Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-10-12, 09:39 PM
PetrolHead247's Avatar
PetrolHead247 PetrolHead247 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 988
DVI-D or DVI-I?

At the moment i have 1 HDMI cable for my PC and everytime i want to go on the PS3 i need to faff around the back of the PC and unplug the HDMI and plug it into the PS3, it gets very tedious. So i've been thinking about getting a DVI Dual link cable for my PC and use the HDMI solely for the PS3, this means i can simply just switch inputs on the monitor, but what would be best for me; DVI-D or DVI-I? I looked up the differences between the two but i'm not sure which would be best.

__________________
My Rig - Vanquish (Pics Here!)
CPU: Intel Core I5 2500K :: Mobo: Asus P8P67 :: GPU: Asus GTX 670 DCUii :: RAM: Corsair Vengeance LP White 2x4GB 1.35v :: CPU Cooler: Corsair H100 w/Corsair SP120 QE's
SSD: Samsung 830 256GB :: HDD: Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.12 :: PSU: Corsair AX650 w/ Individually Braided Cables :: Case: Fractal Design Arc Midi :: Monitor: Asus VS228H

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-12, 09:46 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
DVI-I is, on paper, the better option, just because it can transmit analogue signals along with digital ones. But, if you don't have something outputting analogue signals, there's really no point. Go with whatever cable's cheapest, I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-12, 09:52 PM
PetrolHead247's Avatar
PetrolHead247 PetrolHead247 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 988
Sounds good to me! Gonna go for DVI-D as i have no devices which use analogue signals and its a bit cheaper too, cheers
__________________
My Rig - Vanquish (Pics Here!)
CPU: Intel Core I5 2500K :: Mobo: Asus P8P67 :: GPU: Asus GTX 670 DCUii :: RAM: Corsair Vengeance LP White 2x4GB 1.35v :: CPU Cooler: Corsair H100 w/Corsair SP120 QE's
SSD: Samsung 830 256GB :: HDD: Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.12 :: PSU: Corsair AX650 w/ Individually Braided Cables :: Case: Fractal Design Arc Midi :: Monitor: Asus VS228H

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-12, 09:53 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,931
The pin arrangement is different as far as I know, so one might not be compatible with your monitor. I might be wrong though.
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + Dell U3818DW

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-12, 10:00 PM
PetrolHead247's Avatar
PetrolHead247 PetrolHead247 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post
The pin arrangement is different as far as I know, so one might not be compatible with your monitor. I might be wrong though.
Ah yes, seems like my monitor only supports DVI-D, but that's alright. Actually thinking about it i might have a dual link DVI-D cable lying around (but i could swear its a single link)
__________________
My Rig - Vanquish (Pics Here!)
CPU: Intel Core I5 2500K :: Mobo: Asus P8P67 :: GPU: Asus GTX 670 DCUii :: RAM: Corsair Vengeance LP White 2x4GB 1.35v :: CPU Cooler: Corsair H100 w/Corsair SP120 QE's
SSD: Samsung 830 256GB :: HDD: Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.12 :: PSU: Corsair AX650 w/ Individually Braided Cables :: Case: Fractal Design Arc Midi :: Monitor: Asus VS228H

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-12, 10:05 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by PetrolHead247 View Post
Ah yes, seems like my monitor only supports DVI-D, but that's alright. Actually thinking about it i might have a dual link DVI-D cable lying around (but i could swear its a single link)
Yeah, little difference between the two anyway.
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + Dell U3818DW

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-12, 10:16 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Am I right in saying that any DVI cable would fit in a DVI-I Dual Link port, Yassar?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-12, 10:20 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
Am I right in saying that any DVI cable would fit in a DVI-I Dual Link port, Yassar?
Yeh, I'm pretty sure it would.
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + Dell U3818DW

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-12, 10:22 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Note to self: only buy peripherals with DL DVI-I ports.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-12, 05:17 AM
Vicey Vicey is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 747
This image should help:


You can see that on the DVI-I ones you have 4 extra pins around the left side.

The only reason you would want to use Dual Link cables is if you have a 120 Hz 24" display (for 3D gaming or just high FPS 2D) or a 2560x1440 / 2560x1600 60Hz display. The reason for this is that these displays need the extra bandwidth that the Dual Link interface provides. As the name suggests it runs two DVI data connections over the single cable. For anything lower the cheaper Single Link DVI cables are fine. These cables are thinner thus easier to hide and cheaper.

Most ports that you'll find on devices in my experience are the Single Link DVI-I variety but I've found on integrated graphics on motherboards, on the AMD side you'll find they use Dual Link DVI-D and a DVI-I (Dual or Single Link) wont fit. They do this because they don't support analogue output over the integrated DVI connections sometimes and instead have a dedicated VGA connector next to the DVI port.
__________________
Intel Core i9 7900X @ 4.7GHz [Delidded & Lapped] @ 1.23v Asus Rampage VI Extreme G.Skill Trident RGB 32GB 3600MHz CL17 Samsung 1TB 970 Pro NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti FE @ 2GHz Asus Swift PG279Q Custom Water Loop
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.