS/FlightSim goodness. Only problem is I'd have to buy another 2 monitors!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-08-09, 09:43 PM
Bobalob Bobalob is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Cant wait till they come out!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-08-09, 03:34 PM
theelusiveyoda theelusiveyoda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Any of that to do with AMD cpu specific benefits ?

No physX still, thought they were gonna license it.
unlikley because ati owns havok which is used much more in games than physx and also because they want to push there own solutions.
__________________
Intel Q9450 @ 3.6ghz

Asus Rampage Formula X48

OCZ Reaper X HPC 1066MHZ

ATI 3870X2

1TB SAMSUNG F1

500GB SEAGATE BARACUDA

SILVERSTONE OLYMPIA 1000WATT PSU

Samsung SyncMaster 2233

Gigabyte 3D Aurora soon to be Lian Li V2100 with full wc setup
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-08-09, 03:52 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='theelusiveyoda'
unlikley because ati owns havok which is used much more in games than physx and also because they want to push there own solutions.
-cough- Havok is owned by Intel -cough-
__________________
Main System: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8Ghz, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz, Geforce GTX 560 Ti

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-08-09, 08:18 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='theelusiveyoda'
unlikley because ati owns havok which is used much more in games than physx and also because they want to push there own solutions.
Don't know if I got/played a single game with Havok in it. But I do know I have dozens of games with PhysX.

So I really don't know where "much more" comes from.

Saying that I think I might have 1, I'll have to check. If the game I'm thinking of does, it certainly doesn't promote the fact.

EDIT: I just checked and yes it's in CoH.

Amazing thing to me in this official list:

http://www.havok.com/content/blogcategory/29/73/

.. are the number of games that use Havok in console but not PC versions. Quite a few console games there.

Ofc, a 58xx is no good to ur console

EDIT2: And now for the eclipsing list of disclosed games using PhysX (it is also used in non-disclosed games):

http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_physxgames_home.html

These are supposed to be the hardware physx games... not quite sure what physx hardware the ipod has.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-08-09, 11:42 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,970
I tend to agree with theelusiveyoda on this. A lot more games have Havok. Physx is what I would call rare.

Oblvion?

Fallout?

The good thing about Havok (from a sales point of view) is that consoles can run it. Which means more game developers will choose it over Physx. Which ultimately means more Havok games.
__________________
Main System: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8Ghz, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz, Geforce GTX 560 Ti

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.