Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 29-11-16, 01:09 AM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by zan76 View Post
idle were 15/20c went up to 40c when stress test but was expecting 60/70c like the chip i had a few years but being doing some looking today on the old goggle and they appear to be at lot cooler.
Yeah, that would be likely due to the smaller more efficient die. I am currently using a 3570k and even that was better than my 2500k wen it came to heat.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30-11-16, 05:56 PM
zan76's Avatar
zan76 zan76 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 484
Send a message via Skype™ to zan76
Right been test for days and the overclock is good apart from i play games & alt tab on the desktop the mouse is very sluggish any thoughts should i have turn of intel speed step and that stuff like before
__________________
Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5.00GHz @1.35v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Hyper x 3000mhz 16GB -Corsair 115i- Nvidia GTX 1080 - Corsair Commander Pro -
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-12-16, 01:35 AM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by zan76 View Post
Right been test for days and the overclock is good apart from i play games & alt tab on the desktop the mouse is very sluggish any thoughts should i have turn of intel speed step and that stuff like before
There is no reason you need to turn off speedstep unless you are trying to achieve a crazy benchscore temporarily with an extremely high OC. What scores do you get on benchmarks like 3Dmark? What CPU scores? You could also be experiencing a memory issue if switching between things causes sluggishness.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-12-16, 02:20 AM
zan76's Avatar
zan76 zan76 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 484
Send a message via Skype™ to zan76
Quote:
Originally Posted by KING_OF_SAND View Post
There is no reason you need to turn off speedstep unless you are trying to achieve a crazy benchscore temporarily with an extremely high OC. What scores do you get on benchmarks like 3Dmark? What CPU scores? You could also be experiencing a memory issue if switching between things causes sluggishness.
reset everything back to default try for at 4.5 @ 1.3v only changed the voltage and the multiplier really losing the will to live reading all this stuff on the web, if i try to get 4.6/4.7 and run prime95 with cpuz i can see i'm getting down clocked wtf is going on just need help
__________________
Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5.00GHz @1.35v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Hyper x 3000mhz 16GB -Corsair 115i- Nvidia GTX 1080 - Corsair Commander Pro -
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-12-16, 02:41 AM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by zan76 View Post
reset everything back to default try for at 4.5 @ 1.3v only changed the voltage and the multiplier really losing the will to live reading all this stuff on the web, if i try to get 4.6/4.7 and run prime95 with cpuz i can see i'm getting down clocked wtf is going on just need help
What you described with downclocking normally indicates an unstable overclock. Do your voltages also drop when this happens? I take it this is not an issue with stock clocks?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-12-16, 02:46 AM
zan76's Avatar
zan76 zan76 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 484
Send a message via Skype™ to zan76
Quote:
Originally Posted by KING_OF_SAND View Post
What you described with downclocking normally indicates an unstable overclock. Do your voltages also drop when this happens? I take it this is not an issue with stock clocks?
No issue with stock clocks, voltage seems fine just getting down clocked tried playing with the voltage up to 1.38v with no luck
__________________
Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5.00GHz @1.35v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Hyper x 3000mhz 16GB -Corsair 115i- Nvidia GTX 1080 - Corsair Commander Pro -
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-12-16, 04:31 AM
zan76's Avatar
zan76 zan76 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 484
Send a message via Skype™ to zan76
Hoping to get your thoughts & advice on this guys i have a stable overclock at 4.4 with 1.35v but i try to get over that with 4.5 .46 .47 with the volts need and run prime95 & occt i can see that i'm getting downclocked under load my cores jump down to say 4.2 or 4.3 then jump backup again temps never go over 65c but i dont get downclocked on aida64 or realbench just prime95 & occt
__________________
Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5.00GHz @1.35v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Hyper x 3000mhz 16GB -Corsair 115i- Nvidia GTX 1080 - Corsair Commander Pro -
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-12-16, 09:24 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,243
Real overclockers leave Speedstep on, or so I am told.

I gotta admit, I have turned it off in the past (and do now with my 60w Xeon) but yeah, from what I have been told you should leave it on. I would imagine it would prolong the life of your CPU also.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-12-16, 01:49 PM
zan76's Avatar
zan76 zan76 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 484
Send a message via Skype™ to zan76
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Real overclockers leave Speedstep on, or so I am told.

I gotta admit, I have turned it off in the past (and do now with my 60w Xeon) but yeah, from what I have been told you should leave it on. I would imagine it would prolong the life of your CPU also.
Thats the thing i don't have it off speed step is on
__________________
Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5.00GHz @1.35v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Hyper x 3000mhz 16GB -Corsair 115i- Nvidia GTX 1080 - Corsair Commander Pro -
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.