Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-05-19, 07:45 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 15,648
Intel Reveals "Performance Maximizer" Auto Overclocking Tool

Intel is taking the work, and fun, out of overclocking.



Read more about Intel's "Performance Maximiser" Auto Overclocking tool.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-05-19, 02:26 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,096
Probably gives it to much voltage too. I still say manual is the way to go..
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-05-19, 02:50 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,338
Manual might still be better for a little time but I think with next gen thermal & voltage monitoring tools combined with neural network based analysis it's not long at all until these systems can eek out more for less than any human physically could (Due to the necessity of realtime adjustments hundreds of times a second based on analysis of quite a large amount of realtime data to really get the most out of silicon).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-05-19, 05:27 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Probably gives it to much voltage too. I still say manual is the way to go..
That's not in Intel's best interest, motherboard manufacturers want to be considered the best overclockers and as such they apply voltages which go beyond Intel's spec.

It's probably going to be like AMD XFR, better than manual OC in most cases. All core load might be a different story as that's a power hog and as such causes some significant heat - not to mention binning.

I also doubt these really quick adjustments are feasible for a fancy neural network. The backwards compatible tool will probably try different voltages and multipliers fairly quickly to gauge how good the silicon lottery result was, and do the multiplier part per core.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-05-19, 05:46 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,338
Not on current silicon, mostly because of the sensors though, neural networks have been used for many many years in the branch predictor(Since Piledriver at least), not particularly complex or computationally expensive in low layers, in fact their value is in how cheap, quick & low memory they are. Intel had working concepts on Itanium around the time the "fast-path" method was finalised (~2003) and could very well have been using them for longer(But this is arguably the most secretive part of the CPU).

The kind of sensor array used in Radeon VII is much much more useful(Actual transistor temps with high sample rates) but there's definitely room for refinement.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-19, 09:57 PM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Probably gives it to much voltage too. I still say manual is the way to go..
I'd give it a go and check if only it supported my 8th gen.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-19, 11:43 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,492
Little birdy tells me no z370 support, only z390... I hope that's not true !!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-06-19, 12:11 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheF34RChannel View Post
I'd give it a go and check if only it supported my 8th gen.
I would too if I wasn't thermally limited. It wouldn't do better than what I currently got dialed in already.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:56 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.