Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-01-18, 06:48 AM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Asus PG279Q Flickering in Games.

Windows 10 Pro and Asus Apex X BIOS 0901.

Monitor is 4 days old and when playing Anno 2025 or Doom, every 3 to 5 minutes the entire picture or screen flashes on and off repeatidly. I tried to run the games in compatibility mode but I still get the on and off blank screen flashes. It's very annoying! It doesn't do it when I'm playing browser games but it does it each time I restart the computer each day as I boot up the system. But then it only does it a few times like 3 or 4 times in a row. I'm playing at 1440p with monitor set at 144hz but it does it at 1920 x 1080p at 60hz as well. G-Sync is on and Vertical Sync is off. I'm using a brand new EVGA Kingpin 1080 Ti Hydro Copper Graphics card. Nothing is over-clocked. Running on a new Coffee Lake 8700k, Asus Apex X and Corsair Dominator 16 gig at 3200mhz. I hope someone can help me with this issue as it's ruining my gameplay.

Here'a a short YouTube Video link of what my monitor is doing during game play. Monitor has no dead pixels or any bleeding issues. Just the flickering issue. I replaced the display port cable and still getting issues.



I have the latest Nvidia driver downloaded.

Anyone else have issues like me?

Happy New Year 2018 to all!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-18, 04:37 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,940
This is unfortunately a very common issue with ASUS monitors. I had this issue on my previous PG278Q monitor, where it could flicker at random. Annoying it is indeed. But as far as I’m aware, there isn’t a real fix to it.
It’s basically just poor QC from ASUS on this part, which is even more annoying considering the insane amount of money you pay for it in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-18, 05:17 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
Try and run the monitor in 60 Hz and check if it still happens. If it doesn't it could be the display port cable that's just not up to the task. I had to switch my cable out with a 4K ready DP+ cable in order to get above 85 Hz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-18, 07:22 PM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
I played Anno 2025 last night with G-Sync off at 144 hz and I had no issues. I'll try Doom today with G-sync off and if it's good, then it's probably the Nvidia drivers. Then I might have to reinstall older drivers until I get the right driver that doesn't flicker with G-sync on.

Thanks for your replies guys! Hey do any of you know if Viewsonic or other monitor manufacturers are having this issue or maybe it's just Asus Monitors?

Also; like the old saying says, "Master of all is the Master of none"! So with a manufacturer like Asus, they should stick with producing one product like their motherboards. Samsung doesn't make motherboards and their SSD's and Monitors seem good. I guess the more products a manufacturer produces the quality stops to diminish rapidly but the price increases.

I'll re-post my other game findings with G-Sync disabled.

Anyway, Happy New Year!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-18, 11:03 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 21,042
Try moving your mobile phone.....
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-18, 11:08 AM
Warchild Warchild is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 6,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cigarjohn View Post
I played Anno 2025 last night with G-Sync off at 144 hz and I had no issues. I'll try Doom today with G-sync off and if it's good, then it's probably the Nvidia drivers. Then I might have to reinstall older drivers until I get the right driver that doesn't flicker with G-sync on.

Thanks for your replies guys! Hey do any of you know if Viewsonic or other monitor manufacturers are having this issue or maybe it's just Asus Monitors?

Also; like the old saying says, "Master of all is the Master of none"! So with a manufacturer like Asus, they should stick with producing one product like their motherboards. Samsung doesn't make motherboards and their SSD's and Monitors seem good. I guess the more products a manufacturer produces the quality stops to diminish rapidly but the price increases.

I'll re-post my other game findings with G-Sync disabled.

Anyway, Happy New Year!
Had an identical issue with my P348Q Swift. Turns out the cable was not the best quality. Bought a good DP cable and my problem went away.

It wasn't a case of "jiggling" the cable that would cause it, but would simply randomly happen.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-18, 12:38 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Try moving your mobile phone.....
^^ He has a point you know, while my Asus panel is not in the same league as the OP if my phone is left anywhere near the DP cable or under the screen I get flickering interference.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-18, 04:45 PM
trawetSluaP's Avatar
trawetSluaP trawetSluaP is online now
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 725
My PG279Q did something strange yesterday, just went to black, came back on, black, came back on etc. Had to turn it off then on again and it seemed to solve it.
__________________
Enthoo Elite | i9-7900X | Rampage VI Extreme | Dominator Platinum 32GB | RTX 2080 FE | 960 Pro 512GB, 840 Evo 250GB x 2 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | PG279Q, MX27AQ | Custom Watercooling Loop + Aquaero 6 XT

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-18, 06:11 PM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Asus contacted me and sent me some resetting directions. I followed them and was able to play the game Anno 2025 for about 3 hours before I got one quick rapid flicker. It doesn't flicker as much now but I'm still testing out other games. Still need to try the game Doom out at the 144hz levels. Don't think I really need to play any game at 165hz. Don't know if there's much difference.

I guess G-sync prevents tearing?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-18, 10:03 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cigarjohn View Post
I guess G-sync prevents tearing?
That’s basically one of the things it’s primarly designed for, yes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.