Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-12-11, 11:46 AM
jimmyakakev jimmyakakev is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 80
Hi All,

So I wanted to use the HDMI port from the very beginning but when I finally did it was turning out to have a worse performance than the DVI cable setup

I thought from the beginning that the picture just wasnt as crisp as the DVI but then I noticed in bf3 that I was only running in 60Hz...once I switch back to the DVI cable I could change it back up to 120Hz and the difference was obviously massive.

Any ideas why this might be the case? I would have thought that surely it would be HDMI > DVI and that HDMI could run at the highest frequency, but I wouldnt be an expert in the area

Specs -

Monitor - Asus VG236 (1080p, 3D)

Graphics card - EVGA GTX 570 HD (2560mb)

Cable - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B002U3161M

Thanks,

Kev

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-11, 12:07 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,931
DVI and HDMI are both digital connections, so there wouldn't be any difference in the picture quality as far as I know. I haven't got a 120Hz monitor, but don't you use a dual-DVI connection to get the 120Hz refresh rate?
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + Dell U3818DW

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-11, 12:28 PM
jimmyakakev jimmyakakev is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 80
Yeah sorry should have mentioned that I used a DVI-D cable

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B003RDEFTY

but still HDMI 1.4a which can apparently be used for 3D tvs you would assume it can run at 120Hz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-11, 12:35 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevo View Post

Yeah sorry should have mentioned that I used a DVI-D cable

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B003RDEFTY

but still HDMI 1.4a which can apparently be used for 3D tvs you would assume it can run at 120Hz
Apparently HDMI cannot support 120Hz at 1080p from what I've read and heard.
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + Dell U3818DW

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.