Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #41  
Old 18-03-16, 11:31 PM
Dave2017 Dave2017 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Question Using x61 kracken with fan hub ?

HI

ill be using the noctis 450 with the x61 kracken for my 1st build, am I able to connect the x61 kracken to the fan hub then connect the fan hub to the cpu header on the motherboard ( ga-z170xp-sli) ?

I'm presuming by doing this I would be to moniter the temps from the x61 and the case temps from case fans using cam software ? also does the cam software allow me to moniter the gpu temps (gtx 980 ti) aswell or do I need to use the nivida software for that ?


many thanks in advance,looking forward to my 1st build

Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 19-03-16, 12:29 AM
realneil's Avatar
realneil realneil is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAVE2017 View Post
HI

ill be using the noctis 450 with the x61 kracken for my 1st build, am I able to connect the x61 kracken to the fan hub then connect the fan hub to the cpu header on the motherboard ( ga-z170xp-sli) ?

I'm presuming by doing this I would be to moniter the temps from the x61 and the case temps from case fans using cam software ? also does the cam software allow me to moniter the gpu temps (gtx 980 ti) aswell or do I need to use the nivida software for that ?
many thanks in advance,looking forward to my 1st build
The CAM Software displays temps for both of my GTX-980Ti cards.
It displays my Kraken's pump-speed and water temp, as well as CPU temps.

I'm using Noctua fans everywhere inside of my NZXT Source 540 case, (six 140mm and one 120mm) to include the Kraken's radiator.

As far as the NZXT fan hub in my case goes, I powered mine with my PSU to give it plenty of AMPs for my fans. Then I plugged everything into the hub.
This makes the fans all run at top speed, but the Noctua fans are quiet running anyways.
The Kraken's pump is plugged into the motherboard.

Overall temps are well under control. (both GPUs and i7-4770K CPU)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4770K and GTX-980Tis.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	115.2 KB
ID:	11304  
__________________


********************************************
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 19-03-16, 01:20 AM
Dave2017 Dave2017 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by realneil View Post
The CAM Software displays temps for both of my GTX-980Ti cards.
It displays my Kraken's pump-speed and water temp, as well as CPU temps.

I'm using Noctua fans everywhere inside of my NZXT Source 540 case, (six 140mm and one 120mm) to include the Kraken's radiator.

As far as the NZXT fan hub in my case goes, I powered mine with my PSU to give it plenty of AMPs for my fans. Then I plugged everything into the hub.
This makes the fans all run at top speed, but the Noctua fans are quiet running anyways.
The Kraken's pump is plugged into the motherboard.

Overall temps are well under control. (both GPUs and i7-4770K CPU)
thanks realneil for your reply,

you have a really nice build there, your setup is somewhat different to how I was planning mine. I wouldn't want the fans running 100%,just factory settings. so if I connected the x61 to the fan hub then the fan hub to the motherboard cpu fan header I would still be bale to see/moniter all temps through cam sofftare ? where does cam get the gpu temp from ?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 19-03-16, 01:42 AM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,188
The CAM software will get the GPU temps off the GPU same as any other software.
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 19-03-16, 01:48 AM
Dave2017 Dave2017 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
ok thank you
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 19-03-16, 02:18 AM
realneil's Avatar
realneil realneil is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 607
The proper way to connect the Kraken and its fans is to connect the Kraken's pump head to the motherboard's CPU fan header and the Kraken's fans to the fan connectors on the Kraken's pump head.
Then the Kraken 'knows' the fan speeds and can adjust them as necessary when things heat up.

To answer your question, there are multiple temp sensors on the motherboard, GPU, and other components that the CAM software can still access and display. So it will work.

Note that you cannot monitor and control speeds on multiple fans with one plug on your motherboard.
If you want to be able to control fan speeds, get a fan controller.
__________________


********************************************
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 19-03-16, 02:34 AM
Dave2017 Dave2017 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
hi realneil, thanks again for replying, so if I connect the kracken the correct way that you have mentioned, then connect all other components to the motherboard- gpu etc then cam will be able to monitor all component temps via motherboard ? I'm presuming if I need to adjust the gpu temp ill have to use the gpu software provided. also how would I adjust the case fan speed/temp if needed ?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 19-03-16, 02:50 AM
realneil's Avatar
realneil realneil is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 607
I assume that the motherboard has some three and four pin fan headers on it.
NOTE: I just checked and they're all four pin headers on your board.
The three pin headers can display fan speeds, but the four pin headers can display speeds ~and~ control them. (PWM = Pulse Width Modulation) You need fans with four wires on their plugs, or PWM fans, to get this speed control.

Any PWM connection on the motherboard will speed up the PWM fans connected to them when temps get higher. You can adjust these settings in BIOS.

Any three pin fan will connect to a four pin header and you can set a constant speed for each in BIOS.
__________________


********************************************
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 19-03-16, 04:33 PM
Dave2017 Dave2017 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
so I have found out that the nzxt noctis 450 fans must be the 4 pwm fans as they are pre connected to the 8 pwm fan hub on the side of the case.thus meaning I can connect the x61 to the fan hub, then the fan hub to the cpu fan header and will be able to control all fans except gpu I think through the cam software.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 19-03-16, 06:13 PM
realneil's Avatar
realneil realneil is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 607
CPU fan header cannot power a bunch of fans. I never use more than two at a time.
__________________


********************************************
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.