Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-04-20, 12:55 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,682
NUDEcnc releases dedicated lapping tools for Intel's CPU die and IHS

Lapping your processor has never been easier.



Read more about NUDEcnc's Nlap IHS and Nlap DIE lapping tools.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-04-20, 01:28 PM
ImprovizoR's Avatar
ImprovizoR ImprovizoR is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 686
I feel like it's 2008 again. Who among us hasn't lapped their Core 2 Duo and Core 2 Quad back in the day?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-04-20, 02:24 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,096
I didn't lap my cpu's!
__________________
Rig: Cpu: AMD R7 3700X. Mobo: Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 wifi. Ram: Gskill Royal Silver 3200mhz cl16: Gpu: Msi RTX2070 Armor. Asus Xonar STX II.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-04-20, 02:56 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,748
I got a load videos appear in my YouTube feed from this company, don't remember ever subscribing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-04-20, 03:02 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
I got a load videos appear in my YouTube feed from this company, don't remember ever subscribing.
Well, their last product was over two years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-04-20, 04:04 PM
ImprovizoR's Avatar
ImprovizoR ImprovizoR is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark NighT View Post
I didn't lap my cpu's!
You missed out on a great deal of fun.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-04-20, 04:38 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImprovizoR View Post
You missed out on a great deal of fun.
I didn't want to risk it being on a low income at the time, it seemed like a clever way to get better temps but i could not do it.
__________________
Rig: Cpu: AMD R7 3700X. Mobo: Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 wifi. Ram: Gskill Royal Silver 3200mhz cl16: Gpu: Msi RTX2070 Armor. Asus Xonar STX II.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-04-20, 08:33 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,564
I remember lapping my big copper thermalright cooler for my athlon xp 2500 back in the day and got stable at almost twice its rated clocks on air, I won the silicon lottery with that chip and never even needed to mod it with a lead pencil
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-04-20, 08:44 PM
ImprovizoR's Avatar
ImprovizoR ImprovizoR is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark NighT View Post
I didn't want to risk it being on a low income at the time, it seemed like a clever way to get better temps but i could not do it.
I was fresh out of high school and into university back then, so no real disposable income. But I'm that kind of guy. I just had to do it. It was risky and I was scared as hell of breaking it. But there was simply no realistic scenario in which I didn't take that chip and lapped the crap out of it. It's too exciting for me. But I'm happiest when the stakes are high or when something breaks and I have to figure out how to fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-04-20, 09:56 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,682
Those days were a little before my time as a PC builder. Shame I didn't get into things earlier.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.