Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-09-20, 12:44 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 18,710
Nvidia 16GB RTX 3070 Ti has been spotted inside Lenovo's Legion T7 system

An unannounced Nvidia Ampere graphics card?



Read more about Nvidia's rumoured 16GB RTX 3070 graphics card.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-20, 12:50 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,063
Thats got to be a typo error on Lenovo part. No way would Nvidia be providing this card to anyone at this time. They want the base 3070 sold first after all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-20, 01:01 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Thats got to be a typo error on Lenovo part. No way would Nvidia be providing this card to anyone at this time. They want the base 3070 sold first after all.
But the card makes sense. We know an 8GB limit may be a tough for laptops because people often keep them for 5 years. And even in the desktop space people are moaning about the 8GB limit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-20, 01:10 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
But the card makes sense. We know an 8GB limit may be a tough for laptops because people often keep them for 5 years. And even in the desktop space people are moaning about the 8GB limit.
Then this kind of leak is far worse for Nvidia than any leaks about the standard 3070,3080 and 3090 cards.

We have just been told that early adopters are about to get hard pressed and will instantly not have the latest and greatest.

I said it before. But I really like this industrial looking twin fan. Its a beautiful simple and elegant card. And decent priced too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-20, 01:20 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Then this kind of leak is far worse for Nvidia than any leaks about the standard 3070,3080 and 3090 cards.

We have just been told that early adopters are about to get hard pressed and will instantly not have the latest and greatest.

I said it before. But I really like this industrial looking twin fan. Its a beautiful simple and elegant card. And decent priced too.
Just because Ampere cards appear too good to be true they are not. At all.

They are just a pre emptive strike against the inevitable, the new consoles. Jen knows no one is going to pay three times what a console costs for a GPU that does the same thing. The 3080 costs more than both forthcoming consoles, and will achieve the same. 4k 60. He even mentioned this in the longer video I watched where he wasn't just taking things out of the oven and GPUs hid behind spatulas.

Sorry, but VRAM is VRAM. I learned that lesson with 4gb HBM. It doesn't matter how fast it is etc etc.

The actual cards he was planning to release? are the ones with the higher VRAM on them. They will come in after, for more money, once the plebs have pounced.



COD MW. Maxed out, 1440p, RT on etc. Shadows all maxed, and the new stuff they added. 9.5gb VRAM @ 1440p.

That is why you should not all get too excited at the 3070. Maybe at 1440p it will cut it for a while, but all of that "Much faster than the 2080Ti" is all nonsense when you run out of VRAM.

Nothing has changed but the model numbers. We are just back to Pascal is all.

1070 £400 odd, 3070 £400 odd. Only in all that time it has the same VRAM lmao.

3080 replaces the 1080Ti at the same price, 3090 is Titan money. Nothing has changed *at all* apart from the fact at least two new consoles (S was proven yesterday in code on the Xb1x) and that they will still be much cheaper than these GPUs.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-20, 01:31 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,063
just curious what you are bencmarking exactly. I just see the corner of a black screen?

and you seem to get 50fps more than any other review, including OC3D own benchmarks on the same settings.

https://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/..._pc_analysis/4
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-20, 02:24 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
just curious what you are bencmarking exactly. I just see the corner of a black screen?

and you seem to get 50fps more than any other review, including OC3D own benchmarks on the same settings.

https://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/..._pc_analysis/4
It's COD MW. Everything maxed, RT on etc. I even did a video of it with a min FPS of 138 but it seems it was deleted. It was running around 150 FPS without the overclock, that is with some of it.

The game installed a 20gb update before I played it, BTW, and there were new shadow options etc for me to use.

So, it's possible that either the game has improved since launch or something else but that is what I got.

The reason it's black is, you try taking a pic with your left hand whilst trying to control the game with your mouse. LOL.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-20, 02:35 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,919
And guess what, the game would run without issues with less VRAM. Allocating memory != needing memory.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 660p 1TB + MX500 2TB - HE-4XX w/ Topping D30+A30
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-09-20, 02:39 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
And guess what, the game would run without issues with less VRAM. Allocating memory != needing memory.
Guess what? that's the same crock that was sold to me when I bought a Fury X.

8gb is not going to be enough. Especially not for 4k, which is what the next gen consoles promise. Maybe with heavily reduced textures and settings? yeah, maybe.

Remember, the whole launch so far has all been about double the performance at 4k.

Anything less than 4k? it's pretty clear that you don't need any of these cards if you have a decent 20 series. Even more so if you have a high end one.

It won't change anything.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-20, 02:44 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Guess what? that's the same crock that was sold to me when I bought a Fury X.

8gb is not going to be enough. Especially not for 4k, which is what the next gen consoles promise. Maybe with heavily reduced textures and settings? yeah, maybe.

Remember, the whole launch so far has all been about double the performance at 4k.

Anything less than 4k? it's pretty clear that you don't need any of these cards if you have a decent 20 series. Even more so if you have a high end one.

It won't change anything.
I think you are forgetting the 240/360hz monitor race.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.