Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-07-20, 05:30 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 18,200
Blizzard's making WoW more accessible than ever with Xbox Adaptive Controller

Support for the Xbox Adaptive Controller should arrive with World of Warcraft Shadowlands.



Read more about Blizzard's plans to support Microsoft's Xbox Adaptive Controller in World of Warcraft Shadowlands.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-07-20, 08:33 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,545
Really don't see how this can happen given that you need a large array of keys for all the spells and abilities, at least that was the case when I played years ago.
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-07-20, 08:41 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 6,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobM View Post
Really don't see how this can happen given that you need a large array of keys for all the spells and abilities, at least that was the case when I played years ago.
There are addons that do it. Push one button and a radial window pops up to select abilities and skills. I guess it will be along those lines, but not 100% efficient.
It gives a fighting chance at enjoyment at least.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-07-20, 09:48 PM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,260
FFXIV has had it for ages and it works reasonably well, but that game has it in built and a good UI to use it
__________________
CASE: NZXT H440 white
CPU: RYZEN7 3700x, H100i GTX
MB: Gigabyte x570
RAM: 2x 8GB CORSAIR VENGENCE LED
GPU: Gigabyte white 2070
OS: CRUCIAL MX100 250GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-07-20, 10:35 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
There are addons that do it. Push one button and a radial window pops up to select abilities and skills. I guess it will be along those lines, but not 100% efficient.
It gives a fighting chance at enjoyment at least.
No way can you raid like that though.
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-07-20, 06:07 AM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobM View Post
No way can you raid like that though.
Depends how well they implement it, though this is the adaptive controller not just a controller never used 1 of those but a normal controller in FF xiv works well enough to raid
__________________
CASE: NZXT H440 white
CPU: RYZEN7 3700x, H100i GTX
MB: Gigabyte x570
RAM: 2x 8GB CORSAIR VENGENCE LED
GPU: Gigabyte white 2070
OS: CRUCIAL MX100 250GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-07-20, 07:06 AM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,509
I have played WoW for a decade, and never for a moment thought that it needs a controler gameplay. Maybe for casual players, but for serious RAID groups I don't thik you can output DPS numbers like you can with mouse and keyboard. Playing healer on controler will be straight up impossible.

They could rework the combat system to be like in FFIV and use chains and macros, but no player will go from k&m to controler ever.

I see how console market could be tempting, but Blizzard has and will firtst tend to gazillion existing players.
__________________
Turbos on an engine is God's way of telling you it ain't got enough cylinders.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-07-20, 07:22 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 6,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobM View Post
No way can you raid like that though.
I have seen a professional drift car racer drifting with his feet because he lost his arms in an accident.

So I would say anything is possible if you persevere and master the peripheral. But perhaps its not intended for raiding, but allowing casual players to enjoy it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.