Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-11-20, 04:15 PM
wrenaudrey wrenaudrey is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 469
AMD 5600X - Overclock/UnderVolt Questions

Hello all! It's been a while!

Not been active since my 7-year old 4770K or previous PC for that matter was as good as it could be.

Now i've just upgraded to the 5600X, justifiable upgrade I must say.
I was hoping someone could help me. I'm sure as many of you are doing or will be or hoping or have already done is to be jumping to the AMD platform soon.

I have some questions.

I am trying to find my undervolt values as I dont want to be running Auto on the vCore.

I have set my frequency to 4.6GHz, vCore currently at 1.125V. I have noticed on CPU-Z my voltage is 1.125V or there abouts but my frequency is pegged at 4.6GHz even on idle. Is this normal?

All of this are being done via BIOS, changes ive applied so far:
LLC set to Level 5.
Core Ratio on 46.
OCCD or OCPD or whatever, the AMD equivalent to XMP on Intel is on.


On my 4770K, I OC'd that buy when idle, just on Desktop, it would clock down. Can I do the same on this 5600X?

A bit rusty and not 100% up to date with everything since AMD started making a come back.

System Specs:
AMD 5600X
ASUS X570 Gaming E
32GB GSkill 3200Mhz 2x16GB
H100i V2

__________________
____________________________________Wren's "Extreme" System______________________________________
Sabertooth Z87 | i7 [email protected] | Dominator 16GB 1866Mhz | SLI EVGA GTX 780 3GB | NZXT Switch 810 | Corsair AX750
2x Samsung 850 500GB | Samsung 840 250GB | Samsung 830 128GB | Ducky Zero | Logitech G700 | DT990
Xonar STX | ASUS PG279Q | ASUS PB278Q
| Custom Loop |
EK-Supremacy | XSPC Titan w/ Backplate | Alphacool UT 360 & 240 | Phobya Balancer 150 | D5 w/ XSPC Top
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-11-20, 04:43 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 19,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrenaudrey View Post
Hello all! It's been a while!

Not been active since my 7-year old 4770K or previous PC for that matter was as good as it could be.

Now i've just upgraded to the 5600X, justifiable upgrade I must say.
I was hoping someone could help me. I'm sure as many of you are doing or will be or hoping or have already done is to be jumping to the AMD platform soon.

I have some questions.

I am trying to find my undervolt values as I dont want to be running Auto on the vCore.

I have set my frequency to 4.6GHz, vCore currently at 1.125V. I have noticed on CPU-Z my voltage is 1.125V or there abouts but my frequency is pegged at 4.6GHz even on idle. Is this normal?

All of this are being done via BIOS, changes ive applied so far:
LLC set to Level 5.
Core Ratio on 46.
OCCD or OCPD or whatever, the AMD equivalent to XMP on Intel is on.


On my 4770K, I OC'd that buy when idle, just on Desktop, it would clock down. Can I do the same on this 5600X?

A bit rusty and not 100% up to date with everything since AMD started making a come back.

System Specs:
AMD 5600X
ASUS X570 Gaming E
32GB GSkill 3200Mhz 2x16GB
H100i V2
Welcome back.

AMD has better undervolting tools coming with Precision Boost Overdrive 2 very soon. I would wait until that releases before doing too much tinkering.

As far as AM4, goes, I think setting the clock in the BIOS will just set a fixed clock speed.

AMD's Precision Boost overdrive 2 feature set and its "adaptive Curve Optimizer" feature should deliver something that's in line with what you are looking for. It will arrive with AGESA 1.1.8.0 BIOS files.

https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu..._overdrive_2/1
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-11-20, 01:18 PM
wrenaudrey wrenaudrey is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
Welcome back.

AMD has better undervolting tools coming with Precision Boost Overdrive 2 very soon. I would wait until that releases before doing too much tinkering.

As far as AM4, goes, I think setting the clock in the BIOS will just set a fixed clock speed.

AMD's Precision Boost overdrive 2 feature set and its "adaptive Curve Optimizer" feature should deliver something that's in line with what you are looking for. It will arrive with AGESA 1.1.8.0 BIOS files.

https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu..._overdrive_2/1
Oh wow! It seems like i'm actually early then
I would have thought it's already built in since it's been with Intel since forever.

Thanks for letting me know! I'll have a read and look out to when my MoBo has an update.
__________________
____________________________________Wren's "Extreme" System______________________________________
Sabertooth Z87 | i7 [email protected] | Dominator 16GB 1866Mhz | SLI EVGA GTX 780 3GB | NZXT Switch 810 | Corsair AX750
2x Samsung 850 500GB | Samsung 840 250GB | Samsung 830 128GB | Ducky Zero | Logitech G700 | DT990
Xonar STX | ASUS PG279Q | ASUS PB278Q
| Custom Loop |
EK-Supremacy | XSPC Titan w/ Backplate | Alphacool UT 360 & 240 | Phobya Balancer 150 | D5 w/ XSPC Top
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-11-20, 04:20 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 21,136
When setting LLC you should look at test for it to keep the voltage as close to what you have manually set.

Manually setting the 46x multiplier will fit the core speed now yes (the proper way finally)
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:03 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.