Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-07-13, 12:59 PM
Zanc Zanc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 112
New gaming pc

Well hello there everybody, been a while since ive wandered into this website!
So I have been working this summer vacation and I am getting a new pc and giving my current one to my brother.

I dont have an exact budget but it would be nice if it stayed around 1400-1600€ (1200-1,400ish £). I have been eyeing on some parts already, but I have kinda dropped out since Sandy Bridge and 500-series.

The pc will be used mainly for gaming and seldom video editing.

Parts ive been eyeing on:

CPU Intel i5-4670K [240€]
GPU EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 SC ACX, 2GB [420€]
MOBO (???) Asus Z87-A, LGA1150, Intel Z87, DDR3, ATX [145€]
HD Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black, SATA 3, 7200rpm, 64MB [90€]
RAM (???) G.Skill 12GB (3x4GB ) Sniper, DDR3 1600MHz, 9-9-9-24, 1.5V [107€]
PSU Corsair 760W AX760 [184€]
CASE NZXT Switch 810 Full Tower [189€]
CPU COOLER (???) Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige [170€]
OS Windows 7 64bit [110€]

Total €€€ 1655 (from whom I am going to order from, www.jimms.fi (all in finnish))

All suggestions are welcome, even those that exceed the budget, if you think it would really be worth it.

Thank you in advance, Zanc.

PS. If you guys could recommend some good chassis fans too, I'd be very grateful!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-13, 01:10 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
CPU: Good chip

GPU: Can you stretch to a 780? Would be a massive performance boost. If not, that's okay. A 770 will run anything fine at 1080p. What resolution are you running?

MOBO: For that money you can also get an MSI GD65 Gaming which has a lot better audio and ethernet chip.

HDD: Great HDD, but the Caviar Blue has the same specs and is a fair bit cheaper. Why don't you toss in an SSD?

RAM: Don't get a triple channel kit. Socket 1150 uses dual channel so get either 2x4, 2x8 or 4x4 kit. Having only 2 dimms will allow for further expansion.

PSU: Solid PSU, can't go wrong with it.

Case: Great case. Will look silly if you're not going full watercooling though. A Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 would probably be better. You can shave off a lot of money there.

CPU Cooler: If you want to expand it, you might as well start off with a proper kit:
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/c...t_group-test/1. They don't cost much more.
If you just want an AIO, you'd be better (and far cheaper) off buying an H100i.

OS: Windows 7 is good, but I personally see no reason not to get the newest.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-13, 01:36 PM
Zanc Zanc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 112
Thanks for the quick answer, Feronix. What do you think about Corsair Dominator 8GB (2 x 4G, DDR3 1600MHz? I will keep on looking at the cases, I will probably go for the Corsair H100i as cooler. And what comes to the motherboard, MSI GD65 Gaming is about 70€ more, so do u think it would be worth it? Oh, and i will be running 1920x1080 @120hz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-13, 01:45 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Wow, components are really expensive in your country O_o'

I think it's worth it, but there's also a cheaper alternative that still offers much the same features. The Z87-G45 Gaming should serve you fine.

Personally I think Dominator Platinums are nice, but overpriced. You could probably get a Vengeance, Vengeance Pro, or even another brand like Kingston or G.Skill kit for less money.

As long as you don't go above 1080p the GTX 770 will be enough. What kind of games do you play?

I would really recommend to try and squeeze in a small SSD tbh. Do you have a link to the site you're ordering from for me? I'll try to come up with something if you want
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-13, 01:47 PM
Zanc Zanc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 112
www.jimms.fi is the website, its all in finnish but i guess u can handle it by simply using search (Hakusana...) up left corner.

EDIT: I dont think i need an SSD, Ive been fine without one and it doesnt take more than a minute to boot my current pc without one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-13, 02:11 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Did go a bit over budget, but I managed to squeeze in an i7, 60GB SSD and 16GB RAM.

To shave some money off you could:
- Replace the 4770k with an i5 4670k.
- Get 8GB RAM instead of 16. Probably won't need 16GB anytime soon anyway.
- Get a smaller PSU. Something by Seasonic or XFX or a lower-end Corsair will work fine

The reason I picked the i7 and the RAM is because you mentioned ocassional video editing and with the next gen consoles, we might see games use more than 4 cores in the future. Hyperthreading will help out in both scenarios.

Picked the SSD cause any high-end system needs one. Even if you only put your OS on it you'll see a massive speed increase of your machine. You can use the rest of the 60GB for a few apps like Skype and Steam (store the Steam games on the Hard Drive though)

It's also colour-co-ordinated pretty well
Let me know what you think!



Edit; Just noticed the RAM is CL10, try replacing it with a CL9 kit if you can.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-13, 06:39 PM
Zanc Zanc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 112


So this it what im currently looking at. I can live without an SSD and i will get one if i find it necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-07-13, 06:45 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Why the EVGA card? It's a good card, don't get me wrong, but the MSI card is pretty much just as fast for €40,- less. It also suits the colour scheme better.

Corsair Domintor RAM is still kind of overpriced? Even having only 8 GB it's still kind of expensive.

The Switch 810 is a cool case and it does offer a lot of features, but tbh... Those are features that you don't need. Your regular size ATX board is just going to look funny in that massive case and you're spending €90,- more than you have to. Your call though.

Don't buy Sickleflow fans, they are just terrible. They're loud and don't shift a lot of air. Bitfenix Spectre Pros with red LEDs would be a good replacement (if that store has them) allthough they're a bit more expensive.

You might not *need* an SSD, but trust me, once you've had one you'll never want to go back. It's probably the biggest performance upgrade that you can give a PC when it comes down to daily usage and loading things.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-07-13, 07:17 PM
Zanc Zanc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 112


Okey, changed those u mentioned, still missing case tho. Are u sure an h100i will fit the arc midi r2?
EDIT: also I'll add SSD if it fits the budjet after the case is added.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-07-13, 07:27 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Looks good so far! Yes, the Arc Midi R2 can fit a 240mm radiator. Even in push/pull if you want because the mounting is off-centre and therefor your motherboard/RAM won't be in the way.

It could actually also fit the H100i in the front if you wanted to but I'd just mount it in the top for cleaner looks and better temps on your GPU.

__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.