Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-08-19, 10:18 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,999
The Coalition details Gears 5's PC system requirements and AMD hardware partnership

Expect heavy use of Asynchronous Compute.



Read more about The Coalition's PC system requirements for Gears 5 and the company's hardware partnership with AMD.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-08-19, 04:08 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,441
Very interesting that a Radeon VII is on the same level as a 2080 in the "Ideal" section.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - GTX 1080 Ti FE @ 2000/6000 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-08-19, 04:17 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Very interesting that a Radeon VII is on the same level as a 2080 in the "Ideal" section.
Doesn't say what resolution though.

Honestly not the most informative Spec requirement I've ever seen. Missing the most important bit, resolution, which has been standard for like ever.

Plus not liking the 100GB+ install size.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-08-19, 04:42 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Doesn't say what resolution though.

Honestly not the most informative Spec requirement I've ever seen. Missing the most important bit, resolution, which has been standard for like ever.

Plus not liking the 100GB+ install size.

As it's on Steam it's not a big deal, To me at least, My problem was with Gears 1 + 4 on the MS Store, As I have a very slow net connection, 20Mbps, It took me a few days to fully download Gears 4 at 120GB, Having to pause it now and then to do work and Skype video calls etc... Upon unpausing the download the game install when it finished downloading would be corrupt so the game would be unplayable and seeing as the MS Store has no "Verify Game Install" option like Steam, Origin and Uplay have had for 5+ years now, It meant uninstalling the whole thing and then leaving the rig on for 2'ish days with nothing else being used in hopes of a corrupt free download.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - GTX 1080 Ti FE @ 2000/6000 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-08-19, 06:07 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,445
Quote:
seeing as the MS Store has no "Verify Game Install" option
If you go into Settings>Apps>[Select MS Store game]>Advanced Options>Reset then a game should "verify" itself and re-download the corrupted bits via the MS Store, doesn't work for all issues but seems to fix most I find, and usually I have to do it after downloading big games that I've paused.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-08-19, 07:05 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
If you go into Settings>Apps>[Select MS Store game]>Advanced Options>Reset then a game should "verify" itself and re-download the corrupted bits via the MS Store, doesn't work for all issues but seems to fix most I find, and usually I have to do it after downloading big games that I've paused.

Sadly doesn't work, What that option mainly does is correct install paths etc... but actually redownloading corrupt files is an option that is still missing.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - GTX 1080 Ti FE @ 2000/6000 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-08-19, 08:33 PM
Kourgath223's Avatar
Kourgath223 Kourgath223 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Doesn't say what resolution though.

Honestly not the most informative Spec requirement I've ever seen. Missing the most important bit, resolution, which has been standard for like ever.

Plus not liking the 100GB+ install size.
My guess would be that Ideal is 4k with the 4k Texture Pack while the Min and Rec are for 1080p, Min being 1080p low and Rec being 1080p high. I would have loved to see them present it like Ubisoft did for Ghost Recon Breakpoint, giving us requirements for 1080p low, 1080p high, 1080p ultra, 2k ultra, and 4k ultra, with the addition of target frame rates, which is the only thing Ubisoft missed out on in their system requirements announcement.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.