Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-05-20, 01:07 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,676
Will my AM4 motherboard support Zen 3 and Ryzen 4th Gen?

Things are changing with socket AM4.



Read more about Ryzen 4th Gen support on AM4.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-20, 04:04 PM
gijoe50000 gijoe50000 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 46
I upgraded to Ryzen before Christmas and decided to splash out on the Mobo and skimp on the cpu, with the intention of upgrading the cpu only when the 4000 series launches. I went with a 3600 and an X570 Tuf. Kind of glad I did now.
I was thinking about going with a 400 series board, and a 3700(x), but I really hate swapping out, and trying to sell, old motherboards.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-20, 02:08 PM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,516
Damn that's a bit disappointing might as well just buy a x570 board seeing as I have B450
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-20, 03:15 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,847
Having bought a x470 last year with a 3700x im not fussed about this, if i need an upgrade i can slip in a 3900x or 3950x and be set for a while, this board's vrm certainly can handle one.
__________________
Rig: Cpu: AMD R7 3700X. Mobo: Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 wifi. Ram: Gskill Royal Silver 3200mhz cl16: Gpu: Msi RTX2070 Armor. Asus Xonar STX II.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-20, 04:10 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,831
I'm so glad I didn't buy a B450 motherboard. That was the common recommendation for a long while so I wouldn't be surprised if a few people are quite frustrated by this.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-20, 09:23 AM
wozza365 wozza365 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 109
Despite the image, ASUS says my X370 will work with all 3000 series CPUs, glad that I've got such a good upgrade path available. Up to a 16 core CPU or just a beefier 8 core than I've already got.

Meanwhile in the world of userbenchmark, 3700x and 3800x are ranked identically.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-05-20, 09:56 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by wozza365 View Post
Despite the image, ASUS says my X370 will work with all 3000 series CPUs, glad that I've got such a good upgrade path available. Up to a 16 core CPU or just a beefier 8 core than I've already got.

Meanwhile in the world of userbenchmark, 3700x and 3800x are ranked identically.
Technically speaking, 300-series motherboards with Ryzen 3000 support only feature beta support. Basically, 300-series motherboard makers are not obligated to support it.

Bristol Ridge, Excavator on AM4, had to be dropped on 300-series boards to give enough space for Ryzen 3000. Thankfully, that part wasn't popular in the enthusiast space, so motherboard makers could drop it without a backlash.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-20, 03:02 PM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 971
Quote:
This move went against the norms that Intel had established, which saw each CPU socket support two generations of processors.
Has this not always been the case with AMD? I missed the bulldozer range but as far as I can remember, unless its been a big generation gap, AMD boards have always been good for upgradeability.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-05-20, 03:11 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
I'm so glad I didn't buy a B450 motherboard. That was the common recommendation for a long while so I wouldn't be surprised if a few people are quite frustrated by this.
I don't see what they have to be frustrated about, tbh.

If AMD had released an 8 core model and down on 3000? yes, that would be irritating. However, you have the 3900 (yes it exists if you can find one) the 3900x (currently £380 but will drop no doubt) and the 3950x.

I mean really, since when was the 3950x not good enough for absolutely everything?

What would make me feel a little more at ease is how AMD don't just drop previous gen CPUs overnight (cough Intel cough) and they do drastically reduce the prices as time moves on. So you can expect the 3900x at least to become affordable at some point in the future. The 3950x? possibly not, given the way it is made (binned, best dies they have etc).

But yeah, it's hardly like you are going to be stuck is it? You can go all the way from 2/4 to 16/32 on B450 providing you didn't buy the biggest POS board (in which case you shouldn't be complaining any way IMO).

The best one ATM is the 3900. It's super low wattage, and supports PBO. So it will go nearly as fast as a 3900x. The tricky part is finding them (as they are OEM only) but yeah, I would imagine at some point those too will be sold off by companies like OCUK as tray OEM CPUs (they do a lot of Intel stuff like that).
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-05-20, 03:36 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is online now
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonking View Post
Has this not always been the case with AMD? I missed the bulldozer range but as far as I can remember, unless its been a big generation gap, AMD boards have always been good for upgradeability.
AMD's support has always been a little strange. AM2+ supported many AM3 processors, some AM3 boards supported AM3+ CPUs etc etc.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.