Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-11-14, 08:30 PM
coalminer071 coalminer071 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
D5 Pump Restriction/ Whine

You guys might have more experience with this pump then I do.
At first it was fine. Running it on the 5th dial and having Koolance CTR-SPD12X2 Dual 12V pump controller set at 7 volts for about two weeks now.
However as you can faintly see in the clip, the flowmeter is barely spinning, and as i ramp up the V on the controller, theres a huge whine sound. Is my pump fine and flow meter is just restricting? or vice versa.
In the loop.
Tubes: primochill 3/8ID 1/2OD hardline tubing
Fittings: Primochill Rigid Ghost Fittings
Ek: EK D5 X-Top Pump Top w/ D5 Vario Pump
CPU block: XSPC Raystorm Intel
Radiator: Alphacool UT60 480mm
BItspower: Visual Flow meter
Res: 250m Dual Helix

Here a clip of it

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-11-14, 08:53 AM
YouWhat's Avatar
YouWhat YouWhat is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: ›>« βα™ªη§ ζΔνε »<‹
Posts: 689
To me that sounds like the bearings are shot, I could be wrong as I not done much with watercooling, but it does really sound like the impellar inside there is going out of alignment which usually points to bearings gone or going.
__________________
Intel i7 4790K | Asus ROG Maximus VII Hero | 2 x Asus ROG Striker Platinum 4GB GTX 760 in SLI
16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro @ 2400 | Corsair RM 850 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Obsidian 750D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-11-14, 05:21 PM
coalminer071 coalminer071 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
this pump is two weeks old
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-11-14, 05:31 PM
| raVen |'s Avatar
| raVen | | raVen | is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 911
Do you still have a warranty for that pump? For me it sounds like the impaler is out of balance, so this is what causing the noise. But I'm not sure.
__________________
FROST
CaseLabs M8
i7 2600k-5.02Ghz, MSI Mpower Z77, Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866, 7970 in Crossfire, Corsair AX 850, Samsung 840 PRO 250GB+ WD G 3TB+ WD B 500GB, Asus Essence STX + AKG K550, Gigabyte Avia Osmium + SteelSeries Sensei
Custom watercooliong
Project CaseLabs M8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-11-14, 09:52 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,558
Have you tested it stand-alone, not on that controller?
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-11-14, 10:11 PM
| raVen |'s Avatar
| raVen | | raVen | is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 911
Yeah that would be a good thing to do.
Anyway you can adjust speed of D5 without controller so I don't see a point to run it on the controller.
__________________
FROST
CaseLabs M8
i7 2600k-5.02Ghz, MSI Mpower Z77, Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866, 7970 in Crossfire, Corsair AX 850, Samsung 840 PRO 250GB+ WD G 3TB+ WD B 500GB, Asus Essence STX + AKG K550, Gigabyte Avia Osmium + SteelSeries Sensei
Custom watercooliong
Project CaseLabs M8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-11-14, 10:26 PM
coalminer071 coalminer071 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
plugging it directly into into psu molex which also controls a xonarstx and and it grinds/whines still.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-11-14, 10:28 PM
| raVen |'s Avatar
| raVen | | raVen | is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by coalminer071 View Post
plugging it directly into into psu molex which also controls a xonarstx and and it grinds/whines still.
Than return it if you have warranty.
__________________
FROST
CaseLabs M8
i7 2600k-5.02Ghz, MSI Mpower Z77, Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866, 7970 in Crossfire, Corsair AX 850, Samsung 840 PRO 250GB+ WD G 3TB+ WD B 500GB, Asus Essence STX + AKG K550, Gigabyte Avia Osmium + SteelSeries Sensei
Custom watercooliong
Project CaseLabs M8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-11-14, 10:36 PM
coalminer071 coalminer071 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by | raVen | View Post
Yeah that would be a good thing to do.
Anyway you can adjust speed of D5 without controller so I don't see a point to run it on the controller.
The dial is pretty much right against my Radiator in the front.
Picture during build
https://scontent-b-sea.xx.fbcdn.net/...4a&oe=550EDD65
you can faintly see one of the pump is in the front close to the front rad/fan mounts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-11-14, 10:43 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by | raVen | View Post
Than return it if you have warranty.
I'd have to agree with this, and I'd never put a pump on that controller again just out of sheer paranoia. D5's are VERY hard to kill, and I'd be hesitant to do control it via voltage. Heck, I came across a guy on another forum who had actually SUBMERGED his D5 in a bucket, because he saw a Mountain Mods video about flushing rads that featured a submersible pump. He assumed the D5 was submersible, killed it, and then just let it dry out for a few days and it fired right back up. Those D5s are tough SOBs.
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.