Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-05-20, 03:46 AM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,954
3950x watercooling temperatures

Hi guys. i bit the bullet after my rampage usb slots died the other day and broke open the piggybank for an upgrade. so i got a 3950x and a msi prestige x570 creation because of the infinite amount of usb ports on the back. anyway. i have re used the exact same wc setup and fan setup as before. cpu loop is a 480 monsta with corsair 120ll fans. the gpu just as before is a 360 monsta with the same fans. both banks of fans are programmed to use the cpu temp as its fan profile and the gpu is sitting at 25 idle. this is normal. my 6900k would idle below 30 aswell. this 3950x is idling at 50 right now but has danced up to 60. at idle!!! so my fans are screaming at me. is the 3950x normally this offensively hot esppecially considering the size of the radiator. Regards

__________________
6900k, Evga RTX 2080 ti watercooled w/backplate
64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200, Rampage V Edition 10
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-05-20, 05:33 AM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,441
The first thing that comes to mind the thermal paste application. For AMD you can't use pea size in the middle method of applying the thermal paste. Focused heat isn't near the middle like it is with Intel. You should spread it across the whole IHS.
__________________
Turbos on an engine is God's way of telling you it ain't got enough cylinders.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-05-20, 01:15 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,213
Pic of it would help. Have you enabled PBO? what is your LLC setting?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-05-20, 01:39 PM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Pic of it would help. Have you enabled PBO? what is your LLC setting?
I havent faffed with anything in the bios yet so the memory is running xmp but other than that its factory settings. Im a complete noob with amd stuff.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-05-20, 02:04 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,213
Hmm it's a big block (should fit TR4 too) so I can't see it being off centre with the CPU and even if it were it should be fine. Dumb question but you did remove the protective vinyl off it right?

What is your RAM? like the speed? because it may have cranked your IFCLK which would make temps very high.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-05-20, 02:34 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,681
3950x idles with high temp, get used to it and dont compare to intel: https://www.google.com/search?client...high+idle+temp


What are your under load temps ?
__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-05-20, 09:09 PM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Hmm it's a big block (should fit TR4 too) so I can't see it being off centre with the CPU and even if it were it should be fine. Dumb question but you did remove the protective vinyl off it right?

What is your RAM? like the speed? because it may have cranked your IFCLK which would make temps very high.
Yea its a bykski am4 tr4 block the fins are larger than the IHS and the film was definitely removed. also the ram speed is 3200 (2*32gb corsair vengeance pro 2*lighting modules)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
3950x idles with high temp, get used to it and dont compare to intel: https://www.google.com/search?client...high+idle+temp


What are your under load temps ?
I ran a 20 loop time spy stress test and linked it below. Apart from the ram running at its rated 3200 the cpu is not overclocked and is running bone stock. I updated the BIOS and input a slightly more agressive fan profile that is barely audible at 40% up to 55c with a curve up to 100% at 85c and my pumps are running at about 40% so there is minimal pump noise. i have a couple of 140 exhaust fans that are set to 800 rpm as they start to make a bit more noise when the rpm gets close to 1000.
By the look of the chart I am peaking around 55 then dropping to around 44 which is strange because its idling between 40-50 as I type this. Ryzen has me thoroughly confuddled

http://www.3dmark.com/tsst/1091993
__________________
6900k, Evga RTX 2080 ti watercooled w/backplate
64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200, Rampage V Edition 10
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-05-20, 11:39 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,213
That's not right at all. I might know why too.

OK first up let me just say that my 3950x idles in the 30s to low 40s tops on a dual 120 AIO. It's not even an expensive AIO. It's Corsair's cheapest. Even with PBO on insane levels the CPU was only reaching mid 70s.

However, I do have a block near on identical to yours.



What I mean is it too is Byski, and is identical in design. I had two problems with it, that I strongly suspect Bart had with his too. However, I managed to sort it.

Firstly did it come with springs? it should have. I can not see if you have installed them due to the pic. Make sure you have.

Secondly, and THE biggest issue I had was that the bolt holes in the block itself were too small for the screws to go through them loosely as they should. Instead they were tight AF and were pulling the block up. Did you have this issue? It wasn't as bad on the slotted curved ones but the straight up round holes (on the right side in your pic) were a real sod.

I suspect the block is not on with enough pressure. And could be caused by either the springs missing or the fact that the screw posts are tight in the holes, not allowing the block to pull down tightly onto the IHS.

Edit. Mine is on a Threadripper (the block) I use an AIO on my R9 rig.

__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-05-20, 02:13 AM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,954
This is my second bykski block and the second time it has came with the wrong mounting hardware as shown in the instructions the screws were absolutely too short to have the included spring fitted. I dry tested the fitment first but its secure in position but i know exactly what you mean when you say about the tightness of the threads.
__________________
6900k, Evga RTX 2080 ti watercooled w/backplate
64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200, Rampage V Edition 10
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-05-20, 06:35 AM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,553
My 3950x idles at 30-45c.


Bios is basically set to default except for:


1: XMP so my ram runs at it's rated 3600Mhz


2: PBO is enabled although to be honest I am not sure what difference this makes as I am yet to see it boost to it's rated speed, it hits 4.3Ghz to 4.5Ghz at times on a single core but never gone above that.


3: Fan curves are set to ramp up to 100% at around 60c CPU temp, and Pump will ramp up to 100% at the same CPU temp.


This is on a Deepcool 360mm AIO with 6x EK Vardar 1850rpm fans in push/pull, inside a Fractal Define 7 XL with the open air top panel fitted and an average room temp of 25c.


I have seen the CPU hit 75c on this cooler when stressing the nuts of it, but normal use it's around 55c to 65c, running at around 4.1Ghz on all cores.
__________________
Gaming PC: AMD 3950X, 32GB Corsiar DDR4, MSI 2080Ti, WD Black 1TB NVME

Server PC: 2700x, 16GB Corsair DDR4, MSI GTX 1660Ti, Gigabyte 120Gb M.2, Crucial 240Gb SSD, WD Blue 500Gb SSD, 2x Seagate 6Tb HDD's

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.