Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #10461  
Old 02-01-20, 07:51 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 13,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Honestly dude. Get Xbox game pass. There are so many good titles to download including this one.

I'm not keen on monthly subscriptions to be honest, I'd rather just buy a game outright as lately it takes me months to complete just a single game and by the time I complete it I'd have paid for the game 2-3 times over.

__________________
=AMD Ryzen 9 - 3950X @ 4.20GHz - AMD RX 5700XT @ 2100/1800=

Reply With Quote
  #10462  
Old 04-01-20, 12:10 PM
WillSK's Avatar
WillSK WillSK is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via Skype™ to WillSK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
I'm not keen on monthly subscriptions to be honest, I'd rather just buy a game outright as lately it takes me months to complete just a single game and by the time I complete it I'd have paid for the game 2-3 times over.
This is what puts me off too. I like to take my time with most games so the subscription model just doesn't work for me
__________________
My Rig : Fractal S2 Case, ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero, Ryzen 3800X, Corsair H115i Platinum, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 GAMING X TRIO, 32 Gb Team Pro Dark RAM 3200Mhz, Samsung 970 EVO SSD, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB SSD, Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
Reply With Quote
  #10463  
Old 04-01-20, 09:20 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,126
It has been one of those days where you get up and by mid day you're skint for a month.



I got this through a friend of a friend. The pink slip is the original receipt for £4500.





At first I wasn't sure I needed it, but shiny. Then after I bought it I found out that it's absolutely perfect for what I need. I have a TV audio signal split to a subwoofer and an amp with some speakers on. It sounds really nice, but the sub is really powerful. I've literally set the gains to 0 and it is fine in light music but anything like rap or dance it just shakes the entire flat. Which concerns me, as I don't want to upset any one. Movies are also a nightmare. The music is so bloody loud and the voices so low that I literally had to turn the sound up and down about 30 times when watching Control (it's about Joy Division). It's so bad I can't watch movies at night, as I don't want to be that guy who keeps people awake. However, this thing not only allows me to control the sub and amp dependently but also has a "night mode" where it increases voices by 15db and reduces bass by 10db and music.

Which is ideal. I hoped my TV would have a feature like that but nope. It also allows me to connect up my rear speakers and amp one day if I wish, as well as carrying a 192khz DAC.

Very happy. It'll look fantastic.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10464  
Old 05-01-20, 10:01 AM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,531
I got this 3866Mhz kit off the bay for £60

When it arrived I saw it was 4133Mhz sent in error, seller was happy for me to keep and it turns out to be samsung b-die.
Got it running at 3800 with tighter timings
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #10465  
Old 05-01-20, 10:26 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
It has been one of those days where you get up and by mid day you're skint for a month.
Lol, same here mate , been an expensive week!!
__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
  #10466  
Old 05-01-20, 11:27 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I wanted a 2700, but I couldn't find a single x470 or 570 board with enough USB to run all my stuff.

What exactly are you running, if a motherboard doesn't have enough USB ports lol?...
Reply With Quote
  #10467  
Old 05-01-20, 01:24 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 6,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Lol, same here mate , been an expensive week!!
Can't wait to see your build log. Some immense items going into that small case!
Reply With Quote
  #10468  
Old 05-01-20, 02:01 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
What exactly are you running, if a motherboard doesn't have enough USB ports lol?...
The case's electronics use two headers. Then there's the usb fp header,. The farbwerk, the aquaaero, the power adjust, the clock etc etc.

I needed three or four board headers to feed off to the hubs but all of the x470 and 570 boards only had two.

Hence sticking with HEDT at least for now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Lol, same here mate , been an expensive week!!
I wasn't going to buy ram ffs. Then I'm like "well 32gb will be future proof" which is reasonable. Then "the ram you have won't all work together as 32gb" which is correct.

Then I was going to buy some viper 3000 for £170 or so for 4x8gb but I found one dominator kit for £99 on eBay and the second set was on sale for £120 down from £159.

So £220. £70 more for better looking faster and overclocking RGB ram was good. Plus I hear that 3200 is about the limit for zen 1 so it's perfect really. Saves me a whole load of wiring too, as my existing RGB coolers on the ram are 4 pin.

But yeah, spendy lol. Still not done bad. £780 for a 12 core tr with board memory and water block. Less than the chip released at.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10469  
Old 05-01-20, 03:43 PM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,541
Dad needed a new GPU so as I am a good son, I gave him my 1080Ti and got an upgrade for myself.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0026.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	97.7 KB
ID:	12694  
__________________
Gaming PC: AMD 3950X, 32GB Corsiar DDR4, MSI 2080Ti, WD Black 1TB NVME

Server PC: 2700x, 16GB Corsair DDR4, MSI GTX 1660Ti, Gigabyte 120Gb M.2, Crucial 240Gb SSD, WD Blue 500Gb SSD, 2x Seagate 6Tb HDD's

Reply With Quote
  #10470  
Old 05-01-20, 03:54 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
The case's electronics use two headers. Then there's the usb fp header,. The farbwerk, the aquaaero, the power adjust, the clock etc etc.

I needed three or four board headers to feed off to the hubs but all of the x470 and 570 boards only had two.

Hence sticking with HEDT at least for now.



I wasn't going to buy ram ffs. Then I'm like "well 32gb will be future proof" which is reasonable. Then "the ram you have won't all work together as 32gb" which is correct.

Then I was going to buy some viper 3000 for £170 or so for 4x8gb but I found one dominator kit for £99 on eBay and the second set was on sale for £120 down from £159.

So £220. £70 more for better looking faster and overclocking RGB ram was good. Plus I hear that 3200 is about the limit for zen 1 so it's perfect really. Saves me a whole load of wiring too, as my existing RGB coolers on the ram are 4 pin.

But yeah, spendy lol. Still not done bad. £780 for a 12 core tr with board memory and water block. Less than the chip released at.
This is what you need when your missing internal USB headers: https://www.moddiy.com/products/USB-...ter-Board.html

__________________

https://valid.x86.fr/6w9bi0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.